We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Must try! Durian icecream ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Dolce Freddo

Il Dolce Freddo
Ranked #8 of 76 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must try! Durian icecream ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing much I can say except GO and TRY! Definitely worth the trip! tried their durian and lychee icecream while my brother chose the ferrero Roche and Nutella ice cream! Their icecream is full of flavour and they have a few selection of exotic fruit which is a bonus! Yum!

Helpful?
1 Thank CindyTing20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    25
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best on Lygon Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I went to the University of Melbourne, so I frequented Lygon St a lot as an undergraduate. As a result, I have tried every gelateria along the strip several times, and this is my absolute favourite.
Lots of flavours available for you to mix and match, from delicious creamy options to the lighter, fruity choices.
The servings are generous, and the staff are happy to let you try a few flavours as you perfect the perfect flavour combo.
Buy yourself a cup (or cone), then wander into the neighbouring park to enjoy it as the hubbub of Lygon St rolls past. It's the perfect way to end an evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a must have for anyone who visits Lygon street. Ice cream so smooth and creamy with many choices. There is even durian flavor if you dare try. All in all a delightful gastronomical experience. I just love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is a big call but being no spring chicken and having tried lots of ice cream, I have today this is the best I have tried. Luckily I don't live nearby, it is too addictive

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GREAT ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I always have this ice cream whenever Im in Melbourne! The most disappointing thing about il dolce freddo is that it's not open for winter (from July to end August)! All flavours are very delicious and they offer tasters as well, so dont be afraid to ask for some. Portions are rather generous as well. Parking in the area is a little tough especially at night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Dolce Freddo also viewed

 

Been to Il Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing