We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
169 Drummond Street
Nearby Hotels
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$143
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$284
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$183
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$161
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
$115
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
97
6
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslygon stmelbourne museumother guestsb and bcarlton gardenshome from homequiet roadwonderful hostscentral heatingguest housefaithful dogroyal exhibition buildingguest roomsmodern amenitiesminutes walk awayplace to stayrestaurants and shopping
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 105 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family stayed with Ian (and Daisy) for 3 nights in July, 2013. This was the second B&B we stayed at in Melbourne, and provided a very different experience than Robinson's in the City. In contrast to a typical B & B, Ian provides a continental help-yourself breakfast with yogurt, toast, cereals (including Muesli) and fresh fruit. Vegemite is provided, and 34(?) varieties of teas. Our teenage daughters do not like full cooked breakfasts every day on vacation, and so this worked very well for us.

The help-yourself arrangement also works very well if you are taking early tours, or have early activities that preclude cooked breakfasts...

The rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. (Our only quibble was that there was no shampoo, but no big deal).

The location of the B&B is superb - walking distance to a huge variety of shops and restaurants, free city shuttle and tram services that circle the downtown area.

Ian is..well...Ian. He is playful and fun, and provides a restful B & B experience.

The website for 169 belies how spacious the rooms are. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg_Lazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Melbourne. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and furnished beautifully. Ian was a wonderful host, friendly and helpful! Great location too, walking distance to the CBD area, the free city shuttle, the trams and trains, the famous Lygon Street etc. I liked that Ian provided food at anytime of the day. So when you're hungry in the middle of the night, you could just have some midnight snack in the dining! Had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and will definitely stay there again when I'm back in Melbourne!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a delightful place to stay in Carlton, Melbourne. The rooms are spotless and furnished beautifully. Ian the owner is friendly, helpful and provides a real home from home. I really liked the way you made your own breakfast from his larder/pantry. It's located near the buses and trams, so easy to get into the city. Food - Italian and more! It's situated a stones throw from the cafe district in Carlton. Just everyone is catered for here. I would highly recommend this establishment for people that enjoy quality.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanJ3053, Owner at 169 Drummond Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. Daisy is asleep now I will tell her in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As others have said this is a perfectly located central guesthouse with excellent facilities. What will strike you is the warm and relaxed welcome, and the friendly atmosphere which pervades the whole establishment. This all comes from Daisy of course, but I sensed Ian just might have a bit to do with it too :-)

I stayed for four nights in what was my first visit to Melbourne. Staying at 169 Drummond Street was a real bonus. The rooms are well-appointed with excellent en suite facilities and scrupulously clean. The help-yourself breakfast and coffee service made eating very relaxing as there were no time pressures at all. Ian is on hand to give you great advice on where to eat. With so many local restaurants round the corner this local knowledge was extremely helpful.

It was just so much fun being at 169 and meeting the other guests round the dining table in the evening, added to by Ian's fast and witty quips and stories. It really did feel like a home-from-home.

So, many, many thanks Ian and Daisy for making my visit to Melbourne so happily memorable. I do hope our paths will cross again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Perfectly located a little north of the city centre and a five minute walk from dozens of restaurants, this quiet and simple place had comfortable beds, air conditioning, help-yourself breakfasts (cereal, toast, jam, yogurt, fruit, tea, coffee, cookies). It has a good assortment of local magazines and guides to the area and the proprietor offers helpful, opinionated advice on what to see and where to eat. Daisy, the small elderly dog, was friendly and quiet. Our room had two large windows (which opened to a street-front balcony) a compact well-designed bathroom and a small flat screen tv. Internet access available for $6 per day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccvvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews