We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational”
Review of Roule Galette

Roule Galette
Ranked #10 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Roule Galette is a little piece of France in the city where you will find French staff, speaking the language of Voltaire who will serve you in a warm and intimate setting reminiscent of Montmartre in Paris. Music, whether Breton or French songs of the last century or more modern times will accompany your meal along with authentic Cider from the Pays d'Auge in Normandie, or Cotes du Rhone or Burgundy wines. Not to forget the inimitable Orangina.
Hyden, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Tucked away just off flinders lane we discovered this small French creperie, and here discovered what delicious crepes are all about. A must if you are in melbourne cbd. Beautiful and light, we went for breakfast but it is open til late. Friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    68
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quirky and Delicious !”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

finding this little Gem was definitely a bonus for those whom want something a little different for breakfast. This quirky little French Inspired Café Creperie welcomes you at the door with Bonjour and from there on it is like being in The Montparnasse District of Paris. Travel down the shortness of Scott's Place in Central Melbourne to find this great place. The food is large servings, very affordable and the staff are charming and welcoming. It's quite a small establishment so you can wait a little while if it is full but the staff definitely keep you entertained with their charisma, uniqueness, nerve and talents and you can see them making the Galettes from the window on the street or from the bench seating along the wall. Every time my partner and I visit Melbourne we make sure we come here at least one morning for breakfast. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. OH and fabulous coffee!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Champagne4everyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

After raving about Breizoz in Fitzroy to a friend were were taken here for breakfast and we were very impressed. This place is tucked down one of Melbournes more obscure laneways. Its tiny and very french. Service was friendly and fun and the food tasty and cheap, what more could you ask for!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I don't know how many French creperies there are in Melbourne but this one by Flinders Lane must surely be the best! The atmosphere is cozy and very European, with French music playing in the background and the friendly, charming staff speaking in French off and on. I found the coffees to be slightly cheaper than the average for the area, but above average in quality, and the food was simply outstanding. I had a galette and it was amazing - fresh, delicious and filling. The dessert crepes looked fantastic as well - I 'll have to try one the next time I'm there! Highly recommend this great little find among the many other excellent cafes in the Melbourne CBD. C'est tres délicieux!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StylinScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“You Feel You Are In A Cafe In Paris”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Every time we visit Melbourne we make a point of having breakfast in this wonderful little creperie. I stumbled across it initially whilst exploring the exciting little lane ways in the CBD of Melbourne and it was clearly very popular. It's only a small place but the atmosphere is very French, with the staff all speaking French to each other and French music on in the background. I love the sweet crepes there for breakfast and my husband is unable to go past the savoury ones (galettes). There is another cafe affiliated with this one, further up the river, but it doesn't have the same wonderful atmosphere as this one.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YeeHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roule Galette also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Roule Galette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing