We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must see in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Market

Queen Victoria Market
Ranked #30 of 3,660 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I go here at least once a week. The deli hall is fantastic. Get a Borek for lunch and enjoy the sites of the rest of the market. Don't forget closed Monday and Wednesdays

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    204
    60
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

a good place to have a bite to eat, with plenty of good options very within the market area. Heaps of stalls selling anything and everything, a good walk around while you do a little shopping

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quiggs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's lots of cheese there, enough said!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I must admit I'm biased because I'm a complete sucker for cheese and I entered directly into the dairy section of the Queen Victoria Market. Truly a cheese lovers heaven, I found my belly somehow full of cheese without actually purchasing any. I'm definitely guilty of lingering around the tasting tables, and repeated the experience by tasting organic wines (seek out some chilli port from the Flowerdale Winery, it sent electric shivers across my tongue and I *SHOCK* actually bought some). The markets are definitely worth a stroll around, although some sections are repetitive and sell lots of junk. Also just remember that these markets close on Mondays and Wednesdays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The fresh food markets are just to die for. The other markets weren't as good as years ago with not as much variety, depends on which day you go, during the week or on a weekend. Colourful characters abound.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Definitely worth a visit. Loved seeing the meats and seafood. The deli section was extensive, though less impressive as others I've visited. The fruits and vegetable markets were good, too, though the sections we saw (closest to the market) were not as extensive as I thought they would be and WOW was it expensive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Victoria Market also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Queen Victoria Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing