We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum, yum and yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Portello Rosso

Portello Rosso
Reserve with
Portello Rosso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #170 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $75
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Brunswick
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum, yum and yum”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been to this place a number of times and its a delight. From the decor to the great staff to the delicious food.
I love to sit upstairs, small though it is. The whole place has a warm, welcoming feel.
Let the knowledgeable wait staff suggest something for you and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mich279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    74
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it every time.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've been here a few times now, and every time I have to say, "wow." The food is amazing every single time, as is the service - attentive, knowledgeable and friendly without being overbearing. The wine selection is a happy mix of Australasian and Spanish, with some imported sidras too. This is a must to go on romantic dinners, a nice meal out with family or friends, or even a cheeky snacks-&-drinks at the communal table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wafugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A delight to all of your senses”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Tucked away in one of the many laneways of Melbourne, is what can only be described as a little piece of Spanish heaven! From the moment you enter you are treated like a friend by the very knowledgeable front of house staff as well as the kitchen staff. Our first visit we enjoyed one of the degustation menus, to our great pleasure every bite was perfect! For our second visit, the following week (we were only in Melbourne for 2 weeks) we left our plate selections in the hands of the Manager and Head Chef, once again we were not disappointed! The food and wines were paired perfectly! The atmosphere was alive for both of our visits, and felt like we had entered a friends home. The clientele ranged from couples to large groups, enjoying dessert and coffee or full meals. I have recommended Portello Rosso to several friends since we were there and they haven't been disappointed either. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No disapppointments here”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a great find in a city laneway. They have created a terrific atmosphere in a very relaxed environment. The staff went out of their way to be helpful with the menu and were attentive to our needs.The food was excellent and we enjoyed all the recommendations as we hadn't eaten at a tapas restaurant previously. We have already recommended Portello Rosso to friends and will continue to do so. The online booking service was also hassle free and easier to use than phone calls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
628 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A Melbourne Favorite”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A tapas and jamon bar in a little lane way in Melbourne CBD with amazing food. Have been there in a group and shared many dishes to get a taste of what's on offer. SO impressive is the food that I have recommended this restaurant to many people. There's a gorgeous bar upstairs set in divine old surrounds which is a good place to wait until its time to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portello Rosso also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Portello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing