We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

O'Brien Group Arena
Ranked #114 of 409 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the Docklands, O'Brien Group Arena (formally known as Medibank Icehouse) is Australia's premier ice experience. Come ice skating, 7 days a week, 364 days a year! Adults $27 (including skate hire) Concession/Student $25 (including skate hire) Child 6-14 years $23 (including skate hire) Child 3-5 years $14 (including skate hire) Family (2 Adults + 2 Children) $82 (including skate hire) Single Family (1 Adult + 2 Children) $64.50 (including skate hire)
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

i love ice skating and when i arrived here it was great the ice rink was good had music i was excited to find a good ice skating place then it came to the SKATES Omg, they were terrible the ice skating places im use to have clip up skates that are tight these skates were plastic and tie up they were loose and tilted inwards when you tried to skate i only ended skating in total 10-15 mins with breaks inbetween cause it hurt my ankles so bad it was a waste of money i dont reccomend it unles you like skating for ten mins and getting sore ankles i hope they update there skates this is one place i wont be going back to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Megang32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    51
    21
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun for all the family”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent an afternoon at the Icehouse & thoroughly enjoyed by husband & I & our 2 boys (10 & 7). First time for boys and after a couple hours they improved hugely. I recommend the frames for beginners to get their confidence (hire for $3 per 1/2 hr) & definitely worth it. Cafe does a nice green tea & hot chocolate which is good for a break. Good idea to hunt down a staff member on the rink for some tips - the tips my 7yr old got had him blitzing us all after 5 mins.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rrfaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

the ice house is a great palce to visit with family or friends i loved it tip get smaller shoe size works better

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Sounds great, the reality is more utiltarian”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's good to have an ice skating venue in town and I love the name, but the rink is not particularly big and despite the glamourous exterior, the interior is disappointing. You need to check the program because they book in numerous activities and training sessions, so it's not always possible to skate when you feel like it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Experience But.....”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently visited the Ice House and, being from Canada, we were excited to ice skate for the first time in two years. The staff was helpful and friendly, the facility was clean and organized with the ice surface being absolutely excellent.
There were, however, a few negative.
1. We had to share the ice with a large figure skating class which was always in the way.
2. At 10:30 a large school class arrived which took up a third of the ice surface for lessons which left even less room which had to be shared with the large figure skating class
3. Two of the music videos were rather disturbing. One depicted violent and vengeful wrestling matches and the other showed a young women, at one point, pretending to repeatedly and violently thrust something into her genital area with her legs spread wide open. I was not impressed with my young boys seeing that!

Unfortunately these three items really made the visit very disappointing. Not to mention paying $4.00 for my none skating wife to watch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rus2er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Brien Group Arena also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to O'Brien Group Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing