We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed lunch”

Meat Market South Wharf
Ranked #295 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxed lunch”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after a hectic morning shopping.....the service was friendly and attentive. The food was "honest"... But not exceptional. Our request for an egg on an open stark sandwich was met with "our chef doesn't do changes".... My request for grilled fish instead of batter almost threw the entire establishment into chaos! With so many different places in the area to choose from we probably wouldn't eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Thank BunburyPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Meat Market South Wharf, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear BunburyPaula,

Thank you for recently visiting us at Meat Market for lunch and making the time to provide feedback. Sometimes our younger and newer team members don't quite communicate as well as others and for this we apologise as you should receive the same service every time. Naturally providing an egg on a dish we would happily facilitate but our new waitress was not sure how to deliver what changes could be made as she was a bit nervous.

Our chefs work hard to find products delivered daily from ethical and sustainable local farmers so both we and our customers support the environment consciously. We do not have a cool room and receive daily deliveries which guarantees the highest of quality, but, unfortunately means we do not carry a lot of product lines to allow customer changes to some dishes, for example, fish. Should this have been delivered better on the day I am certain your lunch would have tasted better at the time.

Thank you again for your feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve and I hope you return to Meat Market to experience how you have made the Meat Market experience better.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small Business Dinner”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I held a small business dinner of 12 people at the Meat Market and chose the small private function room.
I was offered the set 3 course food and drinks menu which I took for the function.
It was great value and a good variety of food and wine to choose from.
The table service was terrific, with a really good time between courses which all attendees were very happy with.
The share plates for the entree were great and a lot of the food made on the premises.
The main and deserts did not disappoint either.
After a big day at a conference all attendees were in no hurry to leave the restaurant and we were not hurried at all.

Go an enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

had lunch here and very disappointed with the main meal. The steak was barely medium rare more rare and cool. The blue cheese butter (didn't taste the blue) didn't even begin to melt and the pepper sauce bland! The staff were friendly but it was a put off looking at the kitchen when the chef bent over and we saw not only his bonds briefs but more of his lower body than we needed to . . . . . . . pull your chefs jacket down pleeeeeeeeeeese

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosegardenmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok place for a meal, nothing special”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Been to the Meat Market three times. Had an Ok meal on every visit. Given the increased competition around South Wharf and Docklands, I'll think twice about going back again.

Food was uninspiring. Perfectly edible, but abit blah. Service can be patchy depending on who the servers are. Price is on the higher side.

Visited April 2013
Thank KFly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place is amazing! Eaten here many times and never disappointed! Steaks are done exactly the way you want, and the side dishes are plentiful. If you don't know how the steak should be cooked, ask to have it cooked the way the chef would eat it. I guarantee it will be perfect!

The wait staff are very knowledgable and attentive, and drinks, food, dessert are all brought out at the right time. If you're in South Wharf, do yourself a favour and walk out the back and have one of the best meals in Melbourne!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Aussiedeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Market South Wharf also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria

Been to Meat Market South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing