We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" great location "” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #79 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon. UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“" great location "”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights - check in was quick and we were able to get into our room early, Great, after a early flight.
Staff were freindly, gave us maps and info on the area.
Found it very central, short walk around the corner for the trams, or to walk up the main street.
Room was large and spacious, clean. bed comfortable, sleept well
Wi Fi, was in the main lobby, free of charge.
If ever back in melbourne, would chekc this one out again
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollycat2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    449
    168
    29
    11
See reviews for
131
231
84
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a Mariah Carey concert, so it was a 1 night stay. The check in was very fast and despite coming a few hours early the room was ready! Very pleased about that! The room was typical holiday inn, very clean Andorran and perfect didn't want much more! Our room over looked the pool - the pool was great on a 38 degree heat wave melb had!

Very safe and secure building after 11pm you need your swipe to be let in. In terms of the location it was very central to everything in the city could either walk or get a tram! (Such a novelty for us sydney siders). Very close to Etihad stadium for the concert!

No complaints whatsoever about this had a very good stay - quick checkout .

Will come back again soon

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POLARBEAR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a 5 day stay at the Holiday Inn in Pott's Point in Sydney where the wifi was expensive and the speed of dial up, I was looking forward to a better experience in Melbourne. I couldn't even find the wifi at this hotel as it was so weak. Aside from that, good location for my meetings, decent service and a clean hotel. What is it with wifi at Holiday Inns in Oz?

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IRT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear chathamian,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to know that you found our location convenient for your needs and staff service adequate. I deeply apologize for the issues you encountered with the Internet connection. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we will use this to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was in Melbourne for business and was "trying out" the Holiday Inn as it on my work's hotel list. The standard room I was allocated was one of the smallest rooms I have stayed while travelling for work - no desk to work on, noisy air conditioning and no mini bar - unless you ask - not even a jug for water in the empty mini bar fridge. The room service came within the specified time but it was terrible - cardboard-like garlic bread, wilted lettuce, flavourless food. If there had been anyone else sharing the room with me it would have been challenging to move around. The bed felt tiny - although the pillow choice was a good idea.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Slug012,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with our food options. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

A very efficiently run hotel that I have stayed at many times. The staff are efficient at check-in and check-out, and nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is close to transport, and the rooms are quite large and are always very clean. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a professionally run hotel. All works like clockwork. Our room had not been refurbished recently but everything (with the exception of a toilet roll holder) functioned well and the rooms were immaculately clean.
Main airport bus and railway are only a couple of hundred metres away as is Southbank (restaurants and river walks). The city is a 10 minute walk or less by tram.
30 minutes free wifi daily suited our needs.
We noted some other reviewers had felt that there should be more services. In our opinion we are happy not to have a dedicated concierge etc as these types of service must add to the costs of the hotel and so to our accommodation costs.
For us, Holiday Inn has got the balance between services offered and accommodation cost exactly right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here several times now. I find the staff extremely friendly and helpful.. The rooms are always clean and tidy and the hotel is close to the casino, south bank and Southern Cross station.. If in Melbourne worth the stay

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Con C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer with our convenient CBD location, 4 1/2 star facilities and relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders offers everything you need for a comfortable stay. Whether you are travelling for business, planning a weekend getaway or taking the family on a holiday for much needed time together, you'll be delighted with your choice of accommodation. We have modern guest rooms to suit a variety of needs, including suites and adjoining rooms perfect for families and groups. Our hotel is within walking distance of some of Melbourne's most popular landmarks and attractions. We are also just a 2 minute walk from Southern Cross Station and have the free city trams at our doorstep, so it couldn't be easier to get around. Don't forget that at Holiday Inn Kids Stay & Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing