We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the Management down everyone is so friendly and loves their Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Oh Delight of delights, this is one of the few Hotels in the world that I don't think of as a Hotel, but rather a home away from home, its always with great pleasure I return. I have stayed here over fifteen times in the last  8 years and I have never had an issue, the Holiday Inn Hotel on flinders, has one very key element, very good management, and fantastic staff. Amanda a national award winning service Star makes you feel like you've just arrived somewhere special, and she has rubbed this infectious service greatness off on all the front office staff, you will find all the  staff very friendly and helpful. The guys at the desk are polite very helpful and know everything you would want to know and if they didn't, nothing is to much trouble, they would find out. The Valet parking made it easy to check in and go straight to your room.

 What lovely rooms they are, ok not every room is Brilliant but its home, the bed is cosy, the airco keeps a lovely ambient temperature,  theres the pillow menu to select your Favourite type pillow,and the rooms are very clean and well kept as house keeping must also be controlled by Amanda., kidding but this section of the hotel too is a fine running all service area, with the rooms made up brilliantly everyday. The curtains in the room are truely block out, so a sleep in is possible. The room service is great, with a healthy to naughty selection of food delivered quickly, effectively and hot. The Breakfast is a  Buffet and a large selection all very tasty and tempting. And if your lucky enough to be a Priority Club Platinum member you'll be up graded to a suite or larger room on the upper levels and a complimentary newspaper delivered to your door each morning. 

The Hotel is an easy walking  distance to lots of attractions. A few minutes to the Southern Cross Station and the Skybus. Its a hope skip and a jump to the Crown Casino, the Aquarium and the immigration museum. Ten to fifteen minutes easy stroll to the heart of the city the shopping district and newly revamped Myer centre and Flinders street station and Federation Square. Just around the corner from the hotel you can jump on the city circle tram that will take you right around the city. I can't stress enough how good the service is at this Holiday Inn, the staff are happy, polite and willing to do anything to help I just email the desk I'm coming and they organise a limo driver to pick me up from my flight, its a for fee service but its never failed. I love the Holiday Inn on Flinders lane. All  in all another very good stay and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Join the free Priority Club Program, upper floors on the city side away from the trams are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear vangeInternational,

Wow, what a review!

We are delighted to receive your generous comments about your stay and also that you continue to enjoy yourself at our hotel.

Thank you for your personal mention of Amanda in our Front Office Department. She will be thrilled to read this, just as we are!
It is really pleasing to receive such feedback about our team members, and Amanda sets a great example to her colleagues at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

We pride ourselves on our consistent service, and we look forward to your next visit.
Thanks again for letting us know that we are your regular choice in Melbourne!

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 942 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn recently for one night in a Double Bed Room. The room was great for what we needed, perhaps a little small but as we were only there for one night & we didn't need too much space. It was great value for money, was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfy with a selection of pillows. The location is handy to everything in the city - if only a quick tram ride if walking isn't your thing. Also pretty much across the street to Southern Cross which made transferring to the airport a breeze.
The service was great and they were more than happy to hold our luggage for us after we checked out as we weren't flying out until the evening.
The only slightly negative thing I could say (which wasn't an issue at all really) would be the housekeeping knocked on our door at about 9am to top up our mini bar - granted this isn't too early, but as we were checking out that day, thought that would be done after? (we hadn't purchased anything from the minibar anyway). But other than that was a great hotel and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingkiwigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear travelingkiwigal,

Thanks for sharing your positive experience at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders!

We are pleased that you found your way around Melbourne so easily in such a short time!

Thanks also for letting us know about the early morning knock on the door from Housekeeping. We will look closely at this to ensure that guests are not disturbed on the day of check out.

We hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders next time you are in Melbourne!

Regards,
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We got this place through expedia secret saver for a 4.5 star hotel. however, after staying here for three nights, 4.5 star is overrating, bathroom and doors look tired . Also, after knowing we were given a double bed room,we have paid $20 per night to upgrade it to a king size bed. Good thing about this place, great location, very close to casino, trams and major train station, friendly staff and love the pillows (we have a choice to choose firm or soft pillow).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunice_Shin_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Eunice_Shin_Tan,

We welcome your comments on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

We are in a great location and we are pleased that you enjoyed exploring Melbourne during your 3 night stay. Hopefully you discovered the free City Circle Tram to get you around the CBD.

The Holiday Inn pillow menu is a favourite for our returning guests, and we love hearing the positive feedback!

Thank you also for your thoughts on our hotel in general. Guest insight is valuable to us as we look at future planning of a refreshed product.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel next time you find yourself in Melbourne.

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a decently priced city hotel in Melbourne and it's good for what you pay for, but the rooms and elevators are looking a bit old and tired and it's not in the greatest location.

It's easy enough to hop on a tram, or even walk down Flinders Lane to head toward Swanston St where the action is, but you could probably find a hotel that's just as nice for the same price that's much closer to it all. I guess it depends on what you are in Melbourne for.

Overall it's a nice place, friendly staff, quiet, the room service was a little disappointing but otherwise our stay was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingWordSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My girlfriend booked this as a mystery night away. I can say that we has a really good time, but we normally do. The Holiday Inn is fine. It is clean and friendly, but does not feel like a 4.5 star hotel. Staff good, all fine. The bed is comfy which is important to us. The rooms are tired and need a make over. A good price however. I can not say anything negative as such, but we won't stay there again. Just didn't love it, but many do.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location to explore the city. Friendly staff, free internet in the business centre. Room spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My friend stayed for a week at this hotel on early March 2012. The front desk & concierge services are great & lovely! They are very polite, helpful & friendly. Location wise, it's considerable a good one, City Circle trams (free tram service) & other trams is within walking distance for about a minute or two.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank FleurCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 162 in Melbourne
1,837 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 162 in Melbourne
3,700 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 162 in Melbourne
200 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 162 in Melbourne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $102 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing