We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going back”
Review of Portello Rosso

Portello Rosso
Ranked #177 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $79
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm going back”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a great restaurant. Hidden in a lane in the city makes the journey there a treasure hunt. And what a gem. The food & service is excellent. The chocolate tart at the end of the night is the best I've eaten. Add the Pedro Ximenez which is the perfect consistency of liquid and syrup. Almost a shame to tell others about this gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    83
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Bush
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upstairs is the real secret”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Go up stairs for a real hidden gem of Melbourne. A top notch cocktail bar called Murmur.
Great atmosphere, great drinks and a real treat to be up there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faarreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Laneway special.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recently visited in a group of three. Had booked through the DIMMI website. Immediately welcomed by the very pleasant waitstaff, and seated at a great table. Our waiter offered drinks and explained the menu, based on sharing, and what we would need for our group.

We had delicious char grilled prawns, meatballs and a paella for two (enough for three). Food was tasty, nicely presented and our waiters portion recommendation was spot on. Aperol Spritz was delicious and highly recommended.

Good coffee after as well. Restaurant is located in laneway in the CBD. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place, food is outstanding. This was our second visit while on holiday in Mebourne. There's nothing I didn't like. Staff were lovely and attentive, great atmosphere. The food is delicious and fun to order/share. Churros were the highlight for my son . . and me! Will surely return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Melbourne laneways at their best”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just off Little Bourke Street, between Elizabeth and Queen, Portello Rosso is found down a particularly nondescript laneway. It's destination dining - the laneway is no thoroughfare, but this double storey warehouse conversion is a great spot - as is its 'sister' bar Murmur next door. The best tables are upstairs but if there's just two of you, ask for the seats at the end of the bar. You get to watch the kitchen work, you spy every dish that goes out (and perhaps order it if it looks good!) and you can have a chat with the staff if you like. The croquettes are sublime, the jamon delectable but first prize goes to the lamb chops. So plump, so tender, so delicious. A great spot all hours of the day and night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portello Rosso also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Portello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing