We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands-down Best Macaroons in Melbourne.”
Review of La Belle Miette

La Belle Miette
Ranked #20 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hands-down Best Macaroons in Melbourne.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've got an insatiable sweet tooth and a soft-spot for macaroons. After going to Paris a couple years back, I've been craving macaroons and I went and tried out several macaroons from various shops in Melbourne and I've not yet come across a macaroon that bests the ones at La Belle Miette. Must try flavors? All. Though my personal favorites would be rose, salted caramel, lavender and passion fruit. They taste absolutely divine. Flavors are strong- but not to the point of being pungent, chewy but not too hard (or too soft) and just the right amount of sweetness to leave you craving for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    22
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Macarons”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was out to find the best so I could taste a "real macaron" as I hadn't tried one before. I researched before going to Melbourne and this little place seemed to be the place to go....nice and easy to find in Hardware Lane and what a selection of flavours. The salted caramel as many have said was just yum and I really liked the pistachio. What I liked was the intensity of the flavours....you didn't have to wonder what flavour it was, you could really taste them without question. I'm glad I found them and tried them....now to try and make my own!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frags1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“had too high expectations”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After trying macaroons from Laudaree and TWG, I expected to be blown away at this establishment... tried the lemon macaroon and it tasted so-so. Hubby's take on the cherry blossom and sake macaroon was purely "too sweet". Guess we'll have to try other flavours another day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jos_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Macarons I have ever tasted!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Another gem located in Hardware Lane. Despite having to line up for these tasty delights it is well worth the wait! I have never tasted such amazing Macarons - my fav's this time were definitely the scone with jam and cream and the salted caramel. Thank goodness I don't live in Melbourne otherwise they would be a daily indulgence!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward after reading some good reviews. I had rapsberry which was ok. The opera was rather solid as if in the fridge too long . May be it is not a very popular flavour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Miette also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Belle Miette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing