We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool ambience,pity about the food”
Review of Mama Baba - CLOSED

Mama Baba
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool ambience,pity about the food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Second visit to Mama Baba, first visit was very disappointed with the pasta dishes however gave it the benefit of doubt but unfortunately second time around it was worse. For an Italian/Greek restaurant and pride themselves on tradition suggest they learn how to cook,salt and garnish pasta dishes. Both pasta dishes which we shared were dry, bland, tasteless and well over cooked. You would think the waiter would have got the hint when 5 of us left more than Half in each dish.
George I suggest you get involved soon or else it will end up Mama Bye Bye.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Mama Baba, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for the feedback.

We enjoy reading both positive and negative reviews as we feel feedback is the best way to continuously improve our offering.

We apologise that you did not enjoy your experience and regret that this was the case as we hold ourselves to high standards in this regard.

I have sent you a DM with the venue manager's contact details, should you wish to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We expected great things from this restaurant but could not even enjoy our own conversation due to the over powering music. (Much more suited to a bar than a restaurant). The building is interesting but I would have preferred blander surrounds and better food and service.
We had a party of 14 and had to point out that more than 1 salt and pepper set would make it easier for diners at the opposite end of the table.
Waiting over 20 mins for a drink before reminding the waiter that I had ordered it. Plus having to ask for milk and sugar to be delivered whilst our post meal tea and coffee sat on the table cooling, were all things that were substandard.
The food was average at best and I would have expected better from a pub meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Mama Baba, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We enjoy reading both positive and negative reviews as we feel feedback is the best way to continuously improve our offering.

We apologise that you did not enjoy your experience and regret that this was the case as we hold ourselves to high standards in this regard.

I have sent you a message with the venue manager's contact details should you wish to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in South Yarra”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Ambience was excellent: the high ceilings meant we could talk without shouting! Our waitress was soooooo helpful, patient & understanding as we navigated the expansive menu. Wisely she advised a half serve of our pasta dishes: the main course size dish would have meant we would have had to forego the veal rib eye and lamb shoulder!!!!! The wine list is more than ample though one did struggle a little with the meaning of 'enomatic'. We will definitely return. The dishes were simply delicious and plentiful.

Helpful?
Thank Traveller540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Mama Baba, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Mama Baba.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant and enjoyable”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Situated in a deserted lane way off Chapel Street, this subterranean restaurant is certainly worth a visit. While the industrial surrounds result in a somewhat large, echoy and impersonal space the service is quick and efficient. The food, especially the goat pasta, is delicious. While lingering is not on the cards with the two sittings policy on a Saturday night, it's a great place for a quick bite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
450 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Modern Italian in a buzzy and hip ambience”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Don't be turned off by the stark cold cement walls and canteen style layout. Well there's a splash of colour of the liqeur bottles and lighting to take away the starkness. The decor thankfully is not reflected in the food, it is modern Italian....smartly served, flavoursome and just the right amount. I particularly like the prawn tortellini. The wine menu is good and cocktail list sound unpretentiously delicious though I did not try any....well next time for sure. The food service is quick but not hurried. The staff service was attentive and efficient though a tad distant. The restaurant was busy for a Monday night. Definitely a place to return to....with friends and hang out at the long bar??

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Baba also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing