We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously good Italian food and wine”
Review of Enoteca Sileno - CLOSED

Enoteca Sileno
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Head Chef Antony Campbell and his team create a menu of contemporary Italian cooking where the focus is on quality ingredients and pure flavours. This is Italian cooking which is as influenced by tradition, as it is by what's happening in Italy today. When you dine at Vino e Cucina Restaurant you also have access to over 450 Italian wines including the largest collection of aged Italian wines in Australia. This is a unique experience to explore some of the best examples of indigenous Italian grape varieties and regional style. Our knowledgeable staff is always available to help you with your selection. We are opened for lunch and dinner from Thursday to Saturday. Sunday is lunch only.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our best friends invited us to join them at Enoteca Sileno, having been there for lunch a few weeks earlier. As usual, their recommendation was justified. When you walk in, you are immediately hit by the vast range of Italian wines sparkling on racks in every corner of the restaurant. The menu is full of things you want to try - our table shared three antipasti plates - the Salumi, the warm olives and the battered and fried artichokes - in hindsight, we should have also had the meatballs . . . next time. For mains we had the Barramundi and the slow cooked pork. Both were exceptional - only problem is that I would have like more Barramundi. With the meals we enjoyed wine by the glass - a Santa Caterina white and a Le Pupille red - great recommendations. This is a restaurant we will keep coming back to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Enoteca Sileno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We rarely eat out because of cost and our enjoyment of cooking at home. A meal out has to be "special" and good value for money: Enoteca easily met those criteria with excellent, friendly, service and very well cooked and presented food from a simple but interesting menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamEnoteca, Public Relations Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Ciao David, Thanks for your support and positive feedback. Your description of our cooking is spot on and it will please Head Chef, Antony Campbell, very much. Grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had dinner at Enoteca last night. We were taken out to the new area out the back, sitting under umbrellas it did feel like we were in Italy, the only thing missing were the grapevines and a ladder to pick the grapes. On a warm night like last night it was superb.

The staff were magnificent, and the food - although simple was perfection on a plate. Incredibly beautiful evening. But we should have enquired how much the wine by the glass was - although a very pleasant wine, it was a very expensive wine by the glass! But it was a celebration dinner - so put it on the credit card and will worry about it at the end of the month!

The key to Enoteca's food is the elegant simplicity.

Without a doubt some of the best Italian food available - anywhere!

And our Italian waiter was just wonderful.
Without a doubt, a night to remember.
Thank you Enoteca

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamEnoteca, General Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Grazie jenjenrossco, thanks for your great review - your second one too! And we're happy you got a chance to enjoy our beautiful courtyard. It's actually been set up for several years, but we can only really use it for a couple of months of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Not only has it got a great ambience --just like being in Italy --it has an above average wine list and really excellent cooking . I can't think of anywhere else to eat Italian in Melbourne or Sydney for that matter.The service was both knowledgeable and charming and we had an excellent dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamEnoteca, Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Ciao Drac69, thanks for your generous review. It was very appreciated by the whole team. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I will openly admit to an affinity to this building as I was born and raised across the road when it was the Rising Sun Hotel and 6 o'clock closing was a way of life, in the mid '50's.

John Portelli, the more public face of Enoteca Sileno and now even more notable (famous?) since his part in a new movie called " Lygon Street - Si Parla Italiano", his family and the entire staff have elevated what comes from this building to a whole new level of of taste and service.

I called them on the Saturday morning for that evening, which is unreasonable for this time of year, but was met with "Yes, we would love to have you but please come a little early. Say, before 7, as we get very busy after 7."
Score 1 for the disorganised, being me!
When we arrived we met, as always, with a smile and ushered to the new section out back.
A great, and probably necessary given the popularity of this place, idea.
We were given a table with a view to the the kitchen, which to me is like getting THE best seat in the house. It was like watching a good opera, that ended happily.
Our waiter was ....... one of the main reasons we enjoyed our night as much as we did.
Helpful - letting us know what dishes were in short supply i.e. the quail, which when mentioned lit up my smile.
Knowledgeable - picked a perfect wine for my wife's dish of melt-in-your-mouth goat.
Attentive - at no stage did we need to ask for anything as he intuitively and unobtrusively would ask first and then deliver, as required, quickly.
For primi we had beetroot cured trout and octopus carpaccio.
Both innovative but, more importantly, exquisite dishes.

Pictures of the food, as beautifully prepared and plated as it was, would be an injustice and I have therefore not included any.

Anyone that wants to experience and enjoy food, wine and produce in general in the best of Italian ways needs to go to Enoteca Sileno.

When you have finished eating you now get to exit through "the gift shop", aka the retail store so that you continue the experience after you have left!

Thank you Enoteca Sileno.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarinoInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubaldo F, Public Relations Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Ciao MacInOz, Wow! what a compliment. Thank you especially for you kind words regarding our staff. We always print out these reviews and circulate them among the restaurant team and it really is so motivating for everyone to realise their efforts are noted and recognised.
Grazie di cuore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Sileno also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing