We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #79 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very convenient, but....”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Holiday Inn is on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street, which makes if very conveniently located. Only a short walk to Souther Cross station, you can catch trains, trams or even the Sky Bus to the airport very easily. For this alone, it is a great hotel - clean,modern and efficient staff. The only draw-back is that "very little is complimentary" - yes, the TV, the toiletries and bottles of water are all available, but the internet as well as the breakfast are independantly priced (if you want them). This, I find unusual given my personal experiences with the Holiday Inn in Hangzhou, Xiaoshan, Hong Kong and Bangkok. Maybe things are getting tougher for the hotels - I don't know. Just be aware of this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    463
    176
    30
    12
See reviews for
135
239
87
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Recently stayed here with my husband for a night out in the city. Booked the deal as a secret expedia deal and got a very good rate so this was a bonus, however I am not sure I would have been quite as happy if I paid the full rate! The hotel is in a wonderful location easily walkable to most areas of the city and very close to southern cross station. Check in was very quick and smooth, and the hotel is clean and presentable. The room was a reasonable size, and very clean with a very comfortable bed, but I felt the bathroom was a little dated and was in need of a deep clean. The staff were fantastic,I forgot my adaptor and my hair brush and and an adaptor and comb was promptly provided. The rooms despite being city centre were very quite with no noise. We would definately stay again if we got a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakura
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here in a twin room. Chose it for location to Flinders station as we had to get back to the airport and the sky bus leaves from there, You can just walk across the road and catch it.
Beds are comfortable and the pillow menu is great. Staff were very good on reception. Very friendly. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was very good plenty of choices. Good bar area.
Just a short walk to the casino over the bridge as well.Rooms are modern but the bathrooms could do with some work. Small and they steam up to much. Aircon in rooms good. No problems.
swam in the outdoor pool and there are loungers around to lie on.would stay again if I wanted to be close to the river, but for shopping I would stay closer to the Shops. Good hotel. Only neg housekeepers left one of our bed pillows and a wet dirty pillow case on the floor after servicing I declined from using it as the carpet would not be that clean I imagine.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the pool and it was very quiet. and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakuraSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location is convenient to Southern Cross Station & the Skybus to the Airport. Several tram routes run past the door or are within half a block.
The rooms are large enough and well appointed. The air-conditioning worked and could be adjusted to suit the weather. I had an inside room so there was no street noise.
The restaurant served good quality food but it was somewhat overpriced.
They have adopted some practices which can only be described as singularly Australian in nature. A 1.5% fee on credit card payments but zero on debit/eftpos cards. I understand that 1.5% is pretty much the standard rate across the travel industry. The problem with eftpos is that you can run into withdrawal limits set by your bank; as I did, and have authorisations refused.
It seems that 4/5 star hotels are charging an average of $30 for breakfast. I was attending a conference and colleagues staying at other hotels had the same complaint. The charge is excessive. The same breakfast can be had at a coffee shop or cafe usually with a block or two of the hotel. Alternatively several items can be purchased the night before from a supermakrket. There are 3 within a couple of blocks.
Like all city hotels it is not cheap but service and comfort are provided.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are away from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times this year, but this time we had a team meeting there and used the conference facilities for the first time. As a business hotel I like this place, and will stay there again.

I was surprised (pleasantly) at the quality of the Flinders meeting room, with good natural lighting and good layout. Although the limitation that you can't bring your own projector, and have to use their plasma screen wasn't helpful and was expensive ($200 per day). The screen had reflections from the room lights, but otherwise worked okay.

The room aircon was annoying, with air flow only coming on every few minutes to pump in some very cold air and then switch off.

While the hotel was good, the function room was mixed, and I think there is better value in other places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well located hotel close to SouthBank, Southern Cross Station, Docklands and surrounds. Room was clean and tidy. Shower over bath. My preference is for a seperate shower as I dislike shower curtains and no matter how hard I try always have water on the bathroom floor which I find very annoying. Great work desk which did not impede on room space. Valet parking was $40- per day which was a little expensive however not unusual for Melbourne City. I did not use room service or have breakfast in the hotel so unable to comment. Staff were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Looking for a quiet room...ask for one away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Holiday Inn is on Flinders lane and Spenser st Melbourne.Short walk from Southern Cross Railway station. This is where the Skybus from Melbourne airport terminates. Very handy. Clean tidy with Gluten free options at breakfast and dinner. Handy to the free tram on Flinders street and also Collins and Spencer street trams. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbwno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 159 in Melbourne
1,663 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,466 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing