We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food BUT....”
Review of Urban Deli

Urban Deli
Ranked #2,151 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Echuca
Level Contributor
180 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food BUT....”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

great breakfast - only hiccup was the pancakes were advertised with ice-cream on the menu, the girl taking the order asked someone in the kitchen if it was included and they said no - I explained it was included on the menu and she told me "not to worry" about it. When I checked the bill when I got home I had been charged extra for the ice-cream. Not happy Jan don't like being dismissed. Next time will be checking the bill before I leave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aussiechick3564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great coffee, fresh food and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is the best! Great coffee – the morning line speaks for itself and the staff are very friendly! The food is always fresh and includes delicious breakfasts cooked to order and their lunch time salads and hot menu are excellent! Service with a smile and the amount of people in the place speaks for itself. Great Friday night drinking spot as well even in winter with the upstairs bar, the new cocktail menu and food menu for Friday nights is well portioned for an after work snack with a drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Offensive Sleezy Owner”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Women beware - the owner of this place is a sleeze ball. He makes highly inappropriate comments to female customers. His over familiar manner is offensive and a growing number of women who work near-by have banned going back. To top it all off, the coffee is average. Stay away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, great coffee but not clean.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stumbled on this place looking for a quick breakfast. Coffee is fabulous, big breakfast was great value. Service ok, but the place was not overly clean (e.g. other customers leftovers still on tables, crumbs on seats and floor).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendonfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was on a business trip and found this a great place for breakfast. Sadly I discovered it on my last morning, but I will certainly remember it on my next trip to Melbourne.

The coffee was well flavoured and just the right temperature (I have long black). My breakfast was from the specials board and was french toast with fresh banana, blueberry compote and a walnut crumble. This was DELICIOUS! When it was placed in front of me I thought there was no way I would be able to eat it all, however it so yummy I ate it all.... :)

I also had a takeaway vegetable juice here and my one and only complaint was that. it was supposed to be carrot, celery and ginger however the only flavour I could taste and it was certainly the only colour was the carrot. Now I juice my own vegetable juice every day at home so I will admit I am quite fussy about this, however I was disappointed I could not taste any celery or ginger. I would definitely recommend this cafe for anyone. There was a huge selection of food for lunch also being prepared which looked fabulous. Maybe next time i will try lunch. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belle_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Deli also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Urban Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing