We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect spot to experience Melbourne”
other traveler has booked this property
BAY VIEWS TERRACE
dine alfresco and enjoy the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BAY VIEWS TERRACE
dine alfresco and enjoy the views
BAY VIEWS TERRACE LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
BAY VIEWS TERRACE
dine alfresco and enjoy the views
BAY VIEWS TERRACE
LOUNGE
LOUNGE
BAY VIEWS TERRACE
DINNING
KITCHEN
LOUNGE
LIVING
BEDROOM WITH BAY VIEWS
VIEW FROM BED
BATHROOM
SHOWER
TERRACE
Cafe on Acland street
YOUR COMPLEX BELOW
ST KILDA BEACH
BOTANCIAL GARDENS NEARBY
FOYER
BAY VIEW THE TERRACE
BAY VIEW THE TERRACE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Melbourne, Victoria

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RRIES
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed in quality & Standard of apt”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From previous reviews and information on website we were really looking forward to staying in this apt but were left feeling somewhat disappointed.
When we arrived we felt that the standard of cleanliness left a lot to be desired - there was no attention to detail. Some of the cutlery and glasses were not clean, dust/fluff balls under kitchen table/chairs and bed and previous occupants hairs in the shower and on the bathroom floor - we immediately went to Coles to purchase some cleaning products and gave the place a once-over - not what we would expect to be doing on our trip to Australia.
The apt informations states there is wi-fi but does not mention that this is not free andthat it is supplied by a dongle - this information is only given when directions etc are sent. Not being technical I was unaware that this required us to purchase internet access, but there were no details of what or where this could be done in the information sent by the owner, nor in the handbook in the apt. For any future occupants, this can be done at the Vodafone shop in the Acland Court centre.
There was a distinct lack of information for tourists in the apt - we have stayed in many properties around the world and there is normally a supply of leaflets etc.
A welcome pack of milk,bread etc would have been useful and is normally provided in rental apts but the main issue I have is that there was neither a call nor a visit from either the owner or representative to ensure all was well. I accept that we could have contacted them, but given that we had no internet access or telephone initially, this was not an option for us.
Although we do not spend our holidays cooking, the fact that there was only 1 saucepan, 1 frying pan, 1 small oven tray and no storage containers restricted what we were able to do - also ice packs/cool box would have been useful.
The apt information should advise that there is extensive street noise due to the amount of cafes and bars around the apt and at times this could be very noisy - the only plus point we felt with the apt was the close proximity to buses and trams to the city.
Overall we did not allow these issues to affect our time spent in the Melbourne area but would need to say that we would not recommend this apt to anyone considering staying in St Kilda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: public transport close-by
Liked least: quality, cleanliness and no facilities provided
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

When your sister-in-law emailed us to say that you were experiencing difficulty with your internet access, we believed that it was a reset issue, and thus advised what steps were necessary to rectify this.

We also advised that if that did not work you or you were unable to do a reset, then you could contact the Vodaphone shop in the lobby as they would help you. As you did not contact us again we we assumed that the problem had been resolved, and we had no means of getting in touch with you.

As a rule we do not provide welcome packs, but there is a supermarket and coffee shops below in the lobby so it is easy for guests to stock up on provisions.

We do provide a full kitchen with microwave, dishwasher , fridge, stove and oven but our guests mainly eat out as we are surrounded by hundreds of cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Additionally, we do not have a large pantry,so we cannot store many utensils such as pots and pans etc.


Quiet ambiance.
When the doors are closed there is virtually no street noise as we are on the 4 th. level above street level. Also the apartments are well insulated which means that we do not noise from adjacent neighbours. The large terrace does get some street noise but it is not excessive and given that you are in the heart of St Kilda it is only to be expected.


All in all we are terribly disappointed that you did not contact us as we could, and would have, resolved your internet access, and saved you a lot of frustration.

We believe that we offer a great service and a beautiful apartment, as you can see from the photos and from our previous guest reviews, and we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyoung
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to experience Melbourne”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

When we first looked at places in Melbourne, we considered central city, to be 'in the hub'. Now we are very pleased we went to St Kilda - can go into the city very easily, but nice to come 'home'.
Bayview is 20m away from groceries,100m away from great shopping street and trams, and 5 min walk from beach, so perfectly located.
The outside and lift look a bit 'dodgy' but inside is open, spacious and has all the conveniences.
Place kept very clean and queries handled promptly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - handy to beach Ackland St (funky shopping / eating area)
Liked least: The outside and lift area is pretty unwelcoming, but once inside its much nicer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2012
Hi Don & Michelle,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post a review of "Bay Views - St Kilda".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike7Riya...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 6, 2012 for a stay in April 2010

Fantastic location in St Kilda. Even though it is very central, it is also very quiet. Well appointed furnished apartment with a great balcony looking out over St Kilda. This is a great alternative to staying in a hotel. It felt like home away from home. I have already recommended this place to friends who have now stayed here as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location above Coles on Acland Street
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB, CANADA
Reviewed January 13, 2011 for a stay in July 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed January 13, 2011 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Reviewed January 10, 2011 for a stay in May 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed January 9, 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$134
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing