We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in a wonderful tour!”

Longhorn Younique Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See spectacular coastal scenery, beautiful rainforests, ancient mountains, wildlife and much more on one of our private tours. You will travel in Land Rover Discovery 4WD vehicles. Our passionate and experienced guides will take you to the iconic sights and hidden secrets ensuring you have an experience that lasts long after the tour has ended. Great Ocean Road, Grampians, Yarra Valley, Phillip Island, Melbourne to Adelaide or Adelaide to Melbourne.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent three wonderful days with Garry and his Longhorn YOUnique tour, travelling around Great Ocean Road and Grampians National Park. We did not have a specific idea about planning where to go in details, and Garry took care about all it could have been interesting for us. And he did perfect choices. We had the chance to see kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, several birds; we went and saw waterfalls, a Sequoia forest, the raining forest, the awesome coast, and many terrific corners that have showed us the deepness of Victoria State. The Twelve Apostoles have been just a part of a promenade all along small sea villages, beaches and unthinkable prairies. Garry has always told us about the history, the society, the nature of all the places we visited. Very interesting have been the meetings with the aboriginal places, that Garry made us feeling very deeply. We spent the nights in very comfortable and pleasant places. One of the big values of this trip is for sure Garry: he is always present, careful to travellers’ needs, never interfering and really amusing and affable as a person. We really recommend to travel with him on Longhorn YOUnique tour, because it is worth it!

Thank eliliberatutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LonghornTours, Owner at Longhorn Younique Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Elisa Thanks for taking the time to describe your experiences whilst on tour with us. We're happy to see you enjoyed it so much and also learnt about the history of the places we visited. Cheers Garry & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"land rover"
in 13 reviews
"the great ocean road"
in 36 reviews
"day tour"
in 18 reviews
"large bus"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 6 reviews
"london bridge"
in 5 reviews
"rock formations"
in 3 reviews
"incredible tour"
in 2 reviews
"melbourne hotel"
in 2 reviews
"halls gap"
in 2 reviews
"great scenery"
in 3 reviews
"tea break"
in 2 reviews
"wild parrots"
in 2 reviews
"answered all our questions"
in 2 reviews
"entire tour"
in 2 reviews
"safe driver"
in 2 reviews
"twelve apostles"
in 4 reviews
Filter

66 - 70 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our tour guide, Garry, is passionate about his job and his enthusiasm rubs off on you. He's eager to answer whatever questions you have, and is accommodating and hospitable. Most importantly, he's a safe driver.

We got to see spectacular ocean views (including the London Bridge and the Twelve Apostles), beautiful forests and lovely waterfalls. We weren't rushed so we had time to soak in the atmosphere and enjoy the serenity of nature. Be prepared to walk quite a bit on the second day in order to see Hopetoun and Triplet Falls, and go on the Otway Fly treetop walk.

Along the route, we saw a variety of birds (while feeding them bird seeds), koalas (I feel rather lucky to have captured a clear video clip of one feeding on eucalytus leaves), wallabies and seals (viewed with binoculars from our bedroom porch at The Apollo Bay Guest House). We stayed overnight at the guest house, a quaint place with a charming host (Marie), nice French antique furniture, and a view of the ocean from our bedroom. If you wake up early enough, you'd get to see the sky and surroundings slowly light up with the rising sun

Although the tour package cost more, we received more attention from Garry as our group was small (four people in our case). You also spend less time waiting for everyone else, which can be substantial when a big group is queuing to use the toilet.

As Garry's SUV can reach places inaccessible by a coach bus, we got to see his "secret place," a tranquil forest of Californian Redwoods with a babbling stream running through it. Whenever I feel the need to calm down, I shall recall that "secret place" again.

Thank tanmymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LonghornTours, Owner at Longhorn Younique Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed the experience and have been left with such a great lasting memory.

Cheers Garry and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you want to do the Great Ocean Road in comfort and style this is the tour for you. Garry is a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide who takes you to off the beaten track beaches and lookouts as well as the main attractions. The 4WD is well stocked with water and lollies for the trip, and delicious morning/afternoon tea and lunch are all included in the price. As the name suggests YOUnique tours caters to individuals not the masses. My husband and I were lucky enough to be the only passengers the day of our tour and were given the option to extend the tour by an extra hour to take in Bay of Martyrs, a stop well worth adding to the already long day. Overall a pleasant day out and highly recommended, especially for those not wanting to spend 12 plus hours squished on a bus.

Thank CJ_DJHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LonghornTours, Owner at Longhorn Younique Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed the Bay of Martyrs its a stunning, but often missed part of the Great Ocean Road. Cheers Garry & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Before we started our trip to Australia, it took us a long time to make a decision to join Longhorn YOUnique for our tours to the Great Ocean Road and Yarra Valley and the Dandenong Ranges. We hesitated because we did not know if it would be worth doing. Would it be better than joining a small group tour arranged by a Chinese travel agency, which would mean a more convenient communication to everybody as some of our group members could not speak a single English word? This had been the question kept bothering us. But Longhorn YOUnique’s always prompt replies to our various questions (we got relies always without a few hours); their detailed suggestions for the routes to take, the attractions to visit, as well as the inns or hotels to stay in did attract us and convince us to proceed with them. And we could not wait to start the tours.

The day came and we saw Garry, Longhorn YOUnique’s head guide, was already there waiting for us at the hotel gate when we went downstairs. We (six of us) were soon in Garry’s comfortable and roomy Land Rover and all our heavy luggage in his trailer. We now got started from Melbourne to Yarra Valley for two days and another two days to the Great Ocean Road.

Garry was humorous and knowledgeable. He kept us laughing all the way and would tell us so many things about this beautiful country. You would never get boring in the car. The only thing we need to do was just to relax listening to Garry’s explanation and enjoying the views we passed by. Garry guide us to the Healesville Sanctuary where we could see Koalas, Emus , Wallabies, Kangaroos and other Australian amimals; We went to the bird show where we saw so many beautiful and intelligent Australian birds. Of course, Garry would not let us miss all those wineries in that region where we could taste the various wines, which was the crescendo of our Yarra Valley tour. The gourmet lunch in one of those wineries did surprise us. Everybody of our group said the food was really gorgeous. That night, we stayed in the apartment in Yarra Glen Hotel arranged by Garry. It was a nice apartment, quite comfortable for 6 people. After checking in, we could go to the supermarket nearby to do some shopping and cook ourselves a Chinese cuisine in the nice kitchen of the apartment. We went deep into the Dandenong Ranges the next day. We walked in William Ricketts Sanctuary where we could see those amazing sculptures in the forest. Furthermore, we had a lot of fun by taking the Puffing Billy, the only steam train running in the forest.

It is no doubt that the scenery along the Great Ocean Road was breathtaking. But the point is where to get the best shooting. This seemed so important for those who love photographing. With our knowledgeable guide, Garry, we did not need to worry about this. He would show us those lookouts where we could get the most marvelous views. Knowing that most of us were fond of photographing, Garry would guide us to the places which were good for photographing but not in “the bucket list” giving us enough time to do this time-consuming activity that we loved to do. The itinerary was then somehow flexible and could be adjusted. We did not need to follow what had been “exactly programmed”. The tree top walk, feeding of the lovely birds and watching Koala in wild were amongst the most interesting activities we did on the Great Ocean Road. With Garry, you would never miss these.

Garry was also considerate and attentive. Weather on the Great Ocean Road, in the Yarra Valley and the Dandenong Ranges were somehow changeable in March. It is always recommendable to bring along with you your umbrella. But in case you forget this, don’t worry. Garry would always have his umbrellas in his car for you. That was what we had experienced in our tours We did not need to run for shelter during our walks in the forest when the shower suddenly came. Each time after checking in a hotel or an inn, Garry would make sure everybody in our group had everything in the room. Small things like if a bottle of milk for tea was already available in the fridge could not escape Garry’s eyes. Morning tea is a culture new and impressive to us. We actually do not have this in our Chinese culture. Every day at around 10:30, Garry would stop somewhere so as to prepare for us the morning tea, from which, we could not only enjoy Garry’s family-made fruit cakes, but also could be warmed up in the windy mountain area by a cup of hot coffee or tea. It was also a very good way to relax after some hours of sitting in the car.

All our group members agreed that it was our correct decision to have selected Longhorn YOUnique for these two tours. It was worth doing and language was never a barrier as we all have not only enjoy the breathtaking sceneries of these areas, but also the good service provided by this company through Garry’s enthusiasm , passion and commitment towards his job.

Thank xin x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LonghornTours, Owner at Longhorn Younique Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Xu Thank you for letting others know about your experience with us and fantastic to hear you all enjoyed both tours. Glad to hear we introduced you to the concept of morning tea, hopefully something you will enjoy many more times. Cheers Garry and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

After 27 hours of travelling from New York to Melbourne, we met our guide Garry at the airport gate and could not have been in more capable and welcoming hands. He was so incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and attentive to every detail. He knew our needs before we even did! This may have been in part because he took the time to find out our likes and dislikes, our lifestyle and our expectations for this trip before we even left home. We drove the Great Ocean Road for two days in an immaculate and roomy Land Rover. The landscape is breathtaking and Garry pointed out so many points of interests and historical tales along the way which made it so interesting. We were not rushed one bit. He was accommodating to whatever we wanted to do - whether an impromptu walk down to the beach or an extended stop on a neighborhood street to stare at our first encounter with wild kangaroos! His enthusiasm for the area was contagious. Very aware of our long journey, he checked in with us often to make sure that we were okay and had a variety of drinks available for us. We were more than okay - we were in heaven! He booked a lovely inn for us the first evening in Apollo's Bay overlooking the ocean that was just perfect. That night, we went to a popular restaurant for dinner that we had on our "bucket list". Garry had gone to the trouble of booking it weeks in advance to ensure us a table. After an early morning walk along the beach the next day, we set off for the Otway Fly Treetop Walk, which is a 1 hour rainforest walk experience. The forest was amazingly beautiful and Garry found some very special spots for us to stop and take pictures at. We were able to fit this in because we were not trying to jam this tour into one day. I really recommend going there. Garry took us to a really fun, special, out of the way restaurant for lunch that he knew up in these gorgeous hills. We sat outside on the deck taking it all in and it was not touristy at all. The crescendo of our tour was supposed to be The 12 Apostles, but to be honest with you, we started off on a high that just didn't end. When we arrived in the area of The 12 Apostles, we saw many tour busses in the lot. We were so grateful that we did not go that route. Our tour was so personal and customized for us. He truly picked up on the tempo that we wanted to go at - see as much of everything in the time that we have! - but he could have easily slowed the pace down if we had been so inclined. The rock formations were breathtaking and Garry took us to several different spots to see them. He even took us down to a cove where we looked at sunken caves and dipped our feet in the water. After setting my husband and I out on a short walk to look at more dramatic rock stackings, we came back to a lovely spread of tea, cookies and his own homemade fruit cake! We enjoyed a beautiful drive back to Melbourne through the interior countryside and Garry dropped us and our luggage off at our hotel in time to see the city fireworks (just one more thing that Garry was well-informed about), We made a new friend down under, one who shared a magical time with us and made dreams come true. I would recommend Longhorn YOUnique to anyone and look forward to seeing Garry on our return trip to Australia some day.

Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LonghornTours, Owner at Longhorn Younique Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Sherry thanks for such a fantastic review! Glad to see you and Kenny had such an amazing time and we delivered on our tagline "where it's all about YOU". We also like to think our customers go away as friends so hope to see you back down under at some stage in the future. Otherwise if we make it to the US we'll certainly try and drop by for a visit. Cheers Garry and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longhorn Younique Tours also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longhorn Younique Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing