We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Italian food”
Review of Cafe Cavallino

Cafe Cavallino
Ranked #795 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We walked up and down Lygon Street and checked out lots of places, some were offering incentives to eat there. Lots of people eating both inside and outside on the footpath. Service was great and the food was lovely and so much of it. Nobody rushed us and the meal was served in a reasonable time frame. Enjoyed the experience and the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jagphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    33
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
261 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Graet Italian Food”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely meal at this popular Italian restaurant in Lygon St, an area very well served by Italian restaurants. We both had great homemade pasta parcels with traditional sauces. The ambience was lovely sitting out in the street under the patio heaters.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toffeeforever
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointingly below standard”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Went to Cafe Cavallino after being recommended by numerous friends. Ordered a lasagne (which is huge) but tasted pretty bland and had a number of large inedible burnt pasta sections. I would have given this a lower rating but the other dinners at the table seemed to be of a very high quality.

Also had to ask three times for our beverages which edventually came half way through the main course (that we had ordered at the start).

Atmosphere here is very good. Sat outside under a heater and Lygon street is always very busy and bustling.

I would not visit it again but do feel that I potentially got it at a 'bad' day due to the other dinners at the table being much better than my one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toffeeforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Molto bene”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We started with some bruschetta with prosciutto- amazing! Then we had pasta which was delicious and came in quite large portions. Service was fast and friendly, and being Friday night there was a great atmosphere. It was reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zufepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Late night street dining experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Called into Cafe Cavallino after seeing a show. THe friendly staff and streetside dining experience had a real buzz and made this short visit fun and interesting. The food was fresh and hot when served so the whole experience was very nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cavallino also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cafe Cavallino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing