We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the Management down everyone is so friendly and loves their Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,550 helpful votes
“From the Management down everyone is so friendly and loves their Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Oh Delight of delights, this is one of the few Hotels in the world that I don't think of as a Hotel, but rather a home away from home, its always with great pleasure I return. I have stayed here over fifteen times in the last  8 years and I have never had an issue, the Holiday Inn Hotel on flinders, has one very key element, very good management, and fantastic staff. Amanda a national award winning service Star makes you feel like you've just arrived somewhere special, and she has rubbed this infectious service greatness off on all the front office staff, you will find all the  staff very friendly and helpful. The guys at the desk are polite very helpful and know everything you would want to know and if they didn't, nothing is to much trouble, they would find out. The Valet parking made it easy to check in and go straight to your room.

 What lovely rooms they are, ok not every room is Brilliant but its home, the bed is cosy, the airco keeps a lovely ambient temperature,  theres the pillow menu to select your Favourite type pillow,and the rooms are very clean and well kept as house keeping must also be controlled by Amanda., kidding but this section of the hotel too is a fine running all service area, with the rooms made up brilliantly everyday. The curtains in the room are truely block out, so a sleep in is possible. The room service is great, with a healthy to naughty selection of food delivered quickly, effectively and hot. The Breakfast is a  Buffet and a large selection all very tasty and tempting. And if your lucky enough to be a Priority Club Platinum member you'll be up graded to a suite or larger room on the upper levels and a complimentary newspaper delivered to your door each morning. 

The Hotel is an easy walking  distance to lots of attractions. A few minutes to the Southern Cross Station and the Skybus. Its a hope skip and a jump to the Crown Casino, the Aquarium and the immigration museum. Ten to fifteen minutes easy stroll to the heart of the city the shopping district and newly revamped Myer centre and Flinders street station and Federation Square. Just around the corner from the hotel you can jump on the city circle tram that will take you right around the city. I can't stress enough how good the service is at this Holiday Inn, the staff are happy, polite and willing to do anything to help I just email the desk I'm coming and they organise a limo driver to pick me up from my flight, its a for fee service but its never failed. I love the Holiday Inn on Flinders lane. All  in all another very good stay and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Join the free Priority Club Program, upper floors on the city side away from the trams are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear vangeInternational,

Wow, what a review!

We are delighted to receive your generous comments about your stay and also that you continue to enjoy yourself at our hotel.

Thank you for your personal mention of Amanda in our Front Office Department. She will be thrilled to read this, just as we are!
It is really pleasing to receive such feedback about our team members, and Amanda sets a great example to her colleagues at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

We pride ourselves on our consistent service, and we look forward to your next visit.
Thanks again for letting us know that we are your regular choice in Melbourne!

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    414
    143
    26
    9
See reviews for
116
209
77
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn recently for one night in a Double Bed Room. The room was great for what we needed, perhaps a little small but as we were only there for one night & we didn't need too much space. It was great value for money, was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfy with a selection of pillows. The location is handy to everything in the city - if only a quick tram ride if walking isn't your thing. Also pretty much across the street to Southern Cross which made transferring to the airport a breeze.
The service was great and they were more than happy to hold our luggage for us after we checked out as we weren't flying out until the evening.
The only slightly negative thing I could say (which wasn't an issue at all really) would be the housekeeping knocked on our door at about 9am to top up our mini bar - granted this isn't too early, but as we were checking out that day, thought that would be done after? (we hadn't purchased anything from the minibar anyway). But other than that was a great hotel and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingkiwigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear travelingkiwigal,

Thanks for sharing your positive experience at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders!

We are pleased that you found your way around Melbourne so easily in such a short time!

Thanks also for letting us know about the early morning knock on the door from Housekeeping. We will look closely at this to ensure that guests are not disturbed on the day of check out.

We hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders next time you are in Melbourne!

Regards,
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We got this place through expedia secret saver for a 4.5 star hotel. however, after staying here for three nights, 4.5 star is overrating, bathroom and doors look tired . Also, after knowing we were given a double bed room,we have paid $20 per night to upgrade it to a king size bed. Good thing about this place, great location, very close to casino, trams and major train station, friendly staff and love the pillows (we have a choice to choose firm or soft pillow).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice_Shin_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Eunice_Shin_Tan,

We welcome your comments on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

We are in a great location and we are pleased that you enjoyed exploring Melbourne during your 3 night stay. Hopefully you discovered the free City Circle Tram to get you around the CBD.

The Holiday Inn pillow menu is a favourite for our returning guests, and we love hearing the positive feedback!

Thank you also for your thoughts on our hotel in general. Guest insight is valuable to us as we look at future planning of a refreshed product.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel next time you find yourself in Melbourne.

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a decently priced city hotel in Melbourne and it's good for what you pay for, but the rooms and elevators are looking a bit old and tired and it's not in the greatest location.

It's easy enough to hop on a tram, or even walk down Flinders Lane to head toward Swanston St where the action is, but you could probably find a hotel that's just as nice for the same price that's much closer to it all. I guess it depends on what you are in Melbourne for.

Overall it's a nice place, friendly staff, quiet, the room service was a little disappointing but otherwise our stay was nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWordSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My girlfriend booked this as a mystery night away. I can say that we has a really good time, but we normally do. The Holiday Inn is fine. It is clean and friendly, but does not feel like a 4.5 star hotel. Staff good, all fine. The bed is comfy which is important to us. The rooms are tired and need a make over. A good price however. I can not say anything negative as such, but we won't stay there again. Just didn't love it, but many do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PVK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location to explore the city. Friendly staff, free internet in the business centre. Room spacious and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My friend stayed for a week at this hotel on early March 2012. The front desk & concierge services are great & lovely! They are very polite, helpful & friendly. Location wise, it's considerable a good one, City Circle trams (free tram service) & other trams is within walking distance for about a minute or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FleurCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#77 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing