We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I'm going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portello Rosso

Portello Rosso
Reserve with
Portello Rosso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #200 of 3,660 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a great restaurant. Hidden in a lane in the city makes the journey there a treasure hunt. And what a gem. The food & service is excellent. The chocolate tart at the end of the night is the best I've eaten. Add the Pedro Ximenez which is the perfect consistency of liquid and syrup. Almost a shame to tell others about this gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    63
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Bush
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Upstairs is the real secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Go up stairs for a real hidden gem of Melbourne. A top notch cocktail bar called Murmur.
Great atmosphere, great drinks and a real treat to be up there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faarreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Laneway special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recently visited in a group of three. Had booked through the DIMMI website. Immediately welcomed by the very pleasant waitstaff, and seated at a great table. Our waiter offered drinks and explained the menu, based on sharing, and what we would need for our group.

We had delicious char grilled prawns, meatballs and a paella for two (enough for three). Food was tasty, nicely presented and our waiters portion recommendation was spot on. Aperol Spritz was delicious and highly recommended.

Good coffee after as well. Restaurant is located in laneway in the CBD. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place, food is outstanding. This was our second visit while on holiday in Mebourne. There's nothing I didn't like. Staff were lovely and attentive, great atmosphere. The food is delicious and fun to order/share. Churros were the highlight for my son . . and me! Will surely return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
358 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Melbourne laneways at their best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just off Little Bourke Street, between Elizabeth and Queen, Portello Rosso is found down a particularly nondescript laneway. It's destination dining - the laneway is no thoroughfare, but this double storey warehouse conversion is a great spot - as is its 'sister' bar Murmur next door. The best tables are upstairs but if there's just two of you, ask for the seats at the end of the bar. You get to watch the kitchen work, you spy every dish that goes out (and perhaps order it if it looks good!) and you can have a chat with the staff if you like. The croquettes are sublime, the jamon delectable but first prize goes to the lamb chops. So plump, so tender, so delicious. A great spot all hours of the day and night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portello Rosso also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Portello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing