We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VG pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of va bene pizzeria - CLOSED

va bene pizzeria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Docklands
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“VG pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great atmosphere, shared table benches, staff lovely, pizza big enough for two.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kags44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Perfect Va Bene Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Where to start? Va Bene gave us the wedding of our dreams!

Monica, 'AJ', Marissa & their amazing team have a magic formula - serving beautiful Italian food from a renovated boatshed on the old Melbourne Docks, looking out across the water towards Etihad Stadium and Melbourne's city skyline.

The vibe is friendly and relaxed - with attentive service, cool music, an amazing menu and a winelist to match. The kitchen is open so you can see the meals being prepared before you and savour the incredible smells too. The dining tables are large wooden bench tables, which suit the dockside theme, and are reminiscent of a garden setting in Tuscany. The decor is brilliant - large sliding doors have been retained from the original shed, modern lighting and Vespa scooters. It all works perfectly!

We had been looking for a while for a wedding venue and fell in love with Va Bene from the moment we walked in. Monica helped us with our planning and even suggested our florist - Flowers Vasette and entertainment Angela Librandi - which were fantastic. We especially loved the idea of being married in a place called 'Va Bene' which is Italian for 'It's all good'!

Monica decorated the restaurant beautifully for our wedding service. When we walked in and saw the stunning flowers, the huge roller-door lit by candle light, all our friends and Simply Red's 'The Air That I Breathe' playing - it took our breath away. It was magical!

The photography around the Docklands was fantastic - we had a lovely calm autumn day and captured stunning reflections across the water at night.

Every course of the meals were amazing - they had passion & home-made love! Our guests were completely blown away by the menu.

For entertainment we had Angela Librandi and her keyboard player Aaron during dinner. Their set of R&B, Groove and Jazz standards was perfect - nice & chilled. Monica's husband & co-owner 'AJ' acted as MC for the night which was a masterstroke. His years of experience from the music industry, had the crowd eat out of his hands! After dinner we had La Rumba - a four-piece Flamenco band, to dance to. They too were awesome. It all worked - a wedding service, reception and photography in the one place.

We wanted an evening filled with 'Love, Laughter, Family & Friends'. With Va Bene - we were family!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous service and lovely authentic Italian food in a fun environment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We had a late lunch (2pm) here after the Easter five day long weekend and it was deserted. There was no garlic bread on the menu (it's one of my four year olds favourite foods) so instead, the pizza chef whipped Joel up his own individual garlic bread/pizza whilst we had the Gamberoni pizza. Both were perfectly cooked, followed by great gelato and coffee.
Service was fantastic. We were treated like old friends. Thank you Monica!
Va Bene is in an old boatshed on Central Pier at docklands and it would really make a great place for a private function...or a large group of friends. The kitchen is completely open to the dining area so it's very informal. There's also outdoor dining which would better suit those desiring greater privacy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeladyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza, Nice Fitout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Good value quality pizza. There are better pizzas out there, but not in Docklands. My companions enjoyed their pasta, and the chocolate mousse oozed calories. Good lunch time option for those at Docklands.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExoticLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed va bene pizzeria also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing