We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was good, nothing else was.”

Meat Market South Wharf
Reserve with
Meat Market South Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #294 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service was good, nothing else was.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Went here in a pre-booked group of 11. Due to the size of the group, we had to have a set menu! Service was good, decor average and the food poor. Serves were small, and one meal was cold when it was served. To top it off we had the "pleasure" of watching one of the chefs berate one of the wait staff in front of patrons. Very poor form. Would not go here again and really couldn't recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    94
    32
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat(del)ilicious”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had the 2nd best steak I have ever eaten... I sat the counter and watched my food cooked and prepared in front of me. The staff were so friendly, the food was great, what more could I want!

Thanks to all the staff working on the night of 6th October 2012. If I'm in Melbourne again on business or pleasure I'll be sure to call in again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_linegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality steaks”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were impressed with quality of the meat, couldn't fault our meals. The staff were very attentive when we first arrived, explaining the menu etc. though slackened off after serving our mains.
Trying to order our desserts was tricky, as they seemed deep in conversation with the other staff

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average - just”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Food was OK, drinks reasonable priced.

Decor and atmosphere pretty lacklustre.

Service was not adequate. Hard to get attention and had to be chased up for drinks before and after we ordered them. Waitress very bland - not rude but almost offhand,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks and Great Service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went with a group of 9. The service was first class. The selection range was good but steak is really the way to go. They were cooked to perfection and the price was reasonable. There was also Barra if you want fish. The highlight of the night other than the excellent meal was seeing a 2.1 kg Tomahawk Steak getting cooked. These are like the steaks seen on the Flinstones.

The restaurant looks over the river and the atmosphere was very good. A great experience and I would highly recommend trying the Meat Market out if you are near South Wharf.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigSandy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Market South Wharf also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Meat Market South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing