We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not as great as when it first opened” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eureka 89

Eureka 89
Reserve with
Eureka 89 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #155 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $76 - $103
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Combining sleek design with glorious unparalleled views spanning 360 degrees across Melbourne, guests can enjoy a 5 or 7 course seasonal degustation menu with the option of matched wines. Eureka 89 chefs are inspired by seasonal produce and create delicious menus that allow the flavours to stand on their own. Eureka 89 is open for dinner selected Tuesday - Saturday evenings. EVENTS Eureka is a stunning venue for private and corporate events for as little as 20 or as many as 400 guests. Eureka 89 offers a private dining room and bar, which offers views of the Botanical Gardens and Port Phillip Bay. With an impressive central bar area and lounge style decor the bar is an excellent venue for private cocktail parties. This venue is available for hire at any time or day of week.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good but not as great as when it first opened”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I visited eureka 89 on grand opening night and now more recently. Sad to say the service, but most importantly the quality of food has gone down hill. Still an amazing and romantic experience with very good food but it just wasn't as delectable as the first time

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mytravelreview49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    36
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A cautionary note”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

While service and food were good on the night, I suggest you avoid cloaking your bag. it's hard not to feel violated, particularly with a dismissive, legally-vetted response in follow up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank aems97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyliltraveller, Manager at Eureka 89, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear ames97, we are very disappointed that you had this experience at Eureka 89, we would hope to discuss this further with you to clarify what took place. Please contact us at your convenience on 03 9693 8889 or rachel@eureka89.com.au. Thankyou in anticipation, Eureka 89.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Watch your stuff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are attending a corporate function on Level 89, I cannot recommend strongly enough to avoid cloaking your bag.

Helpful?
1 Thank aems97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went out for a girls night, great service with constant drink; what we like. The food was good, as was the presentation, thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caprice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyliltraveller, Manager at Eureka 89, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear CapriceB, we are delighted you enjoyed a girls night out at Eureka 89! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I booked Eureka 89 for my parents as a present to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday. I live overseas and wanted to organise something special for my dad as I couldn’t be there with him. My parents both had a fantastic time, they thought the food and wines were superb and they said the staff were lovely and really couldn't do enough for them. My dad thought it was a great experience and something he will always remember.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ElephantCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyliltraveller, Manager at Eureka 89, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear ElephantCat, thankyou for feedback, we are thrilled your Dad's 60th birthday dinner was one to remember for all of the right reasons! Hopefully we may welcome you here next time you are visiting! - Eureka 89 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka 89 also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Eureka 89? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing