We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Ranked #26 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, great service”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed there last week (Sept 2013) and were really pleased with our apartment which was on the 19th floor, facing south. We had a bad start at another hotel and were very fortunate to get in at this one - a great effort on behalf of the 'Short stay' team to squeeze us in for the 6 days at short notice. The apartment seemed very fresh and new, all new appliances & furniture, and everything was squeaky clean. The plus for us was having a balcony for some fresh air, and also the swimming pool facility on the 8th floor.The location is great - a short walk to Southbank with all it's cafes, Restaurants and easy walking to the CBD. The only downside - there always has to be something I guess - was for me a slightly too firm bed, although my ( a bit fussy !) wife found it good, and slept better than usual ! Traffic noise was minimal. Overall , I can thourougly recommend these apartments and will definately put them at the top of the list if we return.

Room Tip: the 19th floor facing south was reasonably quiet, and north-facing may be quieter still
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Bob D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay with us in September. We love hearing from our guests because it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

It was our absolute pleasure to accommodate you for the duration of your Melbourne visit and are thrilled to hear that you had a five star stay with us! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our close proximity to Southbank promenade and its cafes and restaurants, plus the short walk across the river into the CBD. While the bed was a wee bit firm for you, it's great to hear that your wife slept so well and that you found the double-glazed windows and doors to be effective in keeping ambient noise at a minimum.

Bob D, we look forward to welcoming you back to SoutbankOne on your next trip to Melbourne and thank you again for taking the time to leave such a glowing review.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    95
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
100
52
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne takes up a few floors of a resident apartment building. The apartment was wonderful! It had two bedrooms, a washer and dryer, a 6-person dining table, and a fully outfitted kitchen with a dishwasher.

The floor to ceiling windows in each room gave a stunning view of the city, and was a great touch! There is wired or wired Internet available for a reasonable daily or weekly fee, too. I did not use the car park, but there is an option for that, too.

The staff at the Short Stay office was friendly and informative. They were helpful whenever I had a question. This apartment was two blocks from the riverwalk and a short walk over the river to downtown Melbourne.

The price of the Short Stay was less than that of the conference hotel, and I loved being able to cook for myself during the week.

Room Tip: Mine was at the end of the hallway, so there was only one person next to me. There was little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this apartment. And we felt right at home.

The place is walking distance to the Casino, and the tram into the city is very near. There are some shops nearby but be expected to pay more than usual.

The apartment itself was spacious and clean. The kitchen was nice and actually made me feel like cooking! There was a separate dining and living area so we could really spread out our things.

We had the 2 bedrooms and each one had a queen sized bed. Surprisingly the kids didn't fight or complain about having to share a queen bed. There were 2 bathrooms, so that was also nice. However the toiletries provided was definitely not going to last 4 people for 4 nights. The TV seemed small for such a large living space, but it was good enough.

There was a swimming pool but the kids only went once. It was a functional lap pool.

We needed to do laundry and was thrilled to see that even the laundry powder was provided. However, the dryer made a really horrible screeching noise that could not be contained by shutting the door. So we left the apartment for a long dinner and made sure we came back AFTER the dryer had stopped.

Yes the concierge was across the street and we had to trundle over there with the luggage to check out. But they were really nice and hung on to our luggage till the SkyBus came to get us.

In some ways, it felt like a home :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CHKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The 4 of us shared a 2-room apt for 4 nights at 183 City Rd, Southbank. Walking to Flinders Station or Chinatown or Melb Central was not difficult and the distance is alright with the good weather. The rooms were abit cold in the night with the only a central air-conditioning/heater unit in the living room. We booked thru tripadvisor during the free-wifi promo but was not reflected in our booking upon arrival. The service staff took the effort to check with her manager and we were often free wifi thereafter. Great service at all times cos we were guided well when we experienced trouble operating the washing machine etc.

I have to agree that cleaning might be needed after 2 days, especially if you cook in the apt but they do provide the necessary washing liquid and cloths for cleaning. Required slight discipline in maintaining the apartment. The rubbish chute is outside the apt hence can clear your rubbish daily too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have just stayed here for 6 days and it is basic. Apartment is only serviced after 7 days we were told when beds were not made, no clean towels and rubbish not taken away.after 2 days!! These apartments are NOT SERVICED daily. Beds uncomfortable. You have to check in across the road and then cross back over the road to get to the apartment. Much better value elsewhere. Door has to be locked by a key..from inside..ridiculous if there is a fire. Could not believe former reviews. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Monroe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Monroe222,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. It is through this information that we can continue to improve our guests' experience.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Firstly, I sincerely apologise that you did not receive your personalised check-in on arrival, this is a service we are proud to offer our SouthbankONE guests and are delighted to hear so many positive reviews about on TripAdvisor. As stated on your booking confirmation, we request that you phone us 10 minutes prior to your arrival at the building so that we can ensure a member of our team is ready and waiting to greet you at the front door. We are always reviewing our procedures, so I will discuss this with our team.

Our guests' safety and security is of paramount concern to us, so we thank you for making note of our door locks. We provide two sets of keys to our guests and recommend you leave one set in the door for your convenience; this point is communicated by our staff on check-in and via a sign mounted to each apartment's front door directly above the lock. As our apartments are located in a residential apartment tower, our doors do not automatically lock on closing like a hotel room. We certainly value your feedback on this topic and will ensure that this becomes our team's training topic of the month.

In regards to servicing your apartment, as you mentioned, we provide a complimentary servicing every 7 days from the date you arrive. We clearly state this on your booking confirmation and in the frequently asked questions section on our website. We are more than happy to arrange additional servicing during your stay should you require it. There is an additional cost associated with this. Some of our apartment categories, such as our Suites and Sohos do come with complimentary daily servicing. Our self-contained apartments feature washer/dryers and we encourage our guests to utilise these should you need to refresh linen between services.

Once again, we thank you for writing your review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Kind regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed there with hubby and two young kids (2 & 4).
Great location - we caught the skybus from Melbourne airport into Southern Cross station then walked to the hotel....took about 20 minutes at toddler pace to walk there.
During our stay we walked to Flinders St Station (about 8 minutes walk) for trams and trains, & Southbank (food) was even closer.
Great supermarket downstairs with decently priced groceries, essentials & liquor.
Didn't think to ask for a room with a bath....so were allocated one with only a shower (low water pressure with two young kids was not a great combination!). We were advised that they do have rooms with baths but we needed to ask for one before we arrived.
There was some ambient noise from traffic from the window seals....& the exhaust fan from the bathroom was really noisy & stayed on for 5 minutes after the lights were turned out...but the balcony door was key lockable so the kids were pretty safe (although there were no locks on the windows).
There is a heated pool which was nice for the kids....open 6am - 10pm.
Cable tv channels are very limited (most of the kids channels were blocked in our room).
We took our own internet wifi, which was a blessing as theirs was quite pricey.
Accommodation providers don't liaise with the concierge...you have to pick up the keys etc from across the road & about 200m up...not too bad unless you have an issue. Make sure you pick up at least two sets of keys as one has to stay in the unit for lighting etc. Also make sure you manually lock the door when you're inside the apartment as the door stays unlocked after you enter.
Apartment itself was nice. Definitely byo shampoo though! lol!
Very clean and had everything we need (once we put the breakables out of the kids' reach!)
Overall - decent value for money...good location...plenty of space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't fault anything about these apartments. The personalised check-in was fabulous and parking cheap for the city. The size, cleanliness and proximity of the apartments to Southbank and the city was great. The gym was the best I have ever seen in this type of accomodation and the pool was wonderful as well. The beds were also extremely comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaWHenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 160 in Melbourne
452 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#71 of 160 in Melbourne
175 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#48 of 160 in Melbourne
889 reviews
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Power Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Address: 180 City Rd | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing