We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Hidden Secrets Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.10*
and up
Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 92 Food & Drink in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne's Original Laneway Walking Tours. Indulge in a vibrant city with our Award winning walking tours through Melbourne's back streets and Laneways. Small groups, with creative local hosts enjoy the urban landscape that many locals miss. Discover intricacies of the past and the modern day in food and wine, fashion design, architecture and so much more. A city of entrepreneurs, both then and now, discover with us their stories and spaces. Just a few hours with us and so much of the city makes more sense. If you think you know Melbourne, then think again!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have done this tour twice and saw different sights which was fantastic, representing the same basic structure. Introducing my mum to the second visit was great as she could then appreciate the over enthusiasm I displayed after my first tour. I will continue to represent this tour to my friends & have done so to 2 family members today. Love it, keep up the good work.
Bec

Helpful?
2 Thank Hellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Bec,

Thank you for your review & for walking with us again! We are glad you were able to discover new sights the second time around, Sarah had a great time on tour with you as well. Maybe we will see you again for one of our other tours!

Thank you again for your support,
Fiona Southgate
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    35
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laneways and Arcades tour - Melbourne”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great way to learn about "Hidden Melbourne". Our guide, Sean was fantastic, his knowledge and passion for this great city made the tour more enjoyable. I have lived in Melbourne for 50 years and didn't know about half the things we got to see and do, let alone some of the history and stories Sean shared. I would highly reccomend this tour for visitors and tourists alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.
Glad to hear you enjoyed Sean's passion and knowledge, he certainly has some great stories to share & secrets to help locals rediscover this great city!
Hopefully we will see you again on one of our other tours.

Thank you again,
Fiona Southgate
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cafe lane tour october 17 2012”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

what an excellent tour. found things in Melbourne I had never found before. Meg was an excellent guide with her passion and knowledge. We even found our way to some of the bars and other places she suggested in the days following the tour. Highly recommend to anyone going to Melbourne.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kylie M,
Meg asked me to write and say thank you for sharing the tour too, I hear you all had a good morning, and enjoyed the various tastings.. we hope to stumble across you in one of said favourite haunts when you are back in the city! Happy Discovering... thanks for taking the time to share your recommendation.. it is appreciated!
Kind regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Z.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Secrets Tour - October 2012”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Perhaps upon arriving in Melbourne, everyone should take this tour? I think so! We never would have discovered all the little nooks and crannies that Sarah pointed out, on our own. She had a well rounded knowledge of the city and its history, and her passion for Melbourne shone through.
We returned to many of the spots pointed, out later in the day at our leisure.
Thank you Sarah for providing us with what was perhaps the highlight of our holiday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BythebyN_z_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
dear BythebyN_z_
How did we miss your review to say thank you! OH how wonderful you and others are who are brave enough to venture into the cyberspace just to make a lovely review often for the first time. We have to tell you that your words are being read, and we really appreciate it.
Sarah is still sharing the Hidden Secrets and perhaps if you are back in Melbourne you may see her as we continue to duck and weave through our favourite parts of the city - the lanes with all their history and positive "vibe" Happy wandering.

Kindest regards and thanks!
Fiona
Owner Hidden Secrets Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Secrets in Melbourne”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really enjoyed the tour of the Melbourne Lanes. Our tour guide Sarah was fantastic at pointing out things that you would have missed on your own and constantly telling us to look up. The tour was well paced with a balance of interesting shops, street art and cool buildings along with learning some interesting and off beat facts about Melbourne and the Lanes Area.
I would really recommend people doing the Hidden Secrets tour - ideally in the first day or two of arriving in Melbourne as you its a great introduction to the city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ben, so great to hear your thoughts on the Lanes and Arcades tour... Sarah has been very busy of late, as she gets involved in lots of Melbourne activities ( normally we would get her to respond)
Thank you for making the effort to send us a note, we really do appreciate it, and I know Sarah is always checking up on old and new things to add to the tour... ( as we all do ).
My teams passion is to ensure our guests get the most out of Melbourne even after our tour.... so thank you for the comment on first day is best...
Happy travels... we are sure you are.
Kind regards
Fiona SW.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Secrets Tours also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hidden Secrets Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing