We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good location, simple furnishings, clean space.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Ranked #22 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good location, simple furnishings, clean space.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

A family of 5 of us recently stayed in the Melbourne Short Stay at Southbank One for a week in the Soho 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. The location is very good. A block away from the Crown Casino and the Yarra River, it is easy to access the CBD and Flinders Station. Although the restaurants right around the hotel did not seem enticing, we found it easy to walk to CBD, Docklands. In the mornings, however, a few very good places for breakfast were notable. Also, 2 different tram lines were within two blocks, and very easy to access.
The small grocery store at the base of the building was well stocked, open late hours, and incredibly close (just next door).
The room was clean, and well appointed, but that's it. Although it wasn't luxurious, it certainly served our needs of having a clean safe place to stay where we were able to sleep and rest well.
Very good for families with kids, it's not in the hustle and bustle of the CBD, yet it is very easy to access the CBD and the trams.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Baek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Baek K,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the location of our property and its easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart Skeggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    86
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
87
45
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Apartment was generally spacious and well equipped.
Carpark was linked directly to the apartment, which was a big plus. Convenience store located in the building, so it was easy to buy breakfast, coffee, juice etc.

What i didn't like :
- Check in process. Followed instructions and called before reaching. I went to the office (opp of the road) and was told the staff is waiting at the lobby. Headed over to the lobby and the staff was not there. Had to ring and wait... which wasn't very efficient.

- The door lock! was warned by the staff that the door doesn't auto-lock. But it was really a pain having to lock the door with the key from inside the apartment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear CZY,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your apartment to be spacious, well-equipped and convenient. Thank you for your comments regarding your personalised check-in, we will ensure we review the procedure with our team.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We made a group booking (2 apartments). Upon checking in we were given our room keys to be informed we were located on two different floors. We queried this as it was on one online booking. We were told by the staff there was nothing they could do and we were lucky we were in the same tower!! We were then told we could have been placed further apart and should be happy we were only 5 floors apart. Being on level 12 and 17 this really affected our long awaited long weekend away with friends. One room was upgraded to a 2 bath/2br room with views and the other had 1bath/2br. It was disappointing to have one half of our travelling group upgraded over the other also. The rooms were sufficient for the stay. The bathrooms were of reasonable size. The kitchen was functional. The laundry cupboard would have been useful if our stay had been longer. Floor 12 had a consistent odour (from people cooking it was assumed) The concierge at our tower was helpful when queried regarding local transport etc. The location was ideal and we were able to get around the city very easy (once we worked out the trams) Probably wouldn't book again but would look for something in the same area when we go again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear AmandaC828,

Thanks for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property.. We honestly value the feedback as it helps us make improvements to our customer service policies and procedures to ensure your experience with us is the best it can be.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not receive the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I appreciate your feedback about both your apartments being allocated on different floors. Where possible we try and allocate apartments on the same floors, however sometimes this is not achievable. I understand this could have caused some inconvenience and frustration during your stay with us. Similar to one of your apartments being upgraded, and not the other. Your feedback regarding your concern will be discussed with our Customer Service Office and will be used in our up-coming training sessions and in the on-going development of our customer service team.

We are pleased that you found the location of the property to be ideal for your weekend away and that the apartments generally met your standards.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for 5 nights in a 2brm, 2 bathroom apartment with our 3 and 5 yo. We had a good view and the location was perfect walking distance to Southbank. Room was clean and well appointed and we had booked a carbay for our car hire. We had apartment 1700 and it was nice and quiet on this floor from Tues-Thur, but come fri night it changed and unfort we had thumping music from 11pm - 3am - not fun when you are up at 5am with kids. There was some delay in checking in as you need to wait for a MSSA staff member to meet you at the apartment as they are not on site. So it took 2 phone calls for someone to arrive, but upon arrival she was very helpful and even helped me with all the baggage while my husband had to move the car off the street before we were fined. Just some small changes could make the stay even better - like more kitchen supplies such as dishwasher powder and washing liquid. We requested some more twice but they never arrived. Essential when you have small children and are using the cooking facilities. Putting on proper doña covers instead of a sheet and not having a circuit board inside the bedroom door - which had a constant buzz coming from it. Not a large issue until it is all quiet at night time. On the last day when leaving to go to the airport our son accidentally dropped the remote and keys to carpark down the lift shaft. After hours security arrived very quickly to assist us to get out thankfully as we had a flight to catch... but unfortunately no sympathy in what was an accident and we've received a very steep charge to replace the keys :( Overall it was a good and I'd recommend it to other families and I'd prob stay again, mostly because of the location and apartment facilities which suits our family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank atravellingparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear atravellingparent,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent stay at our Southbank One property. We really appreciate hearing from you as it helps us continue to improve your guest experience.

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed the fantastic location of our Southbank One property, and had some great views from the 17th Floor.

I appreciate your feedback and the suggestions you mentioned that would help improve our guests experience even further. I apologise that my staff did not provide you with some more kitchen supplies, this would have surely come in handy whilst you were using the apartment facilities. The circuit board should not make a buzzing sound, so we will investigate this issue further and rectify immediately if required.

In relation to the incident with the keys and car park remote, accidents certainly do happen. We try to absorb as much cost as we can when incidents like these do occur, however due to the expense in replacing keys, the security tag and the car park remote, some of these costs do get passed onto our guests.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to host you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location was a couple of minute walk from Crown Casino. There was a grocery store at the bottom so we could shop for food etc.

Our apartment was amazing. The views were fantastic. Our apartment was clean, spacious and a wonderful place to unwind after a long day wandering around the city.

Thanks for a wonderful stay. I would recommend you to anyone that wants a home away from home..... with breathtaking views!!!

Room Tip: We were in a three bedroom apartment ..... 2902. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Tania H,

Wow! Thank you for providing a glowing five star review of your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to SouthbankONE. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback; it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so thrilled to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found your apartment provided a home-away-from-home for you and that you enjoyed our great location.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights when we returned from Philip Island. Compared to the other apartment which we stayed in when we first touched down, this was much better!

Location - again it's easy to locate given we self drove and had GPS to assist us. Check in office was just across the road so very convenient. Just below the apartment, there's a supermarket which is super convenient if you need to purchase any groceries. A very short walk to Crown casino, great location for those who want a go at the machines!

Apartment - got a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. Great space, everything was in good working condition. Clean and quite new as well. Well equipped with toiletries and lots of towels for our family of 5. The heater in the unit was sufficient to keep the apartment warmly comfortable. 2 sets of keys were given so very convenient for our family who had different itineraries during our stay. Hubby even visited the well equipped gym!

Minus - no free wifi :(

In general, we enjoyed our stay. Unless you are going to the casino, staying nearer to Chinatown side might be more interesting though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Deborahyuen,

Thanks for writing a review following your stay with us at SouthbankONE this June. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your apartment provided all the space you needed for your family of 5.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed in many apartments in Melbourne, this one is within our expectation. It's at a good location, very near to Coles supermarket and a 10mins walk to Crown Casino. The apartment is clean and has whatever we need. Service at the reception was good and they agreed to our request of early check in and late check out.
The only 2 things we wished were better: The lift and the carpark. One of the lifts is always under maintenance and the wait during peak hours can be really frustrating. The carpark is really tight and again during peak hours, it will take us a while to get to our lot.
Overall, still a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leshel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear CuteFroggy,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,834 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#43 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Address: 180 City Rd | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing