We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden Motel
Save
You added Arden Motel to your Saves list
15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (North Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Arden every December for the past 5 years and have absolutely no hesitation recommending it to anyone. As Tassie said, it's a budget motel and no more than 3 stars, but it's fantastic value for money for anyone driving to Melbourne. I've NEVER encountered a problem with the cleanliness of the rooms and it's perfectly located - walking distance to the city (20 mins to Bourke St), local shops/restaurants and even the Zoo. Don't be put off by the overly critical or hard-to-please overseas tourists.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at The Arden for 2 nights while I was in Melbourne. I have stayed here on & off over the last 20 years if down for a quick business trip or to see someone in hospital. The decor and building hasn't changed much in the last 20 years (except the TV) and yes some things are getting a bit ragged around the edges but at the end of the day i was just sleeping there. It is well located to the major hospitals and is only a 25 minute walk into the city for shopping or business.
The staff appear friendly and for $88 you get the room, parking, contintenal breakfast and a newspaper. obviously for that price don't expect the Taj Mahal. You can leave your car in the carpark during the day of check out which is also a bonus especially if you are travelling out of the city to the north. My room was quite and down the back and I had a good nights sleep.
For a good meal go the the Castle Hotel just accross from the motel ($17 all meals on Menu on Tuesdays)

Room Tip: Try and get back room as Arden St can get quite busy early mornings and peak hour in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at The Arden for 1 night. It was in a quiet location (we requested a back room) , the staff were very friendly. The building is dated, and so is the decore, however, it is a budget motel, and we didn't expect anything more. It would certainly be convenient for people with their own vehicle. There are some nice sunny tables and chairs for sitting outside, a bit public, but still pleasant. A bbq is available, but check that there is gas before going out to purchase your food.

Room Tip: Some of the side street rooms have a small 'atriam' which lets in some more light, and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TassieGrammia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We, as a family, lodged there for only a few days and found it to be a grotty, noisy, dirty, cold and unfriendly place to stay. Not to mention the price - too high for the service. Never again! I think hell would be more welcoming!
Jojo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank josiec100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a Motel run by Chinese People. They are good and helpful. Although the place and equipment are bit old, but facilities are not bad. Most of the attractions such as Skydeck, Zoo, Aquarium, Museum, Victoria Market are close by and Royal Melbourne Women’s Hospital is just 5 minutes walk. You can travel using a Tram (the cheapest). Breakfast includes two types of bread, cereal, with jam, butter, marmalade, vegemite, honey sachets, milk and juice. There are tea, nescafe, sugar sachets as well. These are provided one day ahead (11 am today for breakfast tomorrow) for every day (same breakfast). Small Kitchen is also there with small fridge, Microwave, toaster, hot water jar and cutlery (no cooktop, knife, cutting board though), which was cleaned every morning (salt and pepper are given). Attached toilet and bathroom was small but nice (set of shampoo, soap, laundry powder, shoe shine are updated every morning, but no toothbrush, toothpaste and razors). Toilet was cleaned and new towels were provided every morning (they took your towels, wash and dry them and give them back. this took around 1 hour in which you were kept with no towels during that time). Room was cleaned every other day. There were 1 Double and 2 single beds in our family room with tea and study tables. Although the size of the room was bit small (for a family of 4), it was equipped with hot/cold a/c, Flat TV, Radio, alarm etc. and for the price of 125$ per night, it was ok. We (2 adults and 2 children 6yrs, 4yrs) spent 4 nights from 11/10/2012. Although, we also felt a bit of lack of cleanliness (may be due to old building), but for the facilities, location and price, this is good motel to consider. We probably come back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 38, no experience on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BalaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rach Gia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are traveling around Melbourne and have a car, this is a great relatively cheep place to stay. You can walk to Victoria Markets or tram into the city and its easy to get out of town. Yes its a typical Australian Motel and a bit dated but its still in good condition, the bed is comfy and the breakfast and paper makes mornings easy. We didn't have much contact with the staff but they had no problem with a telephone booking and late check in.

Room Tip: There was some construction work next door (on the Western side) in April
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikaro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just had a 4 night stay at this hotel, old, run down and very noisy. They are currently demolishing part of the building and the builders dropped off scaffolding at 7 a.m. Jack hammering commenced at 8.00 - not good. However the real disappoint was the state of the rooms, downright dirty. Filthy plugs, light and power switches, dirty appliances - needs a thorough clean. The unhealthy and germ ridden switches were for disturbing given I was visiting a relative who had undergone serious surgery. Even after I tried cleaning all the major contact points grime was still evident. Beware if you're visiting someone in hospital, no wonder infection is rife.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChristineB21_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#88 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Motel

Address: 15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on the leafy green fringe of the City of Melbourne. Arden Motel provides an unequalled combination of personal service, position, and price. There is real quality in every detail from the new luxury suite to the smiling staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing