We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cosy place for a great dinner”

Affogato Espresso Bar
Ranked #15 of 119 Coffee & Tea in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Affogato Espresso Bar is a quirky little Cafe situated in iconic Hardware Lane with alfresco dining. The cafe has a delicious modern Australian menu, welcoming atmosphere, friendly service and this makes it the perfect choice for breakfast, brunch or lunch with many Gluten Free and Vegetarian options available. If you're in for a sweet treat, why not try our delicious Waffles and Pancakes or our popular Gluten Free Muffins, Brownies & Cakes all made on the premises!!
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very cosy place for a great dinner”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Enjoyed a great dinner in this very cosy spot. The orange chicken salad was very enjoyable. Washed down with a lovely bottle of wine. The staff were excellent and the service was attentive and efficient. Enjoyed the art deco tea service collections and the "crazy" dinner settings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KampervanKapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Marvelous little place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I just had lunch here with our little girl and it's unfortunate that we only found it now at the end of our stay in MEL as we'd have been back for SURE! Fantastically friendly and very accommodating service, lovely ambiance... my husband loved his coffee... we both LOVED the prosciutto and grilled capsicum pizza and asked for a second! I was surprised to see anyone say anything remotely negative about this place and in response to those who did... yes, it's a bit cramped and yes, the tables are a touch on the small side but that's the same as most coffee bars and cafes in the business district. If these places are going to survive their astronomical rents and are going to continue serving good coffee and good food, they have to fit as many tables in as possible. I find this adds to the character of these places. Also, this is not the sort of place you go to for 'flavors' of coffee... if you're a Starbucks coffee drinker, you either won't like this or you'll be very pleasantly surprised that 'real' coffee can be so good!!
Oh yes, and they have a chocolate brownie to die for!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mercedes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a late lunch on a Tuesday. The service was friendly and quick, my chicken pie was delicious, his burger better than many we get in Texas, nice glass of wine to wash it down, and the fun of people watching in Hardware Lane. Nice experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Approach with caution”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited Affogato due to excellent reviews in TripAdvisor. Sorry to say the service was patchy and coffee burnt. Lively lane way setting saved the experience - just.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezLouieLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Lunch - Frenetic Pace”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had lunch on a Thursday just before 2pm. Lucky to get the only available table. Very popular.
Quick turnover of available space. Service quick, friendly and efficient. Coffee was great, probably the best of our week in Melbourne. We enjoyed our chickpea patties and tandoori chicken borek. Food was very fresh and well presented. By the time we had finished most of the lunch crowd had gone back to work. Enjoyed the quirky teapots, other old stuff and the oldstyle Coke bottles.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Affogato Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Affogato Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing