We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arden Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Melbourne
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Jasper Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
16
38
23
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
38
23
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasteach morningdouble bedcerealtoasterfridgeaccommodationcbdtransport
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 94 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We, as a family, lodged there for only a few days and found it to be a grotty, noisy, dirty, cold and unfriendly place to stay. Not to mention the price - too high for the service. Never again! I think hell would be more welcoming!
Jojo

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank josiec100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a Motel run by Chinese People. They are good and helpful. Although the place and equipment are bit old, but facilities are not bad. Most of the attractions such as Skydeck, Zoo, Aquarium, Museum, Victoria Market are close by and Royal Melbourne Women’s Hospital is just 5 minutes walk. You can travel using a Tram (the cheapest). Breakfast includes two types of bread, cereal, with jam, butter, marmalade, vegemite, honey sachets, milk and juice. There are tea, nescafe, sugar sachets as well. These are provided one day ahead (11 am today for breakfast tomorrow) for every day (same breakfast). Small Kitchen is also there with small fridge, Microwave, toaster, hot water jar and cutlery (no cooktop, knife, cutting board though), which was cleaned every morning (salt and pepper are given). Attached toilet and bathroom was small but nice (set of shampoo, soap, laundry powder, shoe shine are updated every morning, but no toothbrush, toothpaste and razors). Toilet was cleaned and new towels were provided every morning (they took your towels, wash and dry them and give them back. this took around 1 hour in which you were kept with no towels during that time). Room was cleaned every other day. There were 1 Double and 2 single beds in our family room with tea and study tables. Although the size of the room was bit small (for a family of 4), it was equipped with hot/cold a/c, Flat TV, Radio, alarm etc. and for the price of 125$ per night, it was ok. We (2 adults and 2 children 6yrs, 4yrs) spent 4 nights from 11/10/2012. Although, we also felt a bit of lack of cleanliness (may be due to old building), but for the facilities, location and price, this is good motel to consider. We probably come back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 38, no experience on other rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BalaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are traveling around Melbourne and have a car, this is a great relatively cheep place to stay. You can walk to Victoria Markets or tram into the city and its easy to get out of town. Yes its a typical Australian Motel and a bit dated but its still in good condition, the bed is comfy and the breakfast and paper makes mornings easy. We didn't have much contact with the staff but they had no problem with a telephone booking and late check in.

Room Tip: There was some construction work next door (on the Western side) in April
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikaro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just had a 4 night stay at this hotel, old, run down and very noisy. They are currently demolishing part of the building and the builders dropped off scaffolding at 7 a.m. Jack hammering commenced at 8.00 - not good. However the real disappoint was the state of the rooms, downright dirty. Filthy plugs, light and power switches, dirty appliances - needs a thorough clean. The unhealthy and germ ridden switches were for disturbing given I was visiting a relative who had undergone serious surgery. Even after I tried cleaning all the major contact points grime was still evident. Beware if you're visiting someone in hospital, no wonder infection is rife.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChristineB21_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Everytime we visit Melbourne we stay here. I have stayed in most of the rooms and room number 20 is the only one that is not very good. We have been visiting this motel for the last 11 years and the same chinese people still run it today, they are lovely people and very helpful. In that time, I have seen it become busier and busier and it is nearly always fully booked now, so the best advice is book early!

Price is $88 per night for 2 people, this includes continental breakfast in your room and the Herald Sun.
Motel has undercover parking and is a tram ride away from the CBD. It's also very easy to find being not far from the Royal Melbourne Hospital.
Rooms are basic, but clean. Rooms have small kitchenette with microwave toaster and fridge. You do need to arrive before 10pm.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yarrockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews