We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
Review of City Tempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Tempo
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

4 nights stay in studio room and really enjoyed it.

The room is quite small but very functional. Has all the required conveniences in the room. We didn't have a washer/dryer, but i believe some rooms do.

The only issue was the air con is super loud, though we're pretty sound sleepers so it wasn't too bad.

Short walk to lots of shops and restaurants (hardware lane).

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X32ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    512
    139
    26
    18
See reviews for
101
635
145
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The apartments are very new and located only a few minutes walking distance from Victoria Markets and 15 min from the CBD. There is a IGA and liquor store right accross the road. The service of the apartments is reasonable. House Keeping will clean your bathroom and kitchenette and make your bed if you wish on a daily basis. Towels and linen are only changed after 3 nights but there is a washing machine/dryer. Thanks to the reviews of other travellers we booked a 1 BR apartment. It was functional but very compact and the studio would have been like a box. The airconditioners in the lounge and bedroom are quite noisy. The airconditioner in the lounge is mounted in a very unfortunate spot. In order to get the airflow going you have to shift the sofa away which will then block the door to the bedroom pretty much. The bed is comfortable. The biggest flaw, however, is the bathroom. It is a tiny frosted glass cubicle that stands right in the little lounge/kitchenette area and gives you no privacy. If you are travelling alone and have no visitors, then ok. The sink is tiny with no place to put things apart from opening the mirror cabinet. For anyone who has travelled to Japan: it is small even for japanese standards. This is the reason why we would not stay here again. Shame to the bad design.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodfoodfanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Having stayed here on my global trek for a 3 nights I was looking for a quiet place to sleep. What I found at City Tempo was the worst accommodation I have stayed at in my entire global trip. I don't expect perfection by any means. In summary, the room was ok as long as you like large pillows which cause neck ache and a short bed. The neighbour played music all night, everynight. The room was very stuffy and is made worse by the fact the airconditioner was excessively noisy. Having stayed there in summer, it was essential to have the aircondiitoner on which basically meant you cannot sleep. To try and sleep I would turn it off and wake up a couple of hours parched and sweaty. The bathroom was clean but was uber tiny (estimated at 1.5m wide by 2.5 long which includes a shower, toilet and wash stand). The doorman was very lovely but the front of house staff had no hospitality training and came across rude, uncaring and unhelpful. After politely waiting during check in while the hotel front of house was on the phone, once she hung up, I was greeted with a 'Yep' in a abrupt manner. The hotel is only staffed until 10pm so if you have any problems you have to wait until the morning.
The hotel is close to the Vic Market which only operates three days during the week and the weekends. There is a supermarket across the road but no restaurants close by that open at night other than some dodgy Irish pub and a very expensive Chinese. restaurant.
I have consulted trip advisor continually for years for assistance when choosing a hotel. I should mention this is the first time I have ever felt like I need to put a review on trip advisor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thesingaporetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Having spent the past month in different hotels around Melbourne I can say without a doubt, City Tempo is THE WORST one so far. For a start they advertize themselves as a non-smoking hotel. Page 12 in the information guide provided in all rooms clearly states; Please be advised that ALL of our apartments and all public areas are NON-SMOKING. My first day here I had to close my balcony door because the people next door were smoking. A little later they decided it was party time. The noise was so bad I finished up calling the concierge. The next morning I requested a change of room and after some deliberation I was moved to another floor. The second day here passed uneventfully. On my third night I am woken at 03:30 AM by noise coming from one of the balconys. I initially though it was above me. I put my earplugs in but lo and behold they decided it was time for the partry to really get going! So after listening to the thump, thump, thump penetrating the earplugs, and it is by this time 04:40 AM, I was forced tocall the concierge again. It did indeed come from next door. Finally back to sleep and now I am woken at 07:30 by these same people at it again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilafromdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at City Tempo, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Firstly thankyou for your high ratings in relation to Location, Service and Friendliness. We pride ourselves on being able to offer this high level of customer service.

The comfort level of all guests staying at CityTempo is treated very seriously and is of great importance. We take all care in trying to prevent excessive noise, but unfortunately there are rare instances where some guests abuse the no-party policy that is enforced. We are very apologetic that this particular guest did not have a enjoyable stay, however would like to note that this is an extremely rare occurrence.

CityTempo is a non-smoking complex and we try to make all guests aware of this, although it is difficult to enforce when guests occasionally decide to smoke on balconies. In this instance once a complaint was made it was addressed straight away and they promised to not reoffend . To prevent any possible further instances, it was offered and accepted to room move the complaint guest to another level the next day. CityTempo has a 24hour concierge that is well trained to handle any noise complaints. Regular floor patrols are made as a preventative measure. When the guest made contact, concierge was very prompt in addressing the issue with the noise quickly extinguished.

As a mangement team we review all feedback and continually work towards providing a positive and memorable experience for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Excellent location right next to Queen Vic Markets, IGA with liquor store just across the road. This was our first time to Melbourne we stayed for 3 nights. Service was excellent - the staff were friendly and helped recommend a couple of great places to eat. Although rooms are not biggest we have stayed in they had everything that we could have needed and more including an ipod doc - which was well used! Bathroom was a little unusual, could be more private and pillows were too soft.
All and all a great stay would recommend it to anyone that is going to Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouPortD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Thankyou for posting your review. A a new property we are very keen to receive feedback from our valued guests.
In response to feedback regarding the pillows being a little soft for some guests, we have also placed a firmer pillow in our apartments.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed one night, check in staff were beastly careless. Did not have a great night sleep with pillows that felt like fit balls, a short bed & being woken in the morning by someone vacuuming the hall, this wasn't helped by the inch gap under the front door.

Saying this, the rooms fitted out nicely with all the mod'cons & there was a nice view from the balcony.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awabinigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Thankyou for your review regarding your stay at our CityTempo property. As a new property we are very keen to receive feedback regarding our guest experiences.
We have addressed your concern with our housekeeping team and our public areas are now not vaccuumed until later in the day.
We have also installed a firmer pillow into the apartment, which allows our guests a selection of a soft or firmer option.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This apartments hotel only opened 25th October 2010 and so when we stayed they were still finishing a few things off and ironing out some issues but I have to say considering this it was a great experience.

We stayed in a studio, which was fine for our needs but if you need a bit of space around you, you might want to consider the one or two bedroom apartments.

The furnishings being new are very comfortable and everything was in good condition, with double glazing on the windows so it's nice and quiet, which was a pleasant surprise.

The internet connection was good. We were in room 502 and had no issues at all gaining connection at all times of the day. And for 24 hours of internet the charge was $9.95 from memory.

We didn't use any other facilities of the place but they have a business centre I think and a fitness centre with sauna. And there's apparently a concierge there for any enquiries you need.

I'd definitely recommend staying here and will be back next time we need to be in the CBD. The location also works well for exploring the Victoria Markets, Museum and Lygon Street as well as all that is around it. There's plenty of good restaurants along Elisabeth Street that are nince and handy too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thankyou for your review of CityTempo. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location and services of our new compact apartments in Melbourne CBD.
We opened this property on 25 October and are very keen to receive feedback from our guests.
I am pleased that the internet facilities suited your requirements as we spent considerable time in the planning phase to ensure we were able to provide a high quality and efficient service.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Tempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Tempo

Property: City Tempo
Address: 353 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Tempo 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our stylish Studio & One Bedroom Compact Apartments offer all the essentials for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Melbourne's exciting CBD. Furnished with a compact kitchen, the latest audio/visual appliances and WiFi internet. On site is a well equipped gymnasium, sauna and business centre. Ideal for both leisure and corporate guests, enjoy easy access to cafes, convenience stores, Melbourne Central and only metres to Queen Victoria Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Tempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Tempo Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing