We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Night.”
Review of Little Press & Cellar - CLOSED

Little Press & Cellar
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Really Good Night.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The layout of the dining area has changed since my wifes last visit and she reckons it now works even better. We were greeted warmly and once seated our waitress was really helpful both with wine and food choices. Everything on the menu looked wonderful but we settled on the olives, then the grilled haloumi followed by the shoulder of lamb accompanied by a bean dish. Look, the food was simply outstanding and the lamb was just amazing. This was my wife's third visit to the Little Press ( my first) and I can now understand why she raves about it. Its a must visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Greek? Really?”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

While booking up a series of restaurants for a weekend in Melbourne I included Little Press & Cellar as our Greek night. Well, that's how they categorise it in their advertising. My partner loves Greek food so this was meant to be the highlight for her. She was disappointed. Don't expect to find Moussaka or any of your other traditional Greek fare at this Greek restaurant. Pork Belly perhaps, Souvlaki no.

On arrival we were seated at a table that was wedged into the cutlery trolley. As you'd expect I wasn't happy with that and requested another table. That wasn't well received and the classic "waiter standoff" ensued. Why do restaurants do that? If it's a crap table all your customers will think it's a crap table. Squeezing that last few dollars out of each night shouldn't be more important than having happy diners.

Anyway, we got over that and the rest of the night went OK. Service was average and the food was certainly not what we had expected. It was like a Tapas dinner that just didn't flow. Unfortunately we won't return. There are just so many better options in Melbourne.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic food to share”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Little Press Club in Melbourne is a smart concept. My husband and I were on an impromptu visit to Melbourne and were thinking about dining options. While we could not get a booking at The Press Club, we were lucky to get a table at The Little Press Club.

The Little Press Club is a wine bar/cellar. The food concept is small plates of delicious food for sharing which was reasonably priced. We ordered a starter of octopus and smoked eel in paprika which was divine! It was so good that we were considering ordering a second plate.

For mains we chose pork belly and the barramundi in a broth. The side of roast carrots and pumpkin with a sheep yoghurt dressing was mouth watering and I could have quite happily had it on its own for a main.

The food highlights rose to a crescendo with dessert - apple terrine with an oatmeal crumble and dark chocolate and salty caramel tart.

These beautiful dishes were washed down with a bottle of Grenache and completed with coffee liqueurs.

A must try experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wombat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED & DELIGHTED”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had been so looking forward to going to the Little Press & Cellar and could only get in on a Sunday evening. On arrival we thought wow and were immediately shown to our table. A waiter then came and asked if we want some water and when we said "tap water will do" well that was the last we saw of him! After considerable time we had to call the waitress over (who seemed to be in charge) and ask if we could please order drinks and food. There was no apology for the wait. Anyway the first 3 of the 4 dishes that we ordered turned up and the food was fantastic. When the plates were being cleared and we mentioned that one of the dishes hadn't arrived the waitress told us that is probably because she forgot to order it. Anyway we ordered more food and were blown away - it was seriously delicious tapas. However the service was a real let down - no-one came to refill our wine glasses and then we noticed that our wine bottle had been put on the window sill (no ice bucket in sight) so I got up and retrieve the bottle from the window sill and poured us all another glass of wine. Again when the waitress came over to deliver the food no comment was made about us having to pour our own drinks. We were also not asked if we would like to order another bottle.

Food - FANTASTIC - You must try the chocolate dessert!
Service - EXTREMELY POOR

On my return home to Perth I was going to email Little Press & Cellar but could not find an email address on their website.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family of five (3 teenagers) had a great meal at the Little Press. Sharing plates of food was a great way for the family to share a meal and experience all this restaurant had to offer! All staff were very helpful and accommodating to our needs - had to be gone for a trip to Circus Oz at a certain time. Food was reasonably priced. Good wine list with something for everyone - including mocktail for the 14 year old. Relaxed atmosphere, good coffee. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Press & Cellar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing