We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and friendly hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home at The Mansion
Ranked #48 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights.
Easy to find (free city circle tram to Vic Parade) and a warm friendly welcome when we got there.
Room was basic but very clean. Was noisy at rush hour times due to the room overlooking the road but we had earplugs so not a problem. Hostel was quiet with no loud parties (quiet policy after 23:00)
Plenty of shower rooms and toilets which were always clean.
Kitchen a bit small and got busy but otherwise a great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab3b4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Home at The Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was clean, fresh linen is on the bed (1 fitted sheet, 1 pillowcase + pillow and 1 doona cover + doona) for you to make up your bed. Whilst the mattress was comfy, the pillow was very flimsy. There are heaters in the room for the colder nights. Rooms are adequately sized, there is a sink in the corner and a small locker at the foot of the bunk beds (BYO lock). Showers and toilets (separate) are located at the end of the corridors and are clean (but the bath mats get a bit squelchy and gross after many people have used the shower). Towels are available to rent for $4 (probably a bit exxy for only a few nights)

My only issues were with the noise from the traffic. It's in a great location, right next to the free tram and trams that go to Brunswick and Chapel St, but staying on the bottom floor you can hear everything. I bought a pair of earplugs from the local chemist after the first night of little sleep.

Kitchens are good, little fridge space, bean bag rooms, people are friendly, wi-fi isn't free sadly ($3/hr) but it was an otherwise great choice for our long weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddess_livvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and i went travelling in Jan for 6 weeks (Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, LA) and this was by far the most friendly, cleanest place we stayed in. When we arrived, the staff were great, very friendly! Our room wasnt ready so we were told to go to the Kitchen area and make ourselves feel at home (free tea!!) while the man at reception made our beds. We were staying in the room next to reception so was concerned about noise... No problems at all!. Our 6 bed mixed dorm had a sink/tv which was really handy and the toilets/showers were in private cubicles which was nice to have some privacy (something you wont get if you stay at Hotel Discovery). Never had to wait for a shower either.

They made a real effort to get everyone together with wine and cheese nights and were very helpful when asking questions about transport, local shops, events etc. They gave us a map on arrival too. Stayed here 5 nights as enjoyed it alot! Staff and other lodgers were lovely! Everyone had respect for each other which avoided the dramas of sex in dorm rooms, people drying there hair at 3am in your room (something we didnt realise we were yet to experience at other hostels!)

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept' 12. I paid $26/night for 6 bed room. The rooms were kind of cramped when everyone was in them and had luggage beside the beds, but it was manageable. The bathrooms on the top floor are huge, stay there if you can. The location is great, right on the edge of the CBD and Fitzroy. Staff was helpful. I would definitelty recommend this place.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are next to big bathrooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the dorm room.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

The kitchen was reasonable but fridges and shelves were full to bursting and the place wasn't even fully booked! Not much room to sit and eat in the kitchen/dining area.

The social areas were rather sparse - very small and not particularly inviting.

The longterm residents were not very friendly at all, and this wasn't conducive to making friends/being social as you would expect at a backpackers hostel - some were so unfriendly as to not respond when we said 'hi'. This was unfortunate and we disappointed to be woken every morning when a longterm resident's alarm went off multiple times between 5.30 - 6.30am despite her not getting out of bed until after 9 (and being asked to turn it off several times). I understand that this is not the fault of the hostel though perhaps long term residents could be grouped into one room. Bring earplugs!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kared13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeMansion, Owner at Home at The Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback on our staff and the cleanliness of the hostel.
We clean out our fridges and shelves regularly so there should be no reason why there was not enough space for your food bags.

We are a small hostel with just 96 guests at full capacity, so our communal areas may seem smaller than the average hostel, however we still have two TV areas and a large outdoor area, which we are updating continuously. Just this week we have made large improvements to one of our TV areas.

I'm really disappointed that you found some guests to be not so welcoming. On the whole we have really friendly guests and get a lot of comments and how pleasant the environment is. I can see how an alarm going off continuously might be very annoying however this might be the fault of any short or long term guest.

We wish you all the best on your travels :-)

Kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Place was in an okay location, though getting there from airport was a bit trickey since it is hard to navigate trams without a metro card, and airport shuttle discussed on this web site that goes door to door did not exist at least at intl terminal. My biggest issue was there is no real common area except by stairwells making it not very cozy and easy to meet others. Also staff was nice but really didn't have very good knowledge of local area information. Timers in shower area go out to fast. Lastly, beware bunk beds squeak and shake. 4 of 6 days I stayed here a water bottle fell on me in middle of night from above. Also, the 11 pm quiet hour is not enforced of respected. Very noisy with walls asking well after midnight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeMansion, Owner at Home at The Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
Our website advises guests to contact the VHA shuttle company in advance as they do not run a service in the early hours. We then offer an alternate route via the tram where it is possible to pay on the coin operated machine onboard.
We are a small hostel so our communal areas may seem small compared to some bigger hostels, however we still have four communal areas, with probably one of the biggest outdoor areas of any hostel in Melbourne.
Our staff regularly check the frames on our bunks to ensure they remain sturdy as possible, but maybe your bunk was accidentally missed last time, sorry 

We do operate a 24 hour reception to keep the noise under control however on some weekends this might be a little more difficult with everyone in high spirits ;-)

We wish you all the best on your travels!!!

Kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

While I was in Melbourne I sayed here, nomads and the nunnery and home @ the mansion was by far the cheapest and the best! Amazing value for money for Australia felt cosy and comfortable just like home! Staff were amazing they were so kind and helpful really made a difference to Our stay! Perfect location walking distance to the city and the cool area of fitzroy! Couldn't ask fOr anythIng better!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmalawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 144 in Melbourne
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#29 of 144 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#11 of 144 in Melbourne
804 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#20 of 144 in Melbourne
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home at The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home at The Mansion

Address: 80 Victoria Pde, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $25 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOW FREE WI-FI** Voted Most Popular Hostel in Melbourne - 2012, 2013, 2014 & nominated for Best Medium Size Hostel in the world! 'Located within a grand, heritage building, this is one of Melbourne's few hostels with genuine character” says the Lonely Planet. Situated right next to Brunswick St, the free city circle tram-line, Carlton Gardens and just minutes from China Town, Federation Square and the MCG you won't find a better spot! We pride ourselves on being Melbourne's friendliest hostel and with just 16 rooms and 94 beds we offer a more personal experience. If you are a lone traveller our brand new cafe bar Victoria's Secret is the perfect place to meet fellow travellers. This is not a normal hostel, this is The Mansion Here’s what we’ve got... -free Wi-Fi in all rooms and communal areas -free tea & coffee -amazing outdoor cafe/bar with happy hour at all times for guests -free sausage tuesdays -free wine and cheese Wednesdays -killer darts mondays (the world’s lowest standard of darts) -pristine bathrooms (mostly individual) cleaned 3 times a day! -alfresco themed communal kitchen & dining area all equipment provided! -playstation chill-out area with games -dvd area with over 100 dvds available -large sunny courtyard -guest laundry -free luggage storage -free book exchange -24 hour reception -jobs board for those looking for work most importantly…..the BEST staff in melbourne!!!!!! The rooms….. 16 spacious rooms, with high ceilings, stain glass windows and loads of natural light. We have 12, 7, 6, 5, 4 bed dorms and also 2 Double Private rooms. Each room features: • security lockers for every guest • flatscreen television • spotlessly cleaned twice daily • thick comfy mattresses with all linen provided • heaters and fans Please note that we strictly do not accept guests under the age of 18 unless agreed with hostel management in advance. All guests must provide photo ID upon check in. Management reserves the right to refuse entry upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Home at The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing