We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments in good location”
Review of City Tempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Tempo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great apartments - we had a superior room with balcony on the 11th floor, everything you need for your trip to Melbourne, good location, free wifi and at a bargain price! Close to the free city tram stop and train stations

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyJo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear LadyJo79,

Thanks for providing such a wonderful review of CityTempo following your stay with us this November, it was our absolute pleasure to host you! We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so thrilled to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found everything you needed in your apartment.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you back to CityTempo when you’re next in Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place was wonderful, reception staff were wonderful they explained everything that was required, eg: undercover car parking which was not too far away to park $21:50 per day which was fine for us.I liked the balcony for some fresh air and could leave the door open, nice.Loved the security of having to use the key card in the lifts to get on and off your floor. the location for us was perfect and we managed to visit with friends from New Zealand, went to China town and had Yum Char and the market. We would love to stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngfamily90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Youngfamily90,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this November. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, in particular our location. We love popping next door to pick up a treat from the Queen Victoria Market food hall! It's so wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly and efficient!

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityTempo on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After researching places to stay in Melbourne my wife and I settled for these apartments. I’m pleased to say our 5 night stay was very comfortable and it exceeded our expectations. It is very well equipped with modern facilities and the rooms are kept nice and tidy. Bathroom, kitchenette and living space give you more than enough space for two people. Staff were friendly and were helpful if we needed directions to tram stops or attractions etc. Another plus is the location – it’s close to the Queen Vic market and public transport.

The only downside I can think of is the lack of free in-room wifi but other than that this was a great place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear J L,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at CityTempo this November. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your apartment exceeded your expectations. I'm very proud to hear that you experienced the outstanding level of service that we pride ourselves on. Our team takes great pleasure in sharing our local knowledge with our guests.

Again, thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to CityTempo on your on your return trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during November for a short holiday. The location of the apartments is fantastic and only a short walk to the QV markets, Melbourne Central and the free city loop tram. The apartment had a very modern feel and came with everything you'd need - Convection Microwave Oven, Dishwasher, Clothes Washer and Dryer. The room was cleaned to an extent but definitely in need of a deep clean - marks on walls, hand prints on shower screen. The air conditioning unit was very noisy during the night but usually the apartment stayed cool throughout the night if you had the unit on during the day for a few hours. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Stewart W,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this November. We are so happy to read that your apartment suited your needs. We work hard to present them to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed CityTempo's convenient location and found our team members to be friendly and efficient!

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityTempo on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Love the location (close to Vic market, and not too far from the shopping areas) and the room is inviting and well-equipped. The receptionists are really friendly and the room gets tidied up nicely as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semoganer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear semoganer,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at CityTempo this November. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal to enjoy a spot of shopping! I am proud to hear that you experienced the high level of service that we pride ourselves on.

Again, thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to CityTempo on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights. Location is excellent. Just a short walk to the Victoria market. Close to public transportation. We then rented a car at thrifty just 1 block away for a drive up to Sydney. The staff was nice. The room had a modern efficient ikea feel. Would stay again for sure

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rico725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear rico725,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this November. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, in particular CityTempo's fantastic location and your modern apartment decor. It's wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly too!

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to CityTempo on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The studio apartment was perfect to accommodate my small family of 3. I was surprise to found everything quite complete just like my small home apartment in Kuala Lumpur. The room was clean and tidy. The location was great, close to trams and Victoria St market. It was very suitable for Muslim family like us as we can cook in so we have no problem to look for halal food. A grocery store was available just cross the road. Only 2 things let me down was the wifi was not as free as it was advertised and the heater was quite noisy. But i will definitely recommend City Tempo to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomoeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at City Tempo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear MomoeJane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us to ensure that we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you found the location to be so convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with CityTempo!

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,573 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
3,102 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Tempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Tempo

Address: 353 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $84 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Tempo 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our stylish Studio & One Bedroom Compact Apartments offer all the essentials for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Melbourne's exciting CBD. Furnished with a compact kitchen, the latest audio/visual appliances and WiFi internet. On site is a well equipped gymnasium, sauna and business centre. Ideal for both leisure and corporate guests, enjoy easy access to cafes, convenience stores, Melbourne Central and only metres to Queen Victoria Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Tempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Tempo Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing