We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Food with Good Value”

Ghin Khao Thai Food
Ranked #2,005 of 4,419 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been to this Thai food for few times. The food tastes good and fairly authentic. All my friends who dined with me at various times also enjoyed the food. It has a fairy extensive menu and they have recently changed the menu by adding few new dishes and the menu is now bigger in size :-) The portion of the dish is fairly big and if you are not a big eater, you can share the main or the dish that comes with rice. It has a good selection of salad, soups, noodles, rice, stir fry and curry dishes. The slight let down is on the drink menu, many of the drinks are not available and if they do, mostly from the canned drink. Other than that, we enjoyed the food and service is fast. It can be fairly crowded since it is a popular eating place. If you want a good value and tasty Thai food, this is a must to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_242_ghinkhao, Manager at Ghin Khao Thai Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Dear Rose D,
So nice to read your positive review for Ghin Khao Thai restaurant Melbourne. This will be passed on to our staff. We value customer feedback and are always looking to improve the dining experience. Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon. :) :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is nothing from the street. You could walk past without even a glance as it looks tiny.. But it is wicked! I have been here now over a dozen times and each time the food is more wonderful! Curry puffs or satay chicken to start are awesome followed by a Duck Red Thai curry that takes your breath away accompanied by light and crispy roti. The soft shell crab is also a huge favourite of mine. Yummo! 10/10
Recommend to all ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I think I had high expectation and was quite disappointed with the restaurant. The food is okay but it is more foodcourt quality, nice for a quick meal and nothing more.

Thank traveller452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were looking for lunch and just walking the streets of Melbourne, it was new years eve, and we wanted to eat before the nights festivities started, when we passed Ghin Khao restaurant. We nearly didnt go in but we thought why not.......well we were not dissappointed. We were greeted by a friendly wait person and taken to our table very clean modern thai setting, so far so good. The waitress came back with cold water and menus, we ordered two Changi beers and they were brought to us promptly, we ordered our meals and sat back and relaxed enjoying the cold beers and cool restaurant as it was 35 deg day in Melbourne outside.
My Thai Grilled Beef Salad (Yum Nuea Yang) arrived and I was pretty impressed, Darrans Chicken with Fresh Basil, Green Beans and Chilli (Gai Phad Bai Kaprow) came and again very impressed. Now the true test came in the tasting and we immediately thought that we were sitting in a restaurant in Thailand, very authentic thai dishes.
The restaurant is run by Thai's and all staff were friendly and attentive, there were even alot of thai people eating at the restaurant which also is a good indication of the level of authenticity of the food.
We will be back to eat at Ghin Khao when we next visit Melbourne, once again thank you for a great lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lushdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_242_ghinkhao, Manager at Ghin Khao Thai Food, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear lushdaz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review here for Ghin Khao Thai Restaurant Melbourne. So glad to hear that you you found the food authentic and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Once again, many thanks for you kind words here, much appreciated and will be passed on to staff. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Flavoursome, quick, tasty Thai right on Swanston St. Good casual lunch joint. Recommend the chiang mai noodles, pad thai, and spicy green papaya salad. Don't expect much in terms of service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_242_ghinkhao, Manager at Ghin Khao Thai Food, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thanks so much Ling L for the review of Ghin Khao here in tripadvisor. Very much appreciated and hope to see you soon. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghin Khao Thai Food also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ghin Khao Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing