We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Secrets Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.63*
and up
Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour
More Info
$129.96*
and up
Melbourne Food and Wine Small-Group Walking Tour
More Info
$75.68*
and up
Melbourne Cafe and Coffee Culture Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 96 Food & Drink in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne's Original Laneway Walking Tours. Indulge in a vibrant city with our Award winning walking tours through Melbourne's back streets and Laneways. Small groups, with creative local hosts enjoy the urban landscape that many locals miss. Discover intricacies of the past and the modern day in food and wine, fashion design, architecture and so much more. Just a few hours with us and so much of the city makes more sense. If you think you know Melbourne, then think again!
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Having visited Melbourne on a few previous occasions, and being fairly intrepid/exploring travellers already, we weren't sure what to expect from a walking tour of the lanes - would the tour show us much that we hadn't already discovered... How we were surprised! Much to our pleasure, we enjoyed every moment of the Lanes & Arcades tour and felt it well worth the price paid.

The 3 hours was a great way to explore Melbourne's famous shopping arcades. Our guide was Sean - a humorous, engaging, and extremely knowledgeable guy. He was easy to understand, very patient and his knowledge covered interesting historical anecdotes, architectural features and street art as well as food and shopping. We were a small group of 8 and within a few minutes we were hanging on to Sean's every word as he told interesting stories about Melbourne's hidden secrets. The tour walk is very leisurely paced and we saw loads of things, from wonderful old buildings, to boutique shops, Flinders train station and some the street art of Melbourne. A well recommended tour for those who want to get a feel of the "real" Melbourne, that only the locals know. We also stopped for morning coffee at a fantastic place (Koko Black) - with an amazing range of hot chocolate and coffees (included).

We can't recommend it highly enough and even retraced our steps immediately after finishing - re-seeing it all again was really worthwhile! We would definitely give this tour a five star rating and recommend it to any visitor (or local) to Melbourne. The company was really great at accommodating our booking dates, and we couldn't recommend Sean as a guide highly enough. Thanks!

Thank NZ_travellers_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear NZ_travellers_123
Wow! we love such reviews, thanks for taking the time to share your insights here!

Sean has returned to us for some tours after some time studying and painting, and yes he loves it, so for me it is so lovely to hear clients respond to that passion.
Thank you for your insights within this platform, we are hearing more and more that people are reading our reviews and then booking - your efforts are not in vain.

Kindest regards
Fiona
Owner
Hidden Secrets Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

I went on this tour on tuesday morning. It was great. A small group and an excellent guide. It was probably the best tour I have ever been on due to the brilliant guide. I have been along these lane ways before but will be looking at them in a different light from now on. I recommend this tour.

Thank rottnest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Rottnest2014 - wow, thank you for this lovely and timely comment, Amy was your guide, and she is pretty fabulous, we are so lucky to have her back after a few months off on other projects..
We really appreciate the effort of your review, and that you enjoyed our version of the laneways you perhaps already knew.

Happy travels, and we hope you return again soon.
Kind regards
Fiona
Owner - Hidden Secrets Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were not sure what to expect and having turned up a day early by mistake they were happy to include us. Sarah was helpful and knowledgeable. Her recommendations of places to eat were great. Discovered places that we would otherwise have missed and gave a different perspective to the city. A very worthwhile tour.

Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Gary J
So glad we had spaces to take you last week, we are all prone to human error at times, so a day early... it all worked out in the end. Look at you though, seems Melbourne inspired you to partake in this wonderful mad world of Trip Advisor - and so pleased you made your way to Silo... its just another of our favourite quirky local Melbourne haunts..
We really do appreciate the time people take to write their thoughts.. it really does help our prospective clients, and yes us a little too.. :)
We are more than happy to share more ideas with our alumni whenever you are next in town.... Safe Travels..

Kindest regards
Fiona
Owner - Hidden Secrets Tours Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Lanes & Arcades Tour which my friend & I did on Monday 3/2/14, was a wonderful & thoroughly enjoyable way to see Melbourne's hidden secrets & to learn the history of the area. We found that you need to look up to see the amazing architecture of the arcades, lanes & buildings of the city as well as where to find quirky stores, cafes & bars. Our two guides on the day were knowledgeable and showed us another side to a great town. The morning tea & lunch were excellent & we weren't rushed throughout the tour, which was great as we could appreciate what the group was seeing & able to ask many questions. My friend has some mobility problems but she was able to handle the walk & the guides were exceptional in accommodating her needs. The only suggestion we could make is that we could have had a couple of minutes to browse around Koko Black Chocolate Salon & the honey shop. It was a great morning, which Lyn & I topped of with a cold cider beside the painting of 'Chloe' at Young & Jackson, while people watching over Flinders Street. Love Melbourne & can't wait to be there again.

Thank Eleanor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks Eleanor09 - we are always pleased to read the various reviews...

You were on tour at the end of that hot weather, and thankfully the mornings stayed cooler.
you were on tour with Liesa as she was doing her final training tour, with Zoe, so you got extra:)

I know the chocolate and honey are often a big thing people want, and with hot days perhaps the guide thought it would not be such a great idea, but I will let the guides know your thoughts..

Thanks again for the review, it does take a little time, and we really do appreciate that.

Happy travels, and yes we hope you are back in Melbourne again soon!

Kind regards
Fiona
Owner of Hidden Secrets Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Well paced, interesting and informative tour. Guide Sarah was superb. She pointed out things and informed us of Australian history and buildings that even one of the locals who attended the tour with us did not know.

Our stop at the coffee house and lunch were a nice break from the walking and we had time to get to know our fellow tourists.

Well done!

Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Michelle M
So lovely to see your thoughtful review. We do really appreciate it, and your first one too.
Thank you.. We hope you keep wandering in Melbourne, and are inspired to take more walking tours.

i have shared this with Sarah, and we are all so appreciative of efforts such as yours to inform possible clients.

Happy wandering. Kind regards
Fiona
Owner Hidden Secrets Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Secrets Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Secrets Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing