We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #78 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We arrived in Melbourne airport and then took the Skybus to the Southern Cross Rail station. We walked about 8 minutes to the hotel with our suitcases though there is a hotel shuttle that could have taken us. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. It is located near the train station, near the tram stop and some good restaurants. However the onsite restaurant was subpar and the wait staff seemed disinterested in taking care of our basic needs of water and silverware. The hotel is also on the list for tour stops so once we booked our tour the coach came right to the front door to pick us up and drop us off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grammybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear grammybrown,

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders when you visited Melbourne recently.

It is great to hear that our guests are taking advantage of our proximity to the many transport options available. The skybus from the airport is a big money saver, as is the free City Circle Tram!

Please accept our apologies for your experience in our restaurant. This is great feedback for us to work on those basic service elements.

Hopefully on your next visit, you will give our Sirocco Restaurant another chance!

For other restaurant options, the South Wharf area located nearby has some new eateries offering modern cuisine overlooking the river.

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    441
    163
    29
    11
See reviews for
129
225
83
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Staying 2 nights before moving to friend's house. Good location, nearby tram stop.
Room is mall but clean & nice.
Restaurant is quite slow. We have to wait for 45 min before our food finally arrive.
Bed is confortable though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetnoNiekno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great postion close to Casino, Trams & good restuarants, hotel rooms due for upgrade but clean and good size.
Hotel staff very good, lady chef on duty at breakfast over Easter weekend deserves a special mention .
Will return one day and stay longer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here with my Fiancée in January 2012 and really liked the hotel. The location is great in relation to transfers. We simply flew into melbourne, caught the skybus to the city ($17) and then we walked to the hotel (about a 5-10 minute walk).

The bed was super comfy and the room had good air conditioning and blinds making sure we got a good night sleep.

More expensive then some hotels that are similar and include breakfast. However it is just near Krispy Kremes and several coffee shops which made for a good breakfast.

Good location if you need to go to Southport, Crown Casino or the DFO's (outlet shopping). You can walk out of the hotel and you are near the the free city circle tram.

Can't say anything bad about the hotel. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Mitch D,

Thank you for your honest and informative review of our hotel.

We are pleased that our location was convenient and that you found it easy to get around the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders next time you find yourself in Melbourne! Hopefully you joined Priority Club Rewards Program!

Regards,
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

1) Not very friendly front desk staff. Acknowledge that I am a gold priority club member but still put me on a floor just above street level even I requested for a higher floor.

2) Returned my laundry to another guest room and even insist that they had send it to my room. Only they managed to do some tracing and managed to locate my lost laundry.

3) Expensive internet connection. The whole day charges for internet is only for 1 single laptop use. When I log off internet connection my laptop after usage and tried using it for my ipad, I need to pay a separate charges again ???

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Andrew T,

We appreciate your comments about your less than satisfactory stay at the Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

You can be assured that this is not indicative of our usual service standards at Holiday Inn.

We apologise that you were not allocated a room on a high floor on this occasion. We have noted this request in your guest profile for future stays, subject to availability .

Thank you for your feedback also regarding the internet charges. We understand your point of view and want to let you know that our internet provider, which is the same for most Melbourne hotels, has set terms and conditions whereby each internet accessible device is charged separately.

Hopefully you choose us on your next visit to Melbourne so that we can leave you with a much better impression!

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Victoria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn on Flinders for a Business trip, great accommodation and fantastic buffet breakfast, hopefully I will get the opportunity for a return trip. Excellent location for walking access to good venues.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel may look bland from outside but it is nicely appointed, good size rooms, comfortable beds and a pleasant stay to be had.

Room service, housekeeping and general staff interaction was good, obliging and focused on making things easy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonsbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#76 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#54 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer with our convenient CBD location, 4 1/2 star facilities and relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders offers everything you need for a comfortable stay. Whether you are travelling for business, planning a weekend getaway or taking the family on a holiday for much needed time together, you'll be delighted with your choice of accommodation. We have modern guest rooms to suit a variety of needs, including suites and adjoining rooms perfect for families and groups. Our hotel is within walking distance of some of Melbourne's most popular landmarks and attractions. We are also just a 2 minute walk from Southern Cross Station and have the free city trams at our doorstep, so it couldn't be easier to get around. Don't forget that at Holiday Inn Kids Stay & Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing