We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and excellent Venu”
Review of Spice Temple

Spice Temple
Reserve with
Spice Temple is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Vijfhuizen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and excellent Venu”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is excellent situaties at the border of a canal.
Waitresses are very helpfull in explaination of the menu, a seperate menu for vegatarians is avavailable.
Food is excellent.
The restaurant is situated in a string of restaurants from where in the evening the cities outline offers a Nice view.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    298
    122
    58
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bring your wallet, not your appetite”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ate here after Oaks Race Day. It was highly recommended by the consierge at the Intercontential. We were very disappointed. FIRST, the waiter had an attitude. We asked for a dish to be spiced up (because he said that it was not spicy) - and he told us that the WORLD FAMOUS Chef (who had cook books, blah, blah, blah) made the dishes as they should be eaten and that spice should not be added. However, he would bring us some chili paste that we could add ourselves. The American Style Chow Mein was excellent! The best dish we ordered. We also enjoyed the steamed greens. The Kung Pao Chicken was aweful. The waiter warned us that it was served with Szechuan pepper corns, and that we should not eat the peppers - that we should use our chop sticks to pick them off the chicken. There was VERY LITTLE chicken - fewer than 10 pieces of chicken, and a few cashews. There was a TON pepper, and also a TON of chili peppers (also non edible - just to add spice when it was cooked). The peppers were SO abundant that they could not be picked off, and I had many in my bowl, so I had to ask for a new clean dish. We also ordered a beef with red bell peppers. It was $45 and there was maybe 3 ounces (max) of meat. The view was nice, and the casino was very high end. I would come back to the casino - but not to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Too Expensive and OVERRATED”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We found the menus to be eclectic and expensive. The dishes are much too expensive for the size of the portions. Kung Pao chicken was a dished of peppers and 6 small pieces of chicken, $35 or so.

Beef dish contained six small strips of bland tasting beef at $45 or so. I asked if the chef could spice it up with some chili oil and was told the chef makes the dishes the way he wants and will not accommodate requests.

I WOULD NOT EAT HERE EVER AGAIN EVEN IF IT WERE FREE

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliveinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,390 reviews
585 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,111 helpful votes
“Interesting !”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Spice Temple Restaurant is located in the Crown Complex Southbank. The food is modern Chinese using traditional recipes & flavours from different provinces of China.

I particularly loved the funky, dark, moody, atmosphere with its dazzling lights creating an intimate, romantic interlude with the equally delicious hot & spicy Chinese food on offer.

We opted for entrée to share the caramelised pork spare ribs, & the dry spicy Wagyu beef. For the mains we tasted the crispy duck which was absolutely divine & so too was the spanner crab with chilli & coriander.

The international 100 wine list & the colourful cocktail menu was also pleasing as we found our favourite Sauvignon Blanc from NZ on the list.

The service was fantastic - efficient & very professional everything you would expect from a Neil Perry Restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food - Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had the enjoyable experience of being invited to a family dinner function at this fast becoming iconic Melbourne restaurant. Our expectations were therefore very high and we certainly were not disappointed. After a few cocktails at the bar we were shown to our special room (there were 16) where we spent the next 3 hours enjoying a banquet comprising some of Australia's finest cuisine. For those who don't like spicy food, optional dishes were available. Service attention was excellent and by evening's end we all felt that we had a great night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Temple also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Spice Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing