We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place to stay in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel
Ranked #102 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Galle
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Greate place to stay in Melbourne”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Clean small rooms with all the facilities for two. Good quality AC. LCD tv. Can prepare meals stove utensils provided.There is a beautiful view of the street as well. Queen Victoria market is just 5 min walking distance. City tour buses travel in the Peel st., get into one of these and uoy can see the whole city for $5 and there is a City view free tram service. Very helpful reception (available only during daytime). Wifi not free. Melbourne CBD just 15 min walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from Peel St side you can see Yarra trams moving all day long and a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lab G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. It sounds like you got to experience every part of the apartment and we are pleased you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you to City Edge Apartment Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    58
    33
    20
    26
See reviews for
23
54
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have just stayed in one of these rooms and the whole experience was sub standard. I called the day before to check when reception closed and was told 9pm - despite the website saying 6pm. When we got there at 7pm all was closed and we had to call to be let in...with 4 options on the phone line and a wait for 10 mins or more. Frustrating when you have just driven round and round looking for parking and found there is none in the vicinity.
Room was tiny - beds were like collapsed trampolines - there were no blinds on one window that looked straight out onto the street - rubbish under the beds - carpet ripped - paint dirty and chipped - and the back of the bathroom door was dirty.
On check out still no one at reception and no obvious place to leave the key.
In short Melbourne is a fantastic place to visit - why ruin the trip on low quality accommodation with non existent service

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We understand the guest’s point of view; however do believe that the issue was caused due to misunderstanding the reception timings. For all travelers the reception timings are
Monday - Wednesday: 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs
Thursday - Saturday: 0900 Hrs - 2100 Hrs
Sunday and All Public holidays - 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs

We always advise all our guest to call us in advance if you think you are going to be outside these timings to understand the after-hours check-in procedure. We have a our own car parking (Off-site) which can be pre-booked at an additional fee of $20.00 per night.

The apartment in City Edge North Melbourne are small but well appointed (compact but well presented). There is no doubt that we did let you down with regards to the blinds in the apartments. We assure all travelers that we are working on this issue and we will resolve this at the earliest.

Our hotel places a large emphasis on housekeeping and cleaning standards and whilst your experience is unacceptable, it is not a reflection of the normal standards at City Edge Apartment Hotels. We have investigated the issue and found that the carpet has come off from the underlay. We have a professional carpet repair company was has been contracted and would like all guests to know that this has been addressed. Housekeeping staff members have been spoken to and are undergoing contact training. This is reflected in the feedback after this valued feedback.

The early departure box is placed in the foyer and is marked clearly in red so that guests departing outside reception hours can spot it with any inconvenience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Boris Dias
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Southport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Where to start!.... the rooms have a glass sliding door with a blind that only covers half....street lights outside beam straight in. No sleep happening. There is a privacy and security issue with this also. When I asked for a different room, I was offered one facing the courtyard. Anyone in the courtyard could see in your room and see your things. I decided not to stay there (even though I had prepaid) because of these issues. Reception and management were NOT helpful at all and said a refund application would be lodged and I would be notified. That was a month ago. Each time I call nobody knows whats happening. I booked through wotif and when I rang them, was told they'd had plenty of similar complaints, and wotif rang city edge on my behalf to try and sort it out. They were non compliant. I strongly recommend NOT staying here. The company is in breach of the Trade Practices Act by selling rooms that are not usable and do not live up to expectations. I have dealt with City Edge far too long, and it is now in the hands of my solicitors.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank goldcoastguy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We would like to assure all travelers that the issue with the blinds is being looked into at the highest priority with the owners corporation and will be fixed at the earliest. I do apologise that your experience was not what it should have been. This is obviously not acceptable and something that is being addressed. Whilst your experience is unacceptable, it is not a reflection of the normal standards at City Edge Apartment Hotels.

As mentioned in a few other reviews, all our beds were recently serviced and they are comfortable and convenient. I was advised by the accounts team that a refund was approved and processed at the earliest and an apology was offered to the guest on their departure by the building manager.

I would like to advise all the travelers that City Edge Apartment fully recognizes and follows the trade practices that are set by the Australian Government.

Best Regards,
Boris Dias
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here twice, for three days each time, in different rooms. One room had scarcely space to move around the bed; the other was more spacious. If this is accommodation meant particularly for business travellers, then the lack of hanging space, hangers or hooks on the walls is annoying. There are also no shelves anywhere, particularly in the bathroom, to accommodate cosmetics bags, for example. Nowhere to hang up a small item or two you may have washed or a wet swimsuit. There is, as other guests have noted, no service or cleaning in the room. The reception is supposed to be open until 9pm but actually closes at 6pm. If you arrive after that, you have to phone the main number, where they pass you through, thank you for your patience and ultimately keep you waiting on the doorstep with your luggage for ages before they finally give you the code to open the safe, in which you will find an envelope with your key. You may also, by the way, find envelopes with other guests' names on and keys in, so who's to stop you from taking them? Too much security in the wrong places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne. We have now a schedule in place and we will be installing a hanging rail in the wardrobe. We thank you for your review as the reviews enables us to better our standards in every aspect of the business.

For all travelers the reception timings are
Monday - Wednesday: 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs
Thursday - Saturday: 0900 Hrs - 2100 Hrs
Sunday and All Public holidays - 0900 Hrs - 1800 Hrs

I do apologise that your experience with us caused you undue stress during the after hours check-in procedure. We always advise all our guest to call us on the day of arrival if you think you would be arriving outside these timings to understand the after-hours check-in procedure.

Best Regards,
Boris Dias
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Many photos of this place show a couch in the room this is no couch and no space to put it in so don't believe it.

Let's start with the negatives. There is no place to hang your clothes, in our room the exhaust fan and toilet were broken, the walls glass sliding doors and carpets were filthy, they couldn't give me two sets of keys because one was broken a fact they didn't rectify even though I was therefor 5 nights. The walls are paper thin and I learnt a lot about the life of our neighbours as I am sure they learnt about us. Reception is supposed to be manned between 9 and 6 but we found it regularly unattended during these times. The fire alarm which required us to vacate and sit on the street for close to an hour was an eye opener obviously not linked to the fire brigade as they never came hate to see what would happen with a serious fire.

Now the positives. It is well located that is all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
20 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback. I do apologize that your experience with us caused you undue stress at such an important time in your lives.

Our hotel places a large emphasis on housekeeping and cleaning standards and whilst your experience is unacceptable, it is not a reflection of the normal standards at City Edge Apartment Hotels. We have now steamed cleaned all the carpets in the common area of City Edge North Melbourne and we will now start the process of steam cleaning the carpets in all apartments at City Edge North Melbourne. I can assure all travelers that there are no signs of this problem or issues in regards to carpets at City Edge North Melbourne.

All apartments at City Edge have security key locks. These keys cannot be duplicated and I was advised that we have to wait 14 days for the keys to be re-cut and delivered by our contracted locksmith. This is the reason for us charging guests $150.00 per set on loss of keys.

I was advised that the building is linked to the fire brigade and will alert them only if the smoke detectors in the common areas are activated. In case a smoke detector in an individual apartments is activated, the system will raise an alarm to alert the building manager to investigate this alarm further. This is to ensure the fire brigade is not called to attend to false alarms. We recently had a scheduled fire training for all the staff and management recently to keep all staff members aware of the procedures should there be a fire or any other emergency in the building

Best Regards,
Boris Dias
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't stay here. Was there six nights. Not once was there any form of room service/cleaning. The beds have wheels so they move during the night. Had cleaners banging around outside early in the morning. No foxtel or DVD player so if you want a night in, good luck finding something to watch. For the price of the room there should at least be a DVD player. Close to CBD and markets which was great. About the only positive thing I can think of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Kelvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review City Edge North Melbourne.

We at at City Edge aim to provide quality accommodation to informed travelers at the cheapest prices. We ensure that all guest pay only for the services that they are going to use for their stay or may want to use through their stay. Any other services that may be required through the stay can be purchased at an additional cost at the reception. This ensures that all our valued guests get the best prices and pay only for what they use. Daily servicing for instance is an add on which is available to purchase through all our booking channels. A daily service will cost you $15.00 per service per apartment. So if a guest stays for 5 nights and things that they do not need service for the first two nights but require a service on the third night, they are more than welcome to purchase it at reception or pre-book one via the internet.

I believe that having wheels underneath beds is a standard practice in most of the hotels/motels. This is to enable the housekeeping staff to move the beds around for servicing and splitting/joining beds for special requests.

I was advised that all our televisions come with HDMI and a USB input sources which are extensively used by a lot of business travelers and families.

We assure all travelers that all apartments at City Edge North Melbourne are compact but well presented and convenient.

Best Regards,
Boris Dias
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently. The units are clean ,compact convenient and for Melbourne, cheap.The bed was comfortable, the shower efficient and everything we needed was supplied. It does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Guest Relations Manager at City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. It is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay during your time in Melbourne. We look forward to welcome you to City Edge Apartments in the near future.

Best Regards,
Boris Dias
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
38 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#153 of 160 in Melbourne
30 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#130 of 160 in Melbourne
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
North Melbourne
RNR Serviced Apartments North Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel

Property: City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel
Address: 188 Peel St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Edge Apartment Hotel North Melbourne is located in the dynamic and metropolitan North side of the Melbourne CBD business, education and hospital precinct of Melbourne Victoria. Only minutes by tram to the Melbourne city centre, close to the vibrant Queen Victoria Market, landmarks such as the University of Melbourne, the State Netball and Hockey Centre, Princes Park Stadium, and the Royal Melbourne, Royal Childrens and Royal Dental Hospitals. Special rates are available for approved hospital patients. Our studio apartment accommodation offers double or two single beds, free WiFi, full cooking facilities, LCD TV, air conditioning and a guest laundry. Apartments are serviced every seven days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Edge North Melbourne Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing