We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for Sports fans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Sports Tours

Melbourne Sports Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.32*
and up
Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne
Ranked #68 of 240 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne Sports Tours offer interactive and fun guided tours of Melbourne and its sporting culture. Tours include Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne incorporating Melbourne Cricket Ground Tours (Behind the scnese of the MCG), National SPorts Museum, Rod Laver Arena Tours (Behind the scenes of The Australian Open Tennis Championships), Flemington Racecourse (Home of The Melbourne Cup) and many options including PLay Tennis, CUB Brewery, Eureka SkyDeck.. Horses, Wine & Beer Tour - Relax and let our tour host drive while you enjoy the view and a few... Meet famous horses and enjoy morning tea in the historic homestead at ‘Living Legends’; a Parks Victoria retirement village for our favourite retired Champion racehorses. Enjoy lunch and wine tastings at Gisborne Peak and beer tastings at the Holgate Brewery in Woodend. AUSSIE RULES FOOTBALL with a local host Your local host will explain all the rules, bumps and bruises of our unique game during this private tour experience enjoying the best seats in the house. Meat Pie, Beer, Competitions, Club Scarf, Club Songs, Rules Sheet, Football Souvenir Record included at The MCG or Etihad Stadium. Private Tour for 1 to 100 people. Ask about a skills coaching session; learn to handball, kick, mark
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must for Sports fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is one of the best sports tours I have ever done-Flemington Race track, Ehtiad Stadium, Rod Laver arena, MCG and the Australian Sports museum. The guide was fanatstic and highly knolwedgable. Lunch ovelooking the playing arena at Ehtiad included

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Experience like no-Other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The day started out with a trip To Flemington race course. Now the "old saying" "Everything Starts Off With A Bang " it surely did with us . We came accross a gentleman With white gloves on holding what seemed to me as a trophy of some kind.The closer we got the more we became aware that it was indeed the 2013 Melbourne Cup. My wife asked if we could get a photo. His reply was of course you can here would you like to hold $175,000 and the rest is history as I could not stop talking about it the Whole trip.
Simon is an absolute Gem. What he does not know about World Sport aint worrying about .
Great insight to all Sport in the Home of Sport within AUSTRALIA. Melbourne

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneSportsTours, Front Office Manager at Melbourne Sports Tours, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi Bartz 33,
Wow what an experience you had - "The" Melbourne Cup! Fantastic.
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate when all of our guests take the time to acknowledge our tour and our great hosts.
Please come and join us again when you are next in Melbourne, maybe you could come on our Horses Wine & Beer Tour and get up and personal with the actual race horses.
Cheers
Melbourne Sports Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sports Lovers Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did the Sports and Beer Lovers Tour today with Simon. It was definitely the ultimate experience! Don't have to be a sports or beer lover as Simon was fantastic, knows his stuff, and going from a to b you do see quite a bit of Melbourne. Can't recommend this tour and Simon as your tour guide highly enough!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Sports Tragic dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Leave the traffic and organisation to Simon, sit back and enjoy the ride. Informative and quite passionate about his job, a lot of background detail is provided as you travel around the many venues Melbourne has to offer. The company is happy to tailor the tours, where possible, to meet the needs and wishes of their clients. A diverse and enjoyable trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Insight of the Melbourne Sporting Meccas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Absolute great day out, Flemington was good, the MCG tour was sensational, we then did a lap of Albert Park and Eithad stadium for lunch. Wasn't a bad way to finish off the tour and a Friday with a trip to the Carlton and United Brewery, even though not a lot happening there due to maintenance the samples made up for it. Our tour guide Simon was a great bloke, very friendly, interacted well and gave us a great insight into the tour and sport.(also barracks for a great team). Just not sure of Simon fancy dress for that night at the darts hahaha.
Great value for money and could recommend to anyone.
Grant - Horsham (Country Victoria)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Sports Tours also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Sports Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing