We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Seafood Platter Please"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubiras at Swallows

Rubiras at Swallows
Ranked #452 of 3,639 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Gluten Free, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Port Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“"Seafood Platter Please"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Rubiras @ Swallows as we went there for lunch on a Cudo Seafood Platter deal. Everything was excellent - the service, the environment but especially the food. Looking at the specials board and menu, they obviously have a wide choice but be warned it is not the cheapest place to eat in Melbourne. We walked out (or should I say rolled out) completely satisfied - couldn't have eaten another mouthful. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
349 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“It's all about the fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rubira's is in the Swallows pub in Port Melbourne and has become a go-to venue for very good fish. While the quality has fluctuated over the years, generally it's on the high side - and it should be, because it's not an inexpensive experience. The selection of fish depends on market availability and you can have it prepared in a variety of ways - from grilled, to Japanese breadcrumbed, to battered and deep-fried. There's also a very large range of starters. These generally sound better than they are - barramundi spring rolls, garlic or chilli prawns and a host of others. For non-fish eaters there's also a decent range of meat selections. Service is personable although Friday lunches in particular can get very chaotic - and noisy - so be prepared to wave your arms to get attention. It definitely caters well for groups.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“seafood platter yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here Thursday Night with a groupon deal The staff where excellent and super welcoming food was delicious and wine was good. I would recommend this restaurant. As we had a deal the prices of the meal was irrelevant to us . I checked out the menu board prices where not cheap high 30s for mains but food was amazing and venue beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denise000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Order the scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

If you love seafood then thus is the place to go. Seafood never tasted so good, food is fresh tasty and inventive. I have visited this restaurant six times and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly_Flakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordialloc, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top Nosh in a Top Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Rubira's at Swallows in Port Melbourne; we went last Saturday on the suggestion of the "birthday girl" in our group of four. To say we surprised (pleasantly so) would be an understatement. In a word sensational, the food, the service, the surroundings, the whole experience was exceptional. The blackboard menu caters for all tastes, the entree's are great for sharing, the fish choices are of the highest quality and the cooking is superb. The waiter was informative, friendly, efficient and made our evening by his suggestions and advice on what to pick and what to combine. The atmosphere is friendly and warm, and the surroundings very comfortable especially on a cold night where the open fire was welcome. You must try the Rubira's original chilli prawns, to this chilli prawn fan they were the best ever, anywhere. Fiery but with a lingering taste that did not burn at all just left you well and truly satisfied - but begging for more. Rubira's is not cheap but delivers full value for money and a dining experience that you will remember for a long time to come!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubiras at Swallows also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rubiras at Swallows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing