We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

National Sports Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.37*
and up
National Sports Museum General Entry Ticket with Optional Melbourne Cricket...
More Info
$96.04*
and up
Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne
More Info
$120.26*
and up
Sports Lovers Tour of Melbourne plus Foster's Australia Brewery
Ranked #18 of 422 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the MCG, the National Sports Museum presents world-class exhibitions of significant sporting artefacts. The museum houses the Australian Gallery of Sport and Olympic Museum, Sport Australia Hall of Fame, Australian Cricket Hall of Fame, Australian Football Hall of Fame, Champions - Thoroughbred Racing Gallery and temporary exhibition areas addressing the sporting issues and events of the day. Interactive and audiovisual displays enhance the visitor experience. The National Sports Museum also manages the MCG Tours. This is a vibrant, exciting and attractive mix of sporting information, cultural heritage, and interactive entertainment. The National Sports Museum serves the MCG's match-day patronage, as well as catering for families, schools, seniors and tourist groups, seven days weekly.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you like sport, you will thorughly enjoy the NSM. If you buy the MYKI transport card from the City Information Centre at Federation Square it gives you a 2 for 1 deal. Some wonderful exhibits, presentations, photo's, uniforms....... the list goes on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PBJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    154
    23
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“my story of the”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

when i went there i was with my family so when we got to do the cathy freeman runing races i had good fun. i was enjoying all the thing you had there and all the thing you could do there

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaymie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum for the sports lover”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I cannot believe that we have lived in Melbourne for so long and not visited this brilliant museum sooner!! If like us you have ignored it make it a must do in the near future, you won't be sorry. We spent just on 2 hours here that absolutely flew by and have resolved to visit again to see everything that we missed! Every sport that has been played at the MCG is very well documented with loads of memorabilia and information however not all sports are given the same attention. If you love cricket you will not be able to drag yourself away and the Shane Warne hologram was enthralling.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank justmeok006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Historic and Interactive”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I took my 2 children (aged 12 & 14) and my mother to the MCG to visit the Natinal Sports Museum.
The volunteers were very friendly and explained where all of the exhibitions were situated.

We had a great time looking at the AFL, Cricket, Olympic and Horseracing displays. The holigrams of Shane Warne and James Hird were really interesting.

The children especially enjoyed trying out the various sports in the interactive display.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENALLA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed for sports fans”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved the way it is presented. Australia is a sporting nation and the museum reflects that. Found that the guides were full of knowledge and very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Pidge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sports Museum also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to National Sports Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing