We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really delightful calm space, with great...”

Review of Askrigg Cottage

The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Melbourne, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
apegray
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really delightful calm space, with great facilities in a lovely garden.”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect location for us, but also turned out to be a lovely calm comfortable place to be in.

Easy to stroll into Moonee Ponds or to Ascot Vale, and choice of tram or train down into the city.

Hosts Martin and Beryss were very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hank20082...
Cobar, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and tranquil settings. A place to call home away from home.”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Martin and Berys take pride in how they maintain their lovely home. We were instantly greeted with smiles and felt so welcomed. Very down to earth people. Upon entering the cottage we felt the sense of being home away from home. Our stay for the week was very pleasant. Highly recommend if you need a place to call home while staying in melbourne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2018
Thanks for the lovely review hope to see you next time your in town
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKaiWol...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best part about Moonee Ponds”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Is this bed and breakfast, and of course the people who run it, Marty and Berys.

I'm a Canadian and have never visited Australia before; so this was the the first location for me. With a name like Moonee Ponds I expected to a have a great view of the moon, which I did. But it was the dreamy garden that was a consistent blessing, and with the lorikeets stealing fresh plums, and the possums eating fresh lemons, this b & b is its own fairy realm.

Which is something you simply cannot pay for.

However, Marty and Berys even took it to another level.

I had been struck by a minivan a year prior to my trip to Australia, where you can read about it on my own website.



Therefore, visiting Australia was a dream for me, and a monumental achievement, because I had to teach myself how to walk again. Unfortunately, the people whom I was initially supposed to visit turned out to be such collosal selfish disappointments. Empty,flaky people, who were so caught up in their own predictable nonsense that they almost sabotaged my trip's purpose and profundity.

Marty and Berys rescued that.

We became friendly and dare say friends.

Obviously not everyone is looking for that, and I certainly wasn't. But it was delightful when it naturally evolved.

Therefore, if you wish to have a magical adventure in Australia, then start with Moonee Ponds. And allow Marty and Berys to share their magic along with you. Then allow Australia to unfold the rest, because it is a stunning continent.

Cheers!

Kai

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2017
Glad you had a good time Kai We enjoyed having you share our place , hope to see you on your next visit
cheers Martin & Berys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy welcolming cottage in which we enjoyed a very comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Our hosts were most considerate enquiring what we needed in the way of food items, answering any questions and providing a warm welcome.
The cottage was in a great location to public transport, shopping and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy clean cottage which was self catering
Liked least: happy with everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2015
Thank you very much for your fantastic review,hope you can make it again in the future and we will certainly drop in for a cuppa next time we're in Normanville
Regards Martin & Berys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubberink...
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Escape to tranquility”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A delightful cottage with all that you need, surrounded by a pretty garden. Wonderful location, walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shops, excellent public transport for a quick train ride to city.

Most importantly you will be made to feel so welcome, encouraged to read the papers and magazines in the tranquil garden, meet Tinkerbelle the cat! Chat with Berys the most generous and welcoming owner who will provide wonderful information regarding the local surrounds and further afield.

The most perfect place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed, delightful garden.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
We do try to give all our guests a comfortable and relaxing stay, catered to their specific needs, at Askrigg Cottage.
We hope we can accommodate you again in the future!
Martin Berys (and Tinkerbelle!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul f
Geraldton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location for our needs”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

great location for the cox plate weekend .cottage was fine for our needs.will book for next year as wife wants to come this time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: salt in container not nice in coffee
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2014
Thanks for the great revue Paul ,look forward to welcoming you and your wife next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
565lariss...
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like at home”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for 17 days. Martin and Berys were great hosts. The even had the heating on for our arrival and had bought travel cards for all of us. If there was any problem, Martin would attend to it immediately. We would definitely stay there again if we come to Melbourne again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Hi Larissa Thanks for the great review,hope you alll can make back some time. Hope your accommodation for Munich has gone well as do your studies there
Regards to your mum and grandmother also
Cheers
Martin & Berys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing