We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and enjoyable”
Review of Mama Baba - CLOSED

Mama Baba
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Situated in a deserted lane way off Chapel Street, this subterranean restaurant is certainly worth a visit. While the industrial surrounds result in a somewhat large, echoy and impersonal space the service is quick and efficient. The food, especially the goat pasta, is delicious. While lingering is not on the cards with the two sittings policy on a Saturday night, it's a great place for a quick bite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Don't be turned off by the stark cold cement walls and canteen style layout. Well there's a splash of colour of the liqeur bottles and lighting to take away the starkness. The decor thankfully is not reflected in the food, it is modern Italian....smartly served, flavoursome and just the right amount. I particularly like the prawn tortellini. The wine menu is good and cocktail list sound unpretentiously delicious though I did not try any....well next time for sure. The food service is quick but not hurried. The staff service was attentive and efficient though a tad distant. The restaurant was busy for a Monday night. Definitely a place to return to....with friends and hang out at the long bar??

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were recommended by a friend during our visit to Melbourne for the tennis. We took a cab from city and was pleased we travelled the little distance to experience the beautiful,interesting food served in this restaurant. We arrived around 9 pm and got promptly seated and given suggestions of what would intrigue on the menu. Mainly centred around dishes made from homemade pasta. The mix of Italian & Greek was pure genius. The desserts are to die for, so save some room.

Thank Dolly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Mama Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review @Dolly D.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Mama Baba, and loved the Italian & Greek menu options.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were a little disappointed with our meal here, first of all the ambience is noisy and hectic, which we did expect after reading the reviews on here but wasn't really conducive to a relaxing meal. The wait staff were polite and sorted a mix up with the order quickly but they were very business like and fast!
The food was ok but I've certainly had better pasta elsewhere, the wine choice was impressive but so were the prices, I settled for a glass of Italian white which to be honest was terrible and at $11 a glass I felt very cheated.
Overall, we enjoyed our meal, I always love not cooking and washing up but I think there are so many better places to spend your money at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TasDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Mama Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We enjoy reading both positive and negative reviews as we feel feedback is the best way to continuously improve our offering.

We apologise that you did not enjoy their your dining experience and regret that this was the case as we hold ourselves to high standards in this regard.

I have sent you a message with the venue manager’s contact details and encourage you to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were wandering along Chapel st and decided to give Mama Baba a go for dinner. We were not disappointed! To start with the service was exceptional: friendly and informative. We chose the $55 per head Mama meal and what a meal it was - each dish outstanding in its simplicity yet perfect combination of flavours and textures. 13 dishes in all and wevwalked out stuffed. My personal favourite the blue eye served on a bed of puréed red capsicum: delicious both to the taste buds and visually. Ill go back!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barratt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Mama Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thanks for your review @Barratt67.

We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your dinner at Mama Baba, especially the blue eye.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Baba also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing