We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting decor....but we liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra St Kilda Road
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,818 - 1,824 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Flew from Tasmania to Melbourne for a couple of days away. Chose this hotel at the last minute. The receptionist that dealt with us was fantastic. Room was cosy and modern. Did not like seeing reflection of others on balcony due to reflective building next door. However, fantastic all round stay, very close to tram stop.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kiaora19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Mint on St Kilda Road from 10 to 15 November. First impressions were very good and on entering the building we were greeted by a very friendly lady called Bec who quickly did the paper work and handed us our keys. We were on the third floor and our room was lovely. The decor was great and more interesting than most places we have stayed in. The whole hotel was beautifully clean and well maintained as was our room which had everything we could possibly want from an extremely comfortable king size bed, beautiful bathroom, a fridge, small stove, microwave (the latter three items we did not use but were there if we needed them) iron and ironing board to freshen up crumpled clothes. Down on the ground floor level was a laundry should that be needed. There was also a gym. We found the location extremely good with the tram stop just being a short distance from the front door. There was a restaurant in the same building (which we did not use because we ran out of time) and a little cafe next door called Time, where we ate a delicious breakfast each morning (most inexpensive and delicious). All in all our stay at Mint was all we could have hoped for and we will be staying there again when we are next in Melbourne

Room Tip: We were in room 317 and had asked for a view if possible. As it turned out we overlooked a car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Jatuporn s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is located down towards Commercial road near Prahran, The rooms are designed with a modern approacha nd are very well equipped with full size fridge, internet access, very comfortable beds and large LCD TV's

I was impressed with the comfort and set up of the room. There is limited views so you wouldn't select this property for a view, but great value for money in a well presented clean hotel.

I would happily recommend this to anyone,

Room Tip: Trams located running along St Kilda Rd outside the front of the property. Very comfortable rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here 1 night as a pass through. Location is great and on first glance, the hotel room was fantastic and clean. However one of our bath towels and hand towels had what appeared to be poo stains??? And we were only given 1 bar of soap - which isn't a huge deal, but for people passing through, I don't want to have to go out to 7/11 and buy a full bar of soap and either waste it or carry it around with me in the car until the next destination? Like I said, it's not a huge gripe, but generally I like to have 2 soaps - 1 for a quick shower, and another to wash my hands with at the sink... but seriously... poo stains???

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddlez87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce M, Manager at Mantra St Kilda Road, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest

I felt it was important to reply to your post of November 14, 2012 as I am extremely disappointed to read of the problem with the towels in your room. Upon reading your comments I double checked our shift logs to see if any reports were given to staff of this nature and have been unable to locate anything similar. I have also spoken with our Executive Housekeeper to see if anything was reported by the Housekeeping Team when cleaning the rooms. All of our linen and towelling is sent out of the property to be cleaned and then inspected upon return as a part of our quality assurance process (make up and hair dye stains can often take several washes to be fully removed). Every piece of linen is individually numbered to track its usage and after 100 washes it is removed from the Hotel stock. With this particular instance, I would have liked the opportunity to inspect the item in question to determine what actually the stain was caused by.

With regard to the soap in your room, we have recently made the change to one piece of soap and are monitoring feedback with this. As a part of our guest relations, a call to reception would have remedied this problem immediately as extra would have been brought straight up.

If you would like to discuss either issue further, please feel free to contact me directly at the Property direct.

Bruce McAleer
Regional Manager Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for a training course. Good location with only a short tram or taxi ride to the city. I had the 1 bedroom apartment which has cooking facilities and a full size fridge. The bed is one of the best I have slept on in a hotel. Gym is small but has high quality equipment. Bar downstairs was great to relax with collegues over a few drinks.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 1 bedroom. The size is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gr0wingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
3,102 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
624 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra St Kilda Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra St Kilda Road

Address: 568 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $99 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra St Kilda Road 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to visit Melbourne for business or pleasure - you won't find anywhere more comfortable and welcoming than the stunning Mantra St Kilda Road. For business visitors our multi-purpose meeting room ticks all of the boxes, and the onsite restaurant and bar, Bakini, offers fine wining, dining and nightcaps until late. Sink into the Exclusive Pillowtop Signature Bedding or relax in the stylish living area with large screen LCD TV with Foxtel. Mantra St. Kilda Road features WiFi and broadband internet, security card key access, private balcony with all round views across Albert Park, business services and of course fully self-contained facilities including a kitchen with full size refrigerator. No matter what is on in Melbourne you are just a tram ride away from The Arts Centre, the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Luna Park and St Kilda Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra St Kilda Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mint Rhapsody Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing