We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Meat!”
Review of San Telmo

San Telmo
Ranked #75 of 4,108 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $78
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plenty of Meat!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went through the menu as was my first visit, must say the open charcoal grill was a surprise but made for great viewing. Loved the Argentinian malbec, perfect accompaniment to all the red meat, only downside was the lambs sweetbreads, they were though and chewy, they don't work being grilled! apart from that the food was fantastic, loved the roasted baby carrots with the Woodside goats curd and the desserts were simple but well executed. Packed for a Monday night we had to sit at the bar which was very entertaining. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    161
    50
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SO MOUTHWATERING DELICIOUS!!!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Cannot fault the food at this place AT ALL. Every single dish we tried were cooked to perfection. Even the really plain looking dishes like shredded cabbage salad with horse radish dressing somehow tasted like the best salad I've ever had on earth. I must say, I absolutely HATE coriander but I somehow found myself chowing down on fresh coriander and lime with prawn ceviche and wanted more. Meat dishes are cooked perfectly, medium rare, if you are a steak lover this place is for you. The serving sizes are on the smaller side, but having said that it is probably the proper serving size as most restaurants serve way more than normal these days. And because all the dishes are so good you feel like you can eat way more than what they serve. Staff were very knowledgeable about the food and wine, so if you are unsure and overwhelmed by the menu, just let them pick, you will enjoy the meal either way!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Delicious meat, very knowledgable staff. We had a fantastic meal from the black sausage to the steak and the fantastic salads to accompany everything was outstanding. Need a wine recommendation? Ask your waiter - a hidden gem in Melbourne!

Helpful?
1 Thank ZK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Argentina in Melbourne - Yummy!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm a meat guy. And if you aren't interested in good, old-fashioned red meat, then just click past this one and I won't be offended.

But if you are a meat-eater and you are in the CBD of Melbourne, then here's a for-real Argentine restaurant that you'll want to try. Just off of Bourke Street about a half a block west of the State Parliment Building near Spring Street is Meyers Place. If you wander onto this little alleyway turned bistro heaven, you'll find a handful of really interesting clubs and restaurants, but my favorite is San Telmo.

This is no made up place trying to be a tapas restaurant like so many trendy places these days, this is a house full of cooks, who incidentally make ther meat, potato, rice, vegetable and other dishes melt-in-the-mouth worthy of 5 stars. I won't spoil the surprises for you by telling you about every dish, instead, just walk in (well maybe make a reservation first, since it's quite often packed to the gills) and ask the very friendly staff what's cooking tonight - I'm pretty sure that you'll like what that gets you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute hidden gem...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had a lunch here last week and was simply blown away. Whilst we only had a light lunch, we followed it up with a fantastic desert and some great wine and beer (Mountain Goat - excellent) The desert has placed in the top 10 deserts in Melbourne for a rediculous amount of time - yummy...

Even if this type of food isn't your thing, give it a go - you'll be pleasantly surprised

Service is excellent and the waiter we had really knew his stuff. Explained the menu to us so we knew exactly what we were ordering

Definately worth a visit if you are in the area. If you're not, make you way there somehow

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Telmo also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing