We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little be too hyped up.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Aylesbury - CLOSED

The Aylesbury
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little be too hyped up.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I think the major problem with The Aylesbury is that it is very very noisy in the restaurant. So much so that one needs to shout to hear someone sitting 30cm in front of you and so everyone at every table is shouting and you have to shout during your conversation too. I left with a husky and sore voice! The food is somewhat overrated- I had the 10 course tasting plate and found some of the dishes of strange combination and tasted. Nothing spectacular. Service was excellent though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very noisy & we felt the serving sizes we too small even for tasting plates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Melbourne for the tennis & this was our 3rd night out. All the restaurants had served tasting plates but we felt these were just too small. Maybe the staff should have adjusted them for 8 people. It was Saturday evening but the noise was such that we really couldn't talk for the earlier part of the evening. The food was quite good, the staff attentive but overall we were disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A tasty, good value feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Chanced on a table for dinner with a friend. We could only be seated at the bar, but this was the kitchen end and was actually great. This meant we could watch the chefs and when they were quieter they were chatting to us about food, chefs, where they have worked etc.

We went for the fest menu, which is pricey, but in Melbourne terms is good value. Over 4 courses, unfortunately not including desserts, we were given a range of dishes and sides. They were excellently presented and nearly all really flavoursome and well cooked. I was just a little disappointed with the main of pork neck, which was a little dry and the pigs ear with them a little chewy.

As well as the chefs, the waiters were really friendly and attentive and chatty.

We had a good G&T and a good glass of wine each, which added to the fest meant a bill of A$105 each. I was comfortably full, had enjoyed food I would not eat at home - eg Australian sourgrapes - and had enjoyed an eating experience, not just a meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yksurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening in the Aylesbury. The food was good, and sometimes excellent, but I would not rate it excellent overall. However, the atmosphere and the service were excellent! Friendly, helpful and informative waiter, without being pushy. We had a great night and closed the night with a drink on the lovely rooftop bar. Some other rooftopbars may have better views, but this one gives a great big-city feel.

Book early, since it's hard to get a spot in the weekends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Three of us visited both parts of The Aylesbury recently. By 'both parts' I mean the rooftop bar with its tapas menu and the ground floor restaurant and bar.
The top floor bar, on a balmy Wednesday evening, was a delight, with fast drinks service and a comfortable mix of ages - important when you are sharing a table, as we did.Because we were dining downstairs we did not order tapas but observed some appetising options being served to other patrons.
From the minute we sat at our downstairs table until we left a couple of hours later we had a ball, making contrasting choices from the quirky, ecologically responsible menu, choosing interesting beers and wine, and interacting happily with the charming, knowledgeable staff.
Our small share plates included mixed olives, barbecued heritage asparagus, succulent lamb ribs, cured duckfish with samphire, and some seriously good bread and oil.
We then shared a main of beautifully grilled flathead and a green salad, which left room for a dessert of traditionally made beignets (four in a serve) with a sublime dark chocolate sauce.
Our bill, including tip, was just under $70 a head which was, we all agreed, very fair for the experience we enjoyed. If you want masses of food on your plate, Aylesbury is probably not for you: if you enjoy trying a range of dishes with diverse ingredients prepared with passion and love, in a pared back, simple restaurant setting, we would all say "Give this place a go".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxOAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aylesbury also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing