We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my stay in Melbourne so much better!! Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home at The Mansion
Ranked #52 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed August 11, 2012

While I was in Melbourne I sayed here, nomads and the nunnery and home @ the mansion was by far the cheapest and the best! Amazing value for money for Australia felt cosy and comfortable just like home! Staff were amazing they were so kind and helpful really made a difference to Our stay! Perfect location walking distance to the city and the cool area of fitzroy! Couldn't ask fOr anythIng better!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmalawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in July. The room was pretty small, but shared with some nice people and was kept fairly clean. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. There is a really nice big coffee shop right next door for a good breakfast. A few streets away there is lots of restaurants and lots of edgy little cafes and vintage shops. It's also just 5 minutes walk from where both the free tourist tram and free tourist shuttle bus stops, so transport into the city is both quick and easy. And the main tram lines run just outside it as well. I would definitely recommend staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna89379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

the location is in the city center, just walking distance with all attractions and a friendly staffs..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELinFaRizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed there a couple of nights in june, and was really pleased about it.

All the staff that we met where friendly and helpfull.

The hostel was clean, and especially the kitchen was clean troughout the whole day.

The City Circle(free tram) runs more or less outside the door, which is perfect when getting around in the city.

Check out Carlton Gardens and Melbourne Museum, which is just across the road. Normally I don't like museums that much, but used 4-5 hours there without reconizing.

Would always recommend this nice hostel, thats is close to the CBD.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclingPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our choice was based on a no frills budget long week-end (4 Nights) to catch the HAWKS in action; easy location to the MCG and too have a shuttle service from the Melbourne Airport (Tullamarine) deliver us to the door of our chosen accommodation. VHA Airport Shuttle did just that as Home @ The Mansion falls within their service perimeter of Melbourne…

As a mature couple we found our Double Bed Room 10; (share bathroom) on the 3rd floor (no lifts) a bit tight at first to facilitate 1 large piece of luggage; even though there is bench space and an overhanging clothes rail, you’d still have to squeeze into your room when someone is getting dressed behind the door mirror. That aside we totally appreciated the small oil heater, a wall mounted TV in our room, clean bathroom facilities and fresh linens.

For a Hostel we found the kitchen tidy, the fridges cleaned out periodically and the noise level after 11pm adhered to. This curfew particularly appeased my concerns as noise does travel up to the third floor from the TV lounge areas on the ground floor… Traffic noise is one thing, but a party animal house; been there done that… So I guess we were either fortunate or there were no celebrations to be had!? Our team lost anyway, HA!

When it comes to Melbourne City public transport I’m totally biased. I believe the location of Home@ The Mansion would suit a visitor’s need to use public transport; St. Kilda Beach No. 96 and the Free City Circle Tram No.35 with which you can discover many of Melbourne’s amazing attributes.

Smoking is permitted outside in the garden; although the outdoor table setting and chairs we had were sadly neglected being left out in the weather. Further note; as there are no ovens I did do some cooking – Rack of Lamb stove top a la Home @ The Mansion.

Cheers
ANGIE4124

Room Tip: Room 10 is quieter and further away from kitchen, noise and activities... It is on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have no idea where the positive reviews came from - this hostel was an absolute nightmare. The front desk staff were friendly enough (except when I wanted to leave), and the bathrooms weren't hideous, but that's where anything remotely positive ends. I was in a room of 7 beds and when I got in the room was disgusting. Dirty, smelly, dark, and the other 6 had strewn their crap everywhere. The sheets seemed clean - positive. I found a condom wrapper underneath my bunk - gross. No one was particularly friendly when I tried to talk to people, and the kitchen was jam packed from floor to ceiling with private stocks of food. Clearly this is a long-termers hostel; if you're looking for a night to have a decent place to stay and meet some fellow travelers, save yourself the trauma and go elsewhere. If you still come here, don't say I didn't warn you...

Room Tip: Ground floor is extremely noisy due to being in proximity to the courtyard and kitchen common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina C, Owner at Home at The Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Hi there,
It is extremely disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay at Home @ The Mansion! There is absolutely no excuse for you to check in to a room that is messy and for this I sincerely apologise. Of course we cannot control guests already in the room making a mess but we do pride ourselves on monitoring the condition of each room and hence all dorm rooms rooms serviced twice daily.
Its a real shame that you felt other guests were not friendly to you. The night you stayed we actually had a trivia night in the hostel. This is why there were a lot of people gathering in the communal areas and our intention in running this night is to bring people together in a fun environment. I'm sorry this was not the case for you.
As one of the owners of the business I take guest reviews and feedback very seriously and have made inquiries with all staff that were on duty during your stay. Its unfortunate that you did not make any of your concerns or issues known to our staff as I have no doubt they would have done everything in their power to turn the experience around for you.
Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and truly hope that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne regardless.
Kind Regards
Martina Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

What a great hostel. Run by backpackers, and nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. It's extremely close to the free tram, and even if you dont hop on the free tram, its only a 10/15min walk from everything. I found it to be a lovely hostel, in a lovely area, in a lovely city. Everything was clean, and the kitchen for a hostel was impeccable. I have since recommended this hostel to others, as I remember at the time of my stay, no one else had a bad word against it either. It also seems to attract a good crowd of people aswell.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank Everynamestaken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 153 in Melbourne
815 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 153 in Melbourne
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 153 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 153 in Melbourne
424 reviews
North Melbourne
Melbourne Metro YHA
Melbourne Metro YHA
#56 of 153 in Melbourne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home at The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home at The Mansion

Address: 80 Victoria Pde, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $28 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOW FREE WI-FI** Voted Most Popular Hostel in Melbourne - 2012, 2013, 2014 & nominated for Best Medium Size Hostel in the world! 'Located within a grand, heritage building, this is one of Melbourne's few hostels with genuine character” says the Lonely Planet. Situated right next to Brunswick St, the free city circle tram-line, Carlton Gardens and just minutes from China Town, Federation Square and the MCG you won't find a better spot! We pride ourselves on being Melbourne's friendliest hostel and with just 16 rooms and 94 beds we offer a more personal experience. If you are a lone traveller our brand new cafe bar Victoria's Secret is the perfect place to meet fellow travellers. This is not a normal hostel, this is The Mansion Here’s what we’ve got... -free Wi-Fi in all rooms and communal areas -free tea & coffee -amazing outdoor cafe/bar with happy hour at all times for guests -free sausage tuesdays -free wine and cheese Wednesdays -killer darts mondays (the world’s lowest standard of darts) -pristine bathrooms (mostly individual) cleaned 3 times a day! -alfresco themed communal kitchen & dining area all equipment provided! -playstation chill-out area with games -dvd area with over 100 dvds available -large sunny courtyard -guest laundry -free luggage storage -free book exchange -24 hour reception -jobs board for those looking for work most importantly…..the BEST staff in melbourne!!!!!! The rooms….. 16 spacious rooms, with high ceilings, stain glass windows and loads of natural light. We have 12, 7, 6, 5, 4 bed dorms and also 2 Double Private rooms. Each room features: • security lockers for every guest • flatscreen television • spotlessly cleaned twice daily • thick comfy mattresses with all linen provided • heaters and fans Please note that we strictly do not accept guests under the age of 18 unless agreed with hostel management in advance. All guests must provide photo ID upon check in. Management reserves the right to refuse entry upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Home at The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing