We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pop Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Pop Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed three tapas dishes here. Good choices were the calamari and the garlic infused mushrooms. Quick and attentive service. Would come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JVC_PVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    23
    21
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty tapa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Looking for dinner along Hardware lane is always an experience. we chose Pop for several reasons - the tapa menu looked good, the spruiker wasn't in our face and it looked relaxed. I chose the pork tapas and the mushroom tapas, while my partner had the steak. My pork was beautiful, as was the steak. The mushrooms however weren't as tasty with their sauce being a bit watery. Overall the service was great, the meal yummy and background music provided a nice ambience

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Lacked Zing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I happened upon Hardware Lane whilst looking for soneware to eat and was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere of this Melbourne laneway. Amongst all thehype iecide to dine at Pop for no other reason than the spruker out from was a little less pushy than the others.

Overall the atmopshere was pleasant enough, perhaps a little quiet compared to nearby establishments and the service was quick and friendly.

I chose to dine from the Tapa's menu which whilst not offering a huge range of choices it covered all main area and at $10 a serve was resonably priced. I settled on the Lamb & Chorizo Skewers, Lamb Meatballs and a Rcket Parmisan Salad ($4) and a local ale as the Spanish house special brew had run dry :(

The food arrived within a minum of time, was well presented and for what I ordered ended up being a good medium sized meal for one. The net result was the food was tasty enough but lacked the zing I've come to exect from good Spanish food. Why are chefs so afraid to use spices in their cooking; after all the Australian palette has changed for the better.

Cost $37 incuding a couple of drinks.

Would I visit again; perhaps not. Next time I'm in Melbourne I think I'll try the Amigo's tequila & tapas bar opposite as it looked to be a little livelier and they had beer on tap!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WTN_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lunch was OK. Did the barramundi fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Average experience for me. Service was OK if not a bit disorganised. Food tasted good but nothing to praise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnP99n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Saturday is not alright for fighting...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the food was very nice. But the problem was that the staff were more interested in conversation between themselves, rather than being efficient in serving customers. We waited more than 5 mins just to get a menu. Too long considering they only had a few tables to attend to. Our main was very nice. I asked for the bill. Waited about 5 minutes, but then decided to get up and pay at the bar as it looked like the waitress forgot.

Then as I approached the bar I looked to my right, and realised the chef and waiter were having a punch on. No paying customer should ever have to witness this appalling behaviour. They could of at least fought it out in the lane behind the restaurant...

After things looked like they cooled down in the kitchen I headed back to the bar to pay. I paid and was offered no
Apology for what I witnessed. Could be a great place to eat if staff showed a lot more professionalism and attention to paying customers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NickinMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pop Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing