We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”
Review of Riverland

Riverland
Ranked #357 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Riverland is the original waterfront icon in Melbourne where you can escape the daily grind in our urban beer garden hideaway. This iconic venue is situated on the banks of the Yarra in the historic Federation Wharf vaults, just below Federation Square. Our year round outdoor venue is the ideal spot for beers and bites while soaking up the sun in summer or basking under the heaters and warming up with one of our winter cocktails in the cooler months. Riverland provides a relaxed warm atmosphere where people can enjoy the company of friends or grab a quick drink and BBQ sausage before the game.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
428 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We come to Riverland at least a couple of times a month. If you enjoy sitting outside by the river and enjoying great food and wine with plenty of people watching, this is the perfect place. On this visit we had the arancini (3 for $13) of ham hock, peas and smoked scamorza served with provencal sauce. While very good, this was not as outstanding as most dishes here are. The arancini are slightly bigger than a golf ball and are served in a tiny dish barely large enough to hold them. The standout dish of the day was the crespelle - a buttery, rich baked layered seafood crepe made with crab, prawns, scallops, and salmon ($17.50) served with a bit of salad. The salmon was the most noticeable of the seafood, and it was delicious. We couldn't pass up the gourmet hot dogs they serve ($8) with onion and sauerkraut. Of the beef, duck, and lamb, we opted for the duck (but we've had them all). Yummy. We had a 2010 Zeppelin Barossa Shiraz ($48) that is delicious. And the staff is always friendly and efficient. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    81
    31
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome location, very expensive drinks!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Really good spot right on the river but $14.50 for a peroni beer? Way overpriced!! Food and service good but there are many better spots for a beer for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keiran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location on the river”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Beautiful location and great views are the main draw here, and well worth it. More of a bar than a restaurant really, but food is good quality with a decent selection to choose from.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, but everything else very average”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is in a great location, but sadly everything else is very average. Went for breakfast, you aren't allowed to order any sides. My poached egg was poached very hard, and none of the staff smiled or were friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jelley1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location - see the best in Melbourne...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

On the hottest day of the year so far 10 of us spent a very pleasant Saturday afternoon at Riverland keeping cool with the breeze flowing off the Yarra.

I love this spot because I feel I'm in the epicentre of Melbourne culture - you can see all the things which make our city wonderful - the Yarra, the Arts Centre, Southbank, the G and the Tennis Centre - all from this one spot. It doesn't hurt that they also make a mean bloody mary (making sure I get my vegetables to kick off a big day of drinking) and serve very very cold beer.

Hot chips with aioli, gourmet pizzas and Vietnamese rice paper rolls were a hit throughout this warm afternoon, and when the cool change hit with a bang (a gale force hot wind blew up the Yarra, then a gale force cold wind blew down the Yarra and suddenly the temp dropped 20 degrees!) they also provided a barbeque with gorgeous gourmet German style sausages in rolls. Duck and pistachio was generally agreed to be the favourite although it sparked an argument about whether it was manly to eat anything other than beef sausages... amazing the conversations an afternoon of beer drinking incites).

Anyway - it's a lovely spot and worth a visit for the views, the beers and the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverland also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Riverland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing