We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding Personalized Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Penguin Bus

The Little Penguin Bus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out our new tours! A full-day Phillip Island tour, a Great Ocean Road tour and an express tour just to the 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road! The Little Penguin Bus is a budget-priced express tour operator travelling direct to the Phillip Island Penguin Parade. Enjoy a two hour scenic drive to Phillip Island, with commentary, arriving an hour before the penguins are due to appear. Time for a visit to the cafe, souvenir shopping and learning all about the Little Penguins in the visitor centre. We offer a selection of penguin viewing options and the personal service and small-group atmosphere of much more expensive operators. All fares advertised include return transport and Penguin Parade entry.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Personalized Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Believe every bit of the excellent reviews that you read on TripAdvisor about the Little Penguin Bus. We were a group of five from Singapore and Beijing and found this service over the internet on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Mac's the man !! His service allows you the maximum time to enjoy the parade and his commentary, knowledge and personalized service made the trip memorable for each one of us. Thanks Mac and we will be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JQMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    51
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife found this on tripadvisor and Mac sure lived up to the reviews and more. We went on 3rd April and there were three families and two young students on the bus.
He informed a couple of days earlier that traffic was heavy and thus moving an hour ahead of schedule would be good. We reached early and he made ample use of the available time by taking us to nooks and corner of the island that I didn't go to when I visited in 2003. Nor did I see too many other vans moving around. We got to see and photograph penguins and the viewing stands, wallabies and lot of other beautiful sights. Mac gives a lot of time and does not rush you.

We were the first ones in and the last ones out.

What makes the tour very different is the amount of talking that Mac does himself and also gets the group going. He is extremely knowledgeable and involved and engaged the group very well.

Dont miss this one!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Feetonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you're looking to get straight to the Penguin Parade with a small group (we had 7) and skip all the extras that other tour companies do, then Little Penguin Bus is an outstanding choice.

Mac's customer service was superb. He helped us decide which ticket-level (we went with the Private Penguin Parade), and during the drive was very personable, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, which made for a fun experience.

One main plus was LPB stayed at the Parade later than other groups. While others were filing out to the parking lot, we got to hang out later and watch the penguins up close all along the boardwalk, a definite bonus. As long as you're traveling all that distance, it's really nice to be able to spend more (quality) time there.

We do wish we had gotten to the Koala Reserve on Phillip Island, but to do that with other tour groups would entail a bunch of other unappealing junk thrown in. So we went for the simple, straightforward and satisfying Little Penguin Bus. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great success on The Little Penguin Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Went on this trip on the 8 th April based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. What can I say other than absolutely brilliant.
Mac our host for the trip was first class and gave good information throughout the trip and his timings were absolutely spot on.
When we arrived on Phillip Island he gives a real insight into the Penguins and the conservation work that is going on with tese amazing little creatures. mac carefully navigates you through the logistics of the centre so you don't have to worry about where to go etc.
I joined what is called "the ultimate tour" which is a group of ten plus a ranger and whilst you don't see as many penguins you do see them up close and personal- brilliant!
Unlike many other tours Mac gets you straight there and straight back with just a fifteen minute comfort break either way.
A great trip and well worth joining Mac if you want to visit the penguins you will not be disappointed .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pcoll55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never Thought Penguins Could Be So Cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Penguin Tour on the "Little Penguin Bus." Mac, our driver, navigated all kinds of traffic issues to get us there in time for a special tour with a naturalist. This cost us about $30-$35 dollars more per person, but it was worth it. We had special front row seating and we were provided headphones so we could hear the naturalist and we were also provided binoculars. Even if you don't book the naturalist, take binoculars. I felt the best part of the naturalist tour besides the capped group size (10) was the fact that after seeing a few groups of penguins come out of the water, we were taken to a special area and saw close to a hundred walk by just a few feet from us. If you want to take the tour with a naturalist you will probably need to book it well in advance. If you just stay with Mac he will tell you alot before you get there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Penguin Bus also viewed

 

Been to The Little Penguin Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing