We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for your second or further visit to Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra St Kilda Road
Ranked #65 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for your second or further visit to Melbourne”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you are a regular visitor to Melbourne and just want a place to stay without full hotel service, this is the place. It is only 10-15 minutes by tram from Flinders Street, take number 3, 3a, 5, 6, 16, 64, 67 to stop 25. You can reach Chapel St easily using number 6 and St Kilda on 3a or 16. Stayed for 4 days the week before Easter. No trouble booking last minute on one of the websites.

The place is virtually brand new and the rooms have been prepared to a good standard. Ultimatley the decor can be easily changed in the future unlike some hotels which stay dated due to timber and intricate features. The unfinished concrete ceiling is nifty and not something you dwell on after having the first look. The kitchenette section is there if you need it and the full fridge works more effective than those bar fridges. Great for your drinks and breakfast supplies. Studio rooms are good for one or two people. If you are a person who spends more than 2-3 daylight hours in a hotel room then this place is not for you, on holiday get out and enjoy, on business you are not really in the room during the day. Bed great, air con good, hand basin too small and they should provide a loo brush!

Mint staff are very nice and they are there to manage the guests, ultimatley they did not design the place but are the management company, so when reviewing be mindful of that, a pillar on a balcony is the architects fault.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the side overlooked an office block but shut those blackout curtains come night t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTravellerDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    657
    236
    84
    62
See reviews for
339
535
126
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caribbean
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This establishment projects itself as an apartment hotel. I do not consider a bedroom, which just happens to have a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, microwave, coffeemaker, and some cupboards and drawers with plates and glasses and cutlery, etc. more or less next to the bed as an apartment! The bathroom was bizarre: the basin was too small and the shower space too small (no bath). The lighting throughout was "designer" style, and did not really work. The decor was an attempt at a "designer" look also - and that certainly did not work. The two pieces of "art" were horrendous, and the curtains, etc. were very suburban. The stools on the balcony and in the room were more or less useless, unless you used them as tables.

When you lay on the bed ready to go to sleep and looked up to the ceiling (unpainted or unfinished concrete) with its three strip lights you really did have the sensation that you could have been on the floor in a multi-storey car park!

No restaurant or bar - but there are numerous outlets nearby. There was form of room service - but I did not try this.

The outlook from the room which I had for one week was directly onto a concrete wall on the next building............

The opening and closing of room doors was very noisy.

My stay at the Mint Rhapsody Melbourne was not a particularly joyful experience, but I have to say that the place was well-located for me when I stayed in Melbourne.

Room Tip: For a reasonable outlook, and a good-sized balcony, then you have to pay considerably more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfairdealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I write a lot for Trip Advisor only because I travel a lot. I enjoy good food and like to stay comfortably.
It pains me greatly to write this review because I consider the Mint Rhapsody my little secret ... and I really don't want anyone else staying here because otherwise the price will go up and I may not be able to book my favourite room each time I stay in Melbourne.
So I won't tell you about the fabulous location that is only a couple of tram stops from the city or St Kilda (hope you don't know what a tram is). And I won't tell you about the beautiful decor, art, service and very comfy beds. Equally, I won't tell you about the spacious rooms and great rates...only because I want to keep it all for myself.
So please don't stay here, otherwise you may bump into a weary traveller with a sarcastic sense of humour!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnroseworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My partner had booked mint rhapsody for my birthday. We have stayed here twice before and prior to this stay I was not suprised it had been booked again because we have had such a great stay twice before this one. Our safe kept making a weird noise,we had a balcony facing a car park, however,our tv was our main issue. We could not get any movies whatsoever. Regional travellers may not find this an issue but when your a local, being away from the norm is a bit of a luxury, as you do not have to deal with every day life. We tried and tried everything we could, we even tried asking reception what to do as we had run out of ideas. After about 45 mins of calling reception and trying to fix the cabling from the cable box, we just gave up. Reception asked us if we wanted to move rooms, even though it would have ment downgrading to a room without the private balcony we had paid extra for. We finally settled on a late check out, which reception was happy to give you us for 1pm. As much as it was not a physical hotel issue, maybe they should consider going with a more promising movie provisioning tv service. Mint rhapsody is a fantastic hotel, this is the first issue we have had in 3 stays, our first being in december,and I would like to give a special mention to kimberly, she was nothing but polite and accomidating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were very happy with the apartment. If you wanta view you will need to ask for a lush studio as these face St Kilda Road or the rear of the building. The best rooms are at the front as those at the rear face a carpark.we stayed in 2 different units, we wanted a balcony but the first unit had a small balcony with a huge pillar taking up half the space. No room to sit outside, the second unit was much better with a view of Sy Kilda Road and no pillar so there was a reasonable amount of outdoor area. The traffic noise was not a problem as the doors are double glazed and block out most traffic and tram noise.
Staff were good and very helpful.we will stay there again on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne North
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I arrived at 11.30 only to find out about parking and then travel into Moomba for the day. The wonderful Emily (a true asset) told me i could park out the front for free on Sundays and the next day because it was a public holiday. I was wrapt, the tram was right out the front and it was 10 minutes to the heart of Melbourne!
Then Emily offered to see if my room was ready! I explained i didnt expect that and only wanted parking advice and that i knew it was way too early to check in...but she insisted (amazing!) and even rang room service...it turns out they had just finished my allocated room and i was in.........AT 11.30 in the morning!! Never has this happened to me before...i was so impressed..THEN SHE SUGGESTED I MAY WANT A LATER CHECKOUT AS I WAS TRAVELLING WITH A 6 YEAR OLD AND MADE MY CHECKOUT TIME 12.00 THE NEXT DAY....
The room was amazing and very well decorated and had everything you could ever need...pure indulgance at a bargain price.
We got the bed and breakfast package and had an awesome and beautifully cooked breakfast in the restuarant downstairs called BAKINI.
Overall we felt very spoilt and well taken care of and felt it was true value for money.
I would highly recommend for a special night in Melbourne. I really felt like a valued customer and have never been so blown away by such amazing service. It was a feeling this single Mum Cranbourne Chic will not forget for a long time. Thank you so much Emily.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel in February while on family vacation with our 9 month old baby for 5 nights. When trying to find a suitable hotel to stay in, we were completely shocked by the sky high prices for hotels in the good locations in Melbourne. This hotel was great value for the money - it was almost new and in a wonderful location. We loved walking, and it was about a 30 min walk from the hotel to the Flinders st station or Federation square (which i suppose is the start of the CBD). Lots of parks/waterfront nearby to enjoy as well - depending on the direction you go.

The good - the staff were amazing, Emily, Vicky etc were really helpful and they looved our little baby, made her feel special every time. She loved to hang out with them too. The room was modern with a loft feel - a bit small, but sufficient for our needs. TV was a nice flat screen with enough good channels that included some movies (we liked to watch a movie at night after along day outside). There was also a nice small balcony off that we also enjoyed even though our view was of the building next door. There is no pool but really good airconditioning in the room.

The tram was right in front although we never used it and there are a number of options for meals nearby (I recommend Nando's for their chicken - was great). There is also a small IGA supermarket nearby.

The bad - I really liked the hotel, but the standard will fall very quickly if they do not make some changes to the bathroom. I found that the toilets are already beginning to look grungy/dirty around the rim - not sure if due to insufficient cleaning or toilet design but my room and the gym toilet had the same problem. The shower area had no glass, but rather a shower curtain that was impractical - already dirty at the bottom and i refused to use it the entire time i was there. I made a note of this to the staff.

The stovetop/kitchenette is a bit too close to the bed, its too easy to empy a pot of food right on the bed of not very careful.

Finally, if the option exists, i would advise to avoid including breakfast at all costs - our rate included breakfast at the attached restaurant which we found to be extremely overpriced (based on menu list), nothing was good for the entire time we tried the food - bacon was burnt, sausages tasted funny, had no idea it was possible to have terrible pancakes but we did (they were bitter), eggs so-so and the juice was not fresh or sweet. The fruit cup was the only thing that was ok (of the menu items we tried).

All in all, I would stay here again if the standard can be maintained and due to the lovely staff, - of course i would not be having the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
588 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
2,774 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#101 of 160 in Melbourne
638 reviews
Bayview On The Park
#144 of 160 in Melbourne
892 reviews
Royce Hotel
#35 of 160 in Melbourne
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra St Kilda Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra St Kilda Road

Property: Mantra St Kilda Road
Address: 568 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra St Kilda Road 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to visit Melbourne for business or pleasure - you won't find anywhere more comfortable and welcoming than the stunning Mantra St Kilda Road. For business visitors our multi-purpose meeting room ticks all of the boxes, and the onsite restaurant and bar, Bakini, offers fine wining, dining and nightcaps until late. Sink into the Exclusive Pillowtop Signature Bedding or relax in the stylish living area with large screen LCD TV with Foxtel. Mantra St. Kilda Road features WiFi and broadband internet, security card key access, private balcony with all round views across Albert Park, business services and of course fully self-contained facilities including a kitchen with full size refrigerator. No matter what is on in Melbourne you are just a tram ride away from The Arts Centre, the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Luna Park and St Kilda Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra St Kilda Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mint Rhapsody Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing