We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed”

National Sports Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.25*
and up
National Sports Museum General Entry Ticket with Optional Melbourne Cricket...
Ranked #18 of 398 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the MCG, the National Sports Museum presents world-class exhibitions of significant sporting artefacts. The museum houses the Australian Gallery of Sport and Olympic Museum, Sport Australia Hall of Fame, Australian Cricket Hall of Fame, Australian Football Hall of Fame, Champions - Thoroughbred Racing Gallery and temporary exhibition areas addressing the sporting issues and events of the day. Interactive and audiovisual displays enhance the visitor experience. The National Sports Museum also manages the MCG Tours. This is a vibrant, exciting and attractive mix of sporting information, cultural heritage, and interactive entertainment. The National Sports Museum serves the MCG's match-day patronage, as well as catering for families, schools, seniors and tourist groups, seven days weekly.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are heading to the MCG to watch your team play make sure you visit the NSM in the bowels of the arena. My son and I were blown away by the displays, the memorabilia and the interactiveness of it all. Time flew and before we knew it a couple of hours had passed. Loved it and all the guides are friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2and4makes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    150
    22
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went on the MCG tour and then stayed to look through the Sports Museum. I am so glad we gave ourselves ample time to do so. There is SO MUCH to see and do. We had our 2 teenage daughters with us and they loved all the displays but they also loved the area where they could actually get physical and play games to do with archery, netball, football, cricket. They even wrote a newspaper article on the great computer programme they have there. Excellent Fun! Make sure you take your kids there! I would allow at least 2 hours for the museum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perthite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting, Informative, and Big.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited the National Sports Museum following our tour of the MCG, which was also very interesting. We really enjoyed going through the sports museum because it is so full of things to see. There's a huge area dedicated to AFL with all the anthems at a push of a button, famour players' jerseys, and historical photos from when it was just VFL. What I found most interesting was the Olympics section which had all the torches in it, along with a timeline of all the Olympic games, where they were held, what souvenirs you could buy back then, and heir mascots. Other areas included Golf and tennis, as well as a big kids area with lots of fun things to do. You could kick a goal, handball into holes, race a cyclist, and lots of other fun things. Overall, I do not know how much it is to visit this museum separately, but following an MCG tour we found it to be pretty good value, especially since there was so much to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireSkewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

very interactive great for children easily accessable by melbournes public transport only a 5 minutes walk from jolimont station

Helpful?
Thank Bolivia1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Sporting Legends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

For such a small nation our sporting achievements are something that fills one with pride. Having a family member included in the exhibition I know what it takes to reach perfection in one,s chosen sport.

Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sports Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Sports Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing